Why Most Singaporeans Are in Debt
Lynn2010:
:offtopic: DH lost his wedding band on the 3rd month.....it was a 60 year issue
Ksi, my dh lost his 16 yrs ago, 2 yrs after we got married. The ring was never replaced. He felt that no matter how it will not be the same one. It's ashame that he lost it, he will have me in his heart. May be say this to save money to buy his ipad or something... heheheksi:
[
Wedding band does not change unless one party loses it, then gotta get a replacement. Problem with rocks is it is not forever as touted, after a while, can be quite sian too, like clothes and bags and then it would be stashed away. A lot of material things are good to have.
Discussed numerous times in getting a replacement but 15years later, we still din. It's not going to be the same as the significance is no longer the same.
Anyway, we are debt free Liao - HDB flat & car loan all paid up. I believe the key is - live within one's means. Before debt free, we dun go for long/expensive holidays, little branded stuff, do not pay premium for latest gadget etc. -
Lilac66:
Sleepy, really peifu!! You are in a very good financial position.
wow, you are indeed amazing.. Even though we're relatively debt-free, we do not save much. I think the key is to \"get used to being thrifty\". Most people do not save much coz of unnecessary spending, like what you mentioned.sleepy:
We were debt free 6 years ago. Have to make do without fancy big house, expensive long haul trips, frequent meals at restaurants to reach our debt free target.
Now without any loan commitment, we can easily save > 50% of take home pay because we're still living beneath our means
Somehow got used to being soooo thrifty so we find it hard to spend 'unnecessarily'.
We are very thrifty. Our situation is a little different. Both DH and I are the eldest. Before marriage, we supported our families and put our siblings through school. After marriage, we still continue to maintain our parents' expenses. We didn't have money to buy wedding bands but we told by ROM officer we should get rings. We didn't go through any wedding ceremony. With 3 households to run, there is always something to pay for. Haha! Sigh! -
Lynn2010:
sleepy:
I use handphone to read time. Don't own a watch :evil:
I thought mine is free.... Ok. You win
:snuggles:
Mychildren:
Hubby and me too, use the hp as alarm clock. But when the hp went totally flat or faulty, die-next die sure late for work. Nowadays, we have our child as back up. Come rain or shine, no matter hw late he sleeps, son will sure wake up at 7am. Even when he is sick....sleepy,
Me & DH used handphone to c time too & as alarm clock.
:hi5: -
Sleepy, the following might be sensitive, I must declare that I had nothing against u, OK? I've been pondering about your 50% and I always tends to think things the other way round.... :scratchhead:
Maybe your take home or earnings is double or triple of us, that's why u can save 50%........... :roll: -
Mychildren:
No la no la where got so rich (I wish though!Sleepy, the following might be sensitive, I must declare that I had nothing against u, OK? I've been pondering about your 50% and I always tends to think things the other way round.... :scratchhead:
Maybe your take home or earnings is double or triple of us, that's why u can save 50%........... :roll:
)
Normally can loan up to 40% of income. If no loan, that 40% immediately become savings loh. And with small pay increment % accumulated over last 6 years and persistently thrifty & with lowering expenses (we used to spend more on kids when they were younger), we can easily save another 10%
Or I got my Maths wrong :scratchhead: -
Mawar:
[We didn't have money to buy wedding bands but we told by ROM officer we should get rings.
Hubby and I didn't buy new wedding bands when we ROM. We were students then. Emptied our entire bank account for studies. So we just use our existing rings
Around that time, our new HDB flat was ready to collect keys but HDB said they couldn't issue us keys until either of us found a job. Need to have income before they could give us a loan.
Wow, now looking back, I think we've come a long way. Meaning we're really old now :rotflmao:
It's precisely because we went through those stages that we pause to think before spending on things we deem unnecessary.
By the way, my kids are amazingly thrifty too
sleepy:
Dunno about your Maths but you sure got your Econs right :salute:
No la no la where got so rich (I wish though!Mychildren:
Sleepy, the following might be sensitive, I must declare that I had nothing against u, OK? I've been pondering about your 50% and I always tends to think things the other way round.... :scratchhead:
Maybe your take home or earnings is double or triple of us, that's why u can save 50%........... :roll:
)
Normally can loan up to 40% of income. If no loan, that 40% immediately become savings loh. And with small pay increment % accumulated over last 6 years and persistently thrifty & with lowering expenses (we used to spend more on kids when they were younger), we can easily save another 10%
Or I got my Maths wrong :scratchhead: -
Actually it all boils down to money management. You can earn a lot but spend even more. Conversely, there are some who don't earn as much but still manage to save. I fully subscribe & live by the principle of spending 'beneath' your means.
With ring/no ring, diamond/no diamond, branded or none...these are just material stuff. What's important is you have a supportive spouse, your children are sensible & the family lives a happy & honest life. These to me is happiness
Mychildren:
Maybe so - that sleepy is earning a lot more than us. But, beyond a certain level, it is really how you spend that determines how much you save.Sleepy, the following might be sensitive, I must declare that I had nothing against u, OK? I've been pondering about your 50% and I always tends to think things the other way round.... :scratchhead:
Like for me - while my lunch kakis order kopi/drinks at lunches, I go without drink and return to office to make a Cup of 3-in-1 kopi. I save that $1.10-$1.50 that my colleagues spend everyday.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.