chs openly solicits teachers' day presents from parents
My DS’s school has this practice also. But it’s really put forth by the PSG and not the school. Honestly, I am a little uncomfortable with it, but am taking a ‘live and let live’ attitude towards it. But in terms of ‘corporate practice’, I think it crosses the line of propriety. The schools should police this, in my view.
My DS's school has this practice also. But it's really put forth by the PSG and not the school. Honestly, I am a little uncomfortable with it, but am taking a 'live and let live' attitude towards it. But in terms of 'corporate practice', I think it crosses the line of propriety. The schools should police this, in my view.
in this case of CHS, it was not put out by the school too
is that website that twisted it with a misleading headline -
Well, we all know TRE......3Boys:
My DS's school has this practice also. But it's really put forth by the PSG and not the school. Honestly, I am a little uncomfortable with it, but am taking a 'live and let live' attitude towards it. But in terms of 'corporate practice', I think it crosses the line of propriety. The schools should police this, in my view.
in this case of CHS, it was not put out by the school too
is that website that twisted it with a misleading headline -
In general are groups like MC, Alumni and PSG outside the jurisdiction of schools’ P? I was very clear from reading the wanbao that the memo was sent out by the PSG. I’m disturbed because of the potential value of the prizes and recipients are teachers.
In general are groups like MC, Alumni and PSG outside the jurisdiction of schools' P? I was very clear from reading the wanbao that the memo was sent out by the PSG. I'm disturbed because of the potential value of the prizes and recipients are teachers.
I don't see any problem with it if those who donate the prizes are willing and eager to do so. Nobody forced them to donate. Most who donate are very able to do so.
They don't do so to get their children into school or get good grades, bc that is not possible. No point getting good grades when eventually they go thru PSLE, right? And I've seen how many staunch supporters of the school (thru voluntary work as well as financial donations) - their kids not being able to continue on to affiliated secondary school, so all parents know that donating money or time does not ensure their child a place in the school. Of course there are those whose kids do so well, they also \"abandon\" the school and go to RI down the road lah - then who is going to say who benefitted??? hahaha...
The Principal always says that PSLE results day is always a day of mixed feelings for him. Those who do well will usually not stay in the school so he has to say bye-bye to them. Those who don't do well, also he has to say bye-bye to them. Oh well.
And I don't understand why \"bc the recipients\" are teachers is a problem? Is having a D&D in school worse than having a D&D in another Cost-centre style organisation? -
Starting to sound like CH_ :yikes: :siam:
I don't see any problem with it if those who donate the prizes are willing and eager to do so. Nobody forced them to donate. Most who donate are very able to do so. -
Whatever u want to think. But this situation is totally different. THe purpose is not ulterior!
Starting to sound like CH_ :yikes: :siam:phankao:
I don't see any problem with it if those who donate the prizes are willing and eager to do so. Nobody forced them to donate. Most who donate are very able to do so.
I'm not affiliated to CHC, not one of the wealthy parents who donate, but have put 2 of my sons thru CHS Primary, one is in CHS secondary, and one will be a future CHS pri boy in a few years... No big problem to me. -
Whatever u want to think. But this situation is totally different. THe purpose is not ulterior!
Starting to sound like CH_ :yikes: :siam:Daddy

[quote=\"phankao\"]
I'm not affiliated to CHC, not one of the wealthy parents who donate, but have put 2 of my sons thru CHS Primary, one is in CHS secondary, and one will be a future CHS pri boy in a few years... No big problem to me.[/quote]Dun say got ulterior purpose lah... Later kena sue... :yikes:
Let's say it's an elitist practice... And it's not against the law...
:celebrate: -
what so elitist about it huh ? other lesser named schools also have similar event
Dun say got ulterior purpose lah... Later kena sue... :yikes:
:celebrate: -
Elitism has spread to neighborhood schools already? :yikes:
what so elitist about it huh ? other lesser named schools also have similar eventDaddy

Dun say got ulterior purpose lah... Later kena sue... :yikes:
I asked dd what present is she getting for teacher... She chose to buy 2 pens for each teacher.
Next day dd mentioned her classmate gave a BUNCH of pens to teacher...
I asked how many is a BUNCH...
Dd said 20...
I just tell dd \"it's the thought that counts\"
:imcool:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.