chs openly solicits teachers' day presents from parents

118 Posts 25 Posters 23.4k Views 1 Watching
      Daddy D

DD's school sent a memo saying not to get expensive gifts. They are advised to make their own cards or gifts or better still log on to a website where they can make online dedications to their teachers.

:salute:

Teachers and school should lead by examples, and be good role models.

Daddy D

I wonder what kind of classes they are in. My boys never mention such when they were in primary school.
        Meaning? What kind of classes do u have in mind?
        :?

concern2

DD's school sent a memo saying not to get expensive gifts. They are advised to make their own cards or gifts or better still log on to a website where they can make online dedications to their teachers.

Yes, so is DD's school. The teachers even give out the same piece of paper for the kids to come out with their own initiatives and creatives. You can tell some are made with parental involvement, but they are fine, its an appreciation, not a competition. I remember in my pri school days, teachers would reject even photo frames, saying they will only accept cards.

Blessedwife

Daddy 😧

[quote=\"phankao\"]
            Whatever u want to think. But this situation is totally different. THe purpose is not ulterior!

I'm not affiliated to CHC, not one of the wealthy parents who donate, but have put 2 of my sons thru CHS Primary, one is in CHS secondary, and one will be a future CHS pri boy in a few years... No big problem to me.

Dun say got ulterior purpose lah... Later kena sue... :yikes:
            Let's say it's an elitist practice... And it's not against the law...

I agree with what you are trying to say. There likely is not any misdemeanour intended, perhaps a little bit of over-enthusiasm at worst. Although I would not say that this was 'elitist', it still has the potential to create discomfort in the minds of the less well-off parents and families.

My DS came back and asked me if we were putting anything up, and when I said no, he asked why not and proceeded to list out the stuff some of the other parents WERE putting up. The kids talk, this kind of thing preys on the mind and potentially creates a divide between the 'givers' and 'non-givers'.

We should not be blind to this and just say 'You want to give, give, you don't want to give, don't give.'

In this first place, should teachers even be receiving gifts or gratuities outside of the workplace? How does this square with civil service policies?[/quote]Agree 100% !!!

:hugs:

mamago

I was told by DS’s school, no gift exceeding $50, according to MOE’s guidelines… MOE’s measurement is in place all along…

This is simply a disagreement between parents on both sides of the fence. MOE’s guidelines have always been clear on this, NO EXPENSIVE GIFTS. This case becomes debatable because of the perception it gives. It becomes an issue because everyone has different views.

As far as I know it does not violate any guidelines or regulations, however, the nature of such gifting sometimes can cloud a person’s mind inevitably. Just like teachers’ behaviour in the public. Teachers are not supposed to be caught in public kissing with the boyfriend or spouse as they are supposed to set exemplary conduct but did they violate any rules or law? No…but simply the cause and effect of an action, just like the gifting of expensive gifts. Also, people must be creative in showing appreciation, expensive gifts is not the only way. In fact, if the cost of making a musical performance is the same as these gifts, I do not think people even think of the musical’s expensive production cost(of course not talking about inviting those broadway musicals which may invite the same issues being discussed) because it is a performance to show appreciation, watch and end of story.

• phankaoP Offline
                  phankao

This is simply a disagreement between parents on both sides of the fence. MOE's guidelines have always been clear on this, NO EXPENSIVE GIFTS. This case becomes debatable because of the perception it gives. It becomes an issue because everyone has different views.

As far as I know it does not violate any guidelines or regulations, however, the nature of such gifting sometimes can cloud a person's mind inevitably. Just like teachers' behaviour in the public. Teachers are not supposed to be caught in public kissing with the boyfriend or spouse as they are supposed to set exemplary conduct but did they violate any rules or law? No.....but simply the cause and effect of an action, just like the gifting of expensive gifts. Also, people must be creative in showing appreciation, expensive gifts is not the only way. In fact, if the cost of making a musical performance is the same as these gifts, I do not think people even think of the musical's expensive production cost(of course not talking about inviting those broadway musicals which may invite the same issues being discussed) because it is a performance to show appreciation, watch and end of story.

What musical?

This is simply a disagreement between parents on both sides of the fence. MOE's guidelines have always been clear on this, NO EXPENSIVE GIFTS. This case becomes debatable because of the perception it gives. It becomes an issue because everyone has different views.

As far as I know it does not violate any guidelines or regulations, however, the nature of such gifting sometimes can cloud a person's mind inevitably. Just like teachers' behaviour in the public. Teachers are not supposed to be caught in public kissing with the boyfriend or spouse as they are supposed to set exemplary conduct but did they violate any rules or law? No.....but simply the cause and effect of an action, just like the gifting of expensive gifts. Also, people must be creative in showing appreciation, expensive gifts is not the only way. In fact, if the cost of making a musical performance is the same as these gifts, I do not think people even think of the musical's expensive production cost(of course not talking about inviting those broadway musicals which may invite the same issues being discussed) because it is a performance to show appreciation, watch and end of story.

What musical?

Just drawing an example only....

• 3 Offline
                      3Boys

Very hard to read your post when my eyes are demonstrating a saccadic leftwards movement at 4 second intervals.....

concern2

[quote=\"ksi\"]This is simply a disagreement between parents on both sides of the fence. MOE's guidelines have always been clear on this, NO EXPENSIVE GIFTS. This case becomes debatable because of the perception it gives. It becomes an issue because everyone has different views.

What musical?

Just drawing an example only....[/quote]Yes, this has given me ideas! For all the money we spend on music, art and dance, there are certainly many ways we can express ourselves and give the children an opportunity to perform! Instead of getting parents to spend on buying goods, how about getting the kids to do a simple dance, play a duet, write and recite a poem, sing a song, draw a card or poster, or put together a simple sketch? I am sure all these will go a longer way to express love for our teachers and principals!

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 8 / 12