2009 GEP Screening And Selection

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary Schools - Academic Support
    2.0k Posts 151 Posters 562.9k Views 1 Watching
      Neko

Anyone’s dd/ds got posted to Rosyth ?

Called the school to ask about booklist/uniform etc but was told to email my questions to its GEP HOD. Have not received reply from her and i understand that since it’s the school hols, it’s harder to reach her. Hmm … so hv to wait. going on hols soon and wld really pref to get everthg settled b4 we leave.

I’m hoping Rosyth will send some kind of GEP package too.

Lovemummy

mathsparks:
        Mine didn't work on any academic stuff during p4/5 yearend hols. Checkout his experience here, if you haven't. Have added 2 paras on assessment books/mainstream syllabus.

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/gep-or-not-gep-perspectives-gep-parent
        Thx

blur-daddy

Hi cluelessmama,

If yours taking HCL, then good luck... Mon and Tue, plus Fri - IRS. If u take CCA, try to limit to Mon or Tue lor. Mine confirmed Mon-CL, Tue-CCA (science club), Fri. Gone liao.

cluelessmama:
          Hi blur_daddy, does this mean that those who take HCL must stay back on Mon as well Tue? Thanks. :lol:

• Y Offline
            yukilei

blur-daddy:
            Hi Yukilei,

I got a confirmation today from HPPS that if your kid not taking HCL, need not stay back on Tue... so Mon and Fri confirmed. Given my DS interest in science club, he still need to stay back on Tue for CCA 😛

HPPS will send out a package via mail to all 2010 P4 GEP posted there. It will include necessary information like purchase of books and uniforms, etc in this mail. So wait.

Wanna share this with all parents here. HOD confirmed my question/doubt about how best to prepare my DS. The advice is simply to let them enjoy this Dec holiday. As best as possible, encourage them to do things they like in this short period of time. Just prepare them by talking to them about the change of school environment and workload. Given them Dec to recharge and face the new challenge in 2010. :celebrate:
            Thks Blur-daddy!!! So, DS just need to stay back on Mon & Fri. He's now considering Infocomm or Chess Club for CCA. If choose other day, then he'll have to do his homework in school between 1pm to 3.15pm since the CCA only starts at 3.15pm. It would be good if the CCA can start earlier, then the children don't have to stay so late. I'm been waiting for HPPS's mail. Am going for holiday soon, hope won't miss the date for the purchase of textbook & school uniform. Once again, thks for the info!

pecalis

mathsparks:

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/gep-or-not-gep-perspectives-gep-parent
              Thanks so much. Very helpful and reassuring!

cluelessmama

blur-daddy:
                Hi cluelessmama,

If yours taking HCL, then good luck... Mon and Tue, plus Fri - IRS. If u take CCA, try to limit to Mon or Tue lor. Mine confirmed Mon-CL, Tue-CCA (science club), Fri. Gone liao.
                cluelessmama:

Hi blur_daddy, does this mean that those who take HCL must stay back on Mon as well Tue? Thanks. :lol:

Firstly, thanks blur_daddy for the answer. :lol:

Secondly, yikees, yaks, arrhhh... :!: - must stay back for so many days!!! Wow! :shock:

Hmm, I wonder how does NYPS does it ? - according to them, only need to stay back on CCA day. Could it be that they have super long school hours? Thus, everything can be done within curriculum time. :?

syshi

cluelessmama:
                  blur-daddy:

Hi cluelessmama,

[quote=\"cluelessmama\"]Hi blur_daddy, does this mean that those who take HCL must stay back on Mon as well Tue? Thanks. :lol:

Secondly, yikees, yaks, arrhhh... :!: - must stay back for so many days!!! Wow! :shock:

Hmm, I wonder how does NYPS does it ? - according to them, only need to stay back on CCA day. Could it be that they have super long school hours? Thus, everything can be done within curriculum time. :?[/quote]Understand for CHS, you only stay back on wed for the HCL and computer. The rest depend on the CCA you took. Else only Wed to stay back...

cluelessmama

syshi:
                    cluelessmama:

[quote=\"blur-daddy\"]Hi cluelessmama,

Hmm, I wonder how does NYPS does it ? - according to them, only need to stay back on CCA day. Could it be that they have super long school hours? Thus, everything can be done within curriculum time. :?

Understand for CHS, you only stay back on wed for the HCL and computer. The rest depend on the CCA you took. Else only Wed to stay back...[/quote]I don't know whether I will get scolding but after looking at the number of days my baby needs to stay back, really feel like opting out of GEP.

syshi

cluelessmama:

I don't know whether I will get scolding but after looking at the number of days my baby needs to stay back, really feel like opting out of GEP.
                      That's one of the reason DS choose CHS... he want to spend other days for CCA... in P1 he actually attended 3 days of CCA 😓

cluelessmama

syshi:
                        cluelessmama:

I don't know whether I will get scolding but after looking at the number of days my baby needs to stay back, really feel like opting out of GEP.

That's one of the reason DS choose CHS... he want to spend other days for CCA... in P1 he actually attended 3 days of CCA 😓

Hmm, I'm already having headache even before the GEP has started 😐

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 186 / 196

Lumiore_SupportL
                        Lumiore_Support
                        ilovemychildrens89I
                        ilovemychildrens89