chs openly solicits teachers' day presents from parents
I agree with what you are trying to say. There likely is not any misdemeanour intended, perhaps a little bit of over-enthusiasm at worst. Although I would not say that this was 'elitist', it still has the potential to create discomfort in the minds of the less well-off parents and families.
Dun say got ulterior purpose lah... Later kena sue... :yikes:phankao:
Whatever u want to think. But this situation is totally different. THe purpose is not ulterior!
I'm not affiliated to CHC, not one of the wealthy parents who donate, but have put 2 of my sons thru CHS Primary, one is in CHS secondary, and one will be a future CHS pri boy in a few years... No big problem to me.
Let's say it's an elitist practice... And it's not against the law...
My DS came back and asked me if we were putting anything up, and when I said no, he asked why not and proceeded to list out the stuff some of the other parents WERE putting up. The kids talk, this kind of thing preys on the mind and potentially creates a divide between the 'givers' and 'non-givers'.
We should not be blind to this and just say 'You want to give, give, you don't want to give, don't give.'
In this first place, should teachers even be receiving gifts or gratuities outside of the workplace? How does this square with civil service policies? -
:goodpost: Well said! Couldn't have expressed better!
I agree with what you are trying to say. There likely is not any misdemeanour intended, perhaps a little bit of over-enthusiasm at worst. Although I would not say that this was 'elitist', it still has the potential to create discomfort in the minds of the less well-off parents and families.
My DS came back and asked me if we were putting anything up, and when I said no, he asked why not and proceeded to list out the stuff some of the other parents WERE putting up. The kids talk, this kind of thing preys on the mind and potentially creates a divide between the 'givers' and 'non-givers'.
We should not be blind to this and just say 'You want to give, give, you don't want to give, don't give.'
In this first place, should teachers even be receiving gifts or gratuities outside of the workplace? How does this square with civil service policies? -
Oh the article I mentioned in my earlier post is about China, not Hong Kong..paiseh.
The difference here is that these Chinese parents hope to get the children into the teachers' good books for \"benefits\" but I believe there's no such ulterior motive in CH case. It's more like what 3boys mentioned about the divide that may arise, and possibly a unintended wrong msg sent .
BEIJING: Students cannot hope to score brownie points with the usual flowers, fountain pens or even fruit baskets as China celebrates its annual Teachers' Day today.
By Peh Shing Huei, China Bureau Chief
What's in are more lavish gifts, including jewellery, designer bags, the popular iPhone or iPad, and even travel packages, no thanks to the occasion coinciding with the Mid-Autumn Festival this year.
The double whammy forces parents to raise their game to ensure that their gifts will make an impression on the teacher and that their children will remain favoured over others in class.
Some generous parents have gone as far as to offer a six-day travel package to southern Hainan island worth about 12,000 yuan (S$2,300) and Chanel bags worth 30,000 yuan each.
'The Chinese people place a heavy emphasis on rituals, gifts and personal relations. So when two occasions come together, it is not surprising that the merry-go- round of gift-giving spikes,' said Beijing- based economist Hu Xingdou, who does research on corruption issues.
Campus bribery has been prevalent in China for decades, but growing affluence and a lack of supervision have caused the rot to become more severe in recent years, with parents vying to outdo each other.
Teachers readily accept what their students' parents send their way because China has no laws against this. Giving gifts and its distinction from corruption is often unclear, said Professor Hu.
Parents resort to such bribery so that their children will be taken care of in school, from having better seats to more opportunities to answer questions or become class monitors. The situation is especially bad in primary schools because most good middle schools admit students based on the evaluation report by the primary school teachers.
'The key is that you want the teachers to pay more attention to your child,' a woman who has a 12-year-old daughter told The Straits Times yesterday.
'Everyone is doing it. Can you afford not to?' said the mother, who wants to be identified only as Mrs Hong.
There are two major occasions for bribery - Chinese New Year and Teachers' Day.
