Dunman High School (Junior High)
That DHS girl in NSC rather pretty what. And smart too to be in the team.Augmum:
[quote=\"jtoh\"]
haha! I always thought of Augmum's dd as being smart and pretty.
haha.....all girl girl are pretty in their mummies' eyes....Heehee! I have this impression too!

btw, generally....(i say generally lah) smart gals are not that pretty and
pretty gals are not that smart.... :evil:
And your dd too. :)[/quote]Yup.....good observation of her.....
she is indeed smart and pleasant looking.....think she is the president of junior high student council. -
LOL.....u think too much liao....
wow, childhood sweetheart .... ιζ’ η«Ήι©¬.....Augmum:
haha....they are kindergarten mates....
so are you smart or not ?[/quote]Smart u....good question....Augmum:
[quote=\"jtoh\"]
haha! I always thought of Augmum's dd as being smart and pretty.
haha.....all girl girl are pretty in their mummies' eyes....Heehee! I have this impression too!

btw, generally....(i say generally lah) smart gals are not that pretty and
pretty gals are not that smart.... :evil:
but me....Neither smart nor pretty.....
wah....Very cheem.......me no lolac , so dont understand...
Tsk Tsk Tsk .... Recently lolac biz berri berri good hor ?
Yalor....And all money spend on books, no money for cosmetics/ skincare/ clothings.....hahaha
:rotflmao: :rotflmao: -
Tsk Tsk Tsk .... Recently lolac biz berri berri good hor ?
Hee hee! What is this lolac thingy all about? :scratchhead: -
Hahaha....i better tell my gal dont walk ard outside in her sch uniform.....

Ok, I better :siam: from this thread cos I :offtopic: liao. -
Hi Augmum!
Hi gearhat,gearhat:
Hi everyone!
Just came across this forum and found it very interesting to read. I'm an ex-Dunmanian who graduated last year and I must say that I have thoroughly enjoyed my time in DHS.
Should any of you parents have any questions regarding dhs/ junior high/ senior high/ a-levels or anything else I'll try my best to answer
and give a student's perspective of course.
A warm welcome to uβ¦β¦.. :rahrah:
Itβs great to see current or ex dunmanians' postings hereβ¦.
So feel free to come in here often, and yes, likely that i/we will have questions to ask abt senior highβ¦..
Hmmβ¦..to begin with...so what is yr subj combination for yr 5 ?
how stressful isit in senior high ?
I took PCME (Phys, Chem, Maths, Econs) in yr 5 which is one of the more popular combinations. and I'm more interested in the science subjects (rather than language/ humanities).
Most students will say that senior high is alot more stressful than junior high. I mean, of course lah, a-levels is nearing and everyone will enter 'exam-mode', much like psle period. But personally I felt like it was ok especially towards the end. I did struggle with Econs and GP in yr 5 because my humanities/ languages were weaker but with practice it became better during a-levels.
I think alot of the stress comes when students don't do well and they start to panic and start getting (too much) tuition because all their friends are having tuition also. I mean, some times tuition can help but alot of times it doesn't.
Curriculum-wise, there will be more paper work to do and less of the more fun stuff like in junior high. I remember I did alot of roleplay and creative projects in JH, not sure if its still the same now.
I think it's best that your child choose the subjects that she like so that she won't feel stressed while studying. I have alot of friends who were stressed because they were studying things that they were not interested in.
Ok, long reply but just to add something about SBGE. I was sorted into an SBGE maths class in yr3 and the only difference was that we had abit more enrichment in maths and maybe the teacher could go a little faster and teach more interesting stuff, like real-life applications of the things we learn. I was from normal sec 1/2 class though. -
Hi gearhat
Thank you for the very informative post. May I just ask did you have any tuition in senior high years? Also how did you eventually do for Econs and GP? And where r u studying now and what course are u doing? Thank you again. -
mamajoy:
Hi mamajoyHi gearhat
Thank you for the very informative post. May I just ask did you have any tuition in senior high years? Also how did you eventually do for Econs and GP? And where r u studying now and what course are u doing? Thank you again.
I did not have any tuition despite even my mother asking if I wanted any when I was failing econs hahaha. It was just a personal preference as I felt I would prefer the time to look through my problems on my own. And also if I had any problems I could always consult my teachers so I didn't see the need to engage a private tutor. Turned out well though, I got A for both
I'll being studying Engineering in London soon. School haven't start yet.
And to reply Snow Crystal about teachers, culture and how I cope:
I guess teachers in the school change over time (and more frequently now it seems, which I don't really like but anyway...) so I think my teachers especially JH ones may not be teaching in DHS anymore by now. However, I must say that there are quite a few long serving teachers who are really dedicated and well-loved by students. Total respect to them.
I really like the culture in DHS, which many people will describe as 'family-like'. I think it has to do with the background of the school being a traditional chinese school. Like, alot of the morals/ motto can be seen in the actions of students which is really nice. And the people are friendly too of course, but I don't think that is a characteristic limited to dunmanians.
How I cope hmmmm... actually the first 3 yrs were pretty much 'honeymoon' years. Spent alot of time playing (as in quite alot of the projects were like playing haha) so it was quite enjoyable. At the end of the day, there are 2 kinds of subjects: those you like, and those you don't like. Those you like, naturally you wouldn't have problem coping since it won't feel like a burden. As for those you don't like, just have to convince yourself its what you must do at the moment and try to find some interest in it. And as the years progress, you will be able to choose subject combi so hopefully can narrow your subjects down to mostly those that you like.
And also make time for relaxation and activities you enjoy. Although that seems like it doesn't make much sense in terms of helping you cope with school work, I actually find it very important to find the balance. Also study smart and efficient, know the way you work best cause it's different for everyone. Then you will be able to make best use of your time.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.