Providing For Parents in Singapore: Can We Give Enough?
Oppsgal:
Have one kid then cannot push away responsibility, as no siblings to push to.
Still can. That is why the Maintenance of Parents Act is in place. -
Lilac66:
Push to old folk's home will still push back to the kid if not enough money for fees.
trueOppsgal:
only if they don't push to old folk's home.
Like some sort of ball bouncing game. :sad: -
keroppi:
It's really sad if we ever need this to force kids to take responsibilty.Oppsgal:
Still can. That is why the Maintenance of Parents Act is in place. -
that’s why must at least have a roof over our head…better if have extra 2 rooms…
even if cheap cheap rent out, still can have a few hundred $$$ and need not rely too much on our kids.
So like I said, if kids still unmarried (say, >30 yrs old) and living together, must supplement household and pay rent.
Some kids very act-blur…outside buy apt, rent out and continue to live with parents. Collect rent but give nothing to parents who are putting them up!! -
Cheap cheap rent out also must cover the utilities costs. What happens if kids cannot manage to find a job, or lose the job?that's why must at least have a roof over our head...better if have extra 2 rooms...
even if cheap cheap rent out, still can have a few hundred $$$ and need not rely too much on our kids.
So like I said, if kids still unmarried (say, >30 yrs old) and living together, must supplement household and pay rent.
Some kids very act-blur...outside buy apt, rent out and continue to live with parents. Collect rent but give nothing to parents who are putting them up!!
:imdrowning: -
alamak, you undressed like that walk around the house all day, cheap cheap also nobody wants to rent. :rotflmao: Better think of alternative income.
even if cheap cheap rent out, still can have a few hundred $$$ and need not rely too much on our kids. -
Lilac66:
I have already planned and put my children and elderly parents welfare...if tomorrow I am gone.... :censored: :censored:dolphinsiah:
If parents nowadays , do not expect their children to take care of them when they are old....
Why in the first place did I want to get marry and have kids.....I always ask myself.... :siao:
20 years ago being a naive lady, nobody tell me being somebody's wife/mother is not a bed of roses....
But I hold myself responsible to bring up my 2 kids......
I guess this is the place where I can only vent my anger....
I always tell my girls do not marry for the sake of marrying...
Do not give birth for the sake of giving....
Bringing up a child means losing your freedom....sometimes even yourself...
dolpinsiah,:snuggles:
But for SAHMs, do you still give any allowance to your parents?
I have placed a lump sum of money to my mom's retirement account, which she can withdraw every month about SGD600...
This sum can last her until her 80s.... :roll:
I feel bad used to give her SGD2k....but now I earn ...4 person spend...so cannot afford to give her so much....
But SGD600 to survive in Singapore is not possible.... :gloomy:
But my mom I know she has keep a substantial amount in the FD/stocks... :moneyflies:
I told her about it and she rebutted me....
\"What !!! You are only going to support me until by 80s....I want to live until 100... \"\" :spank:
\"You only want me to live until 80s only....blah...blah....\" :spank:
That moment I felt like an idiot....
Cannot blame Mom... :scared:
She is getting old , uneducated...so money :moneyflies: :moneyflies: is her security.... :love:
She had a very unhappy childhood...was sold to work as a servant when she was 6....
Aged Parents can be so sensitive..... :?:
I put my kids and parents welfare first....
I now fear my retirement....really drain out... :snooze: :snooze: -
Oppsgal:
Of course we must be wise and consider exceptional cases lah.
Cheap cheap rent out also must cover the utilities costs. What happens if kids cannot manage to find a job, or lose the job?
:imdrowning: -
keroppi:
If I see manikam, I sure go and buy bigger leaf 1st!!
alamak, you undressed like that walk around the house all day, cheap cheap also nobody wants to rent. :rotflmao: Better think of alternative income.Nebbermind:
even if cheap cheap rent out, still can have a few hundred $$$ and need not rely too much on our kids. -
dophinsiah, hugs to you. :grphug: Why your mum like that? You spoil her lah.
Some of the cleaners I know make only $600 per month and they are able still survive on it (that's my perception though).
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.