While teachers no doubt appreciate the parents' extravagance, their preferred gift is the understated prepaid shopping cards. The prevailing market rate is 500 yuan.
Parents purchase the cards from supermarket giant Carrefour and retailers like Shangtong. The cards can be used at many malls.
A Beijing primary school teacher, who spoke to The Straits Times on condition of anonymity, reveals how these cards are usually slipped to teachers.
'The children will usually give me a greeting card. Inside is the prepaid shopping card, which has been lightly glued on,' she said.
'Parents will then make a quick call or send an SMS to confirm the delivery.'
In schools that frown on such practices, parents turn to anonymous express delivery to send the cards.
But not all teachers are created equal. Maths, Chinese and English teachers receive the bulk of the bribes because their subjects are examinable. Those in charge of the arts and sports hardly get anything.
Similarly, not all students can afford expensive gifts. Middle school student Li Qiyong, for example, told the local media in western Chongqing that he gave his teachers some eggs and rice after a long discussion with his parents.
'We can't compete with the rich children who can give expensive gifts. These local products at least show our sincerity. My family could not even bear to eat these eggs; we usually sell them,' he said.
[email protected]
Additional reporting by Carol Feng -
Or perhaps new/ transfer students from GEP? CHS GEP school right? Those who have never experienced this in other schools may find this unacceptable.
as many CHS parents posted here, such letters are nothing new nothing extraordinary nothing fishy.....creating a hooha mountain out of a nohill. nothing newsworthy at all
may be a Pri 1 parent with an axe to grind :evil: :evil: -
:goodpost:
In this first place, should teachers even be receiving gifts or gratuities outside of the workplace? How does this square with civil service policies?
The adults forgot that the kids do talk about what's happening around them... And make comparisons...
A vicious cycle.... :yikes: -
If there are any teachers reading this, I hope you don't get the wrong impression. I do appreciate it's a tough job and the announced pay-rise, I feel, is very justified. There are a few teachers so far in P-school and pre-school that I do feel deserve a personal pat on the back for the commitment they have shown to my kids. But, I am always careful not to cross a line and perhaps then create a (relatively negative) situation for the other students/parents.
:goodpost: Well said! Couldn't have expressed better!3Boys:
In this first place, should teachers even be receiving gifts or gratuities outside of the workplace? How does this square with civil service policies?
I honestly don't know what the right answer is. This PSG (support of teachers) thing is not a bugbear with me and I don't mind it continuing as it has many many positives. So lets not throw the baby out with the bathwater, but do handle the gifting with sensitivity. -
I wonder what kind of classes they are in. My boys never mention such when they were in primary school.
:goodpost:3Boys:
The adults forgot that the kids do talk about what's happening around them... And make comparisons...
A vicious cycle.... :yikes:
This year, I prepared a bag of \"possible\" tr day gifts for the kids to pack themselves to bring if they want (small things like small \"post-it\" notepads/labels, mini correction tape). One boy took the \"post-it\" notepads/label-tags - bc flat, easy to carry and easy to giveaway. One (the JC kid) told me she wasn't going to give ANY at all ...(fine, lor) ... and another boy saw his 4yo brother making keychains for his kindy teacher and he stole some of the materials (coloured foam) and made 2 for his teachers. He said don't need more bc his class already make Joint Present for teachers. LOL I wonder what? I think it was just a big card! haha!
Guess they will all be using correction tape for a while. Nevermind. They need anyway. *hehe*. Better than buying red pens bc if not giving away, nobody here uses!!! -
DD’s school sent a memo saying not to get expensive gifts. They are advised to make their own cards or gifts or better still log on to a website where they can make online dedications to their teachers.
DD's school sent a memo saying not to get expensive gifts. They are advised to make their own cards or gifts or better still log on to a website where they can make online dedications to their teachers.
:salute:
Teachers and school should lead by examples, and be good role models. -
Meaning? What kind of classes do u have in mind?
I wonder what kind of classes they are in. My boys never mention such when they were in primary school.
:?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.