Rivervale Primary

414 Posts 50 Posters 159.1k Views 1 Watching
      mpeleecf1

Sunflower mummy:
      wiser:

After today balloting ...

My heart stopped after seeing that my number was not called out.

And yet next choice Compassvale is open for PR balloting within 1km.(also full) :scared:

I dun know which school to go next :sad:

Within my 1km range :

Only choice is Sk primary or north spring.

North spring is near to me than Sk primary
      But ..... I still need some help too

Hi! Dont get upset as your child was not balloted, it may turn up to be a blessings...the school though popular, but it is not that fantastic!

吃不到葡萄说葡萄酸!!

daranic

gloyt:
        But u can't deny the std is high here compare to the rest of pri sch in this region. If the child cannot take it, parent dun like it. Transfer, why waste time here. Give the seat to other child or parent who are in the long Q.

I certainly agree not all teachers are competent nowadays. So which ever sch u go, will meet the incompetent educators again. Depend on luck too. And most sch put capable teachers strategically placed in top classes. Higher returns! So which class is the child in?
        U want capable n committed teachers, mayb mission sch with strong religious belief .
        Agree!

And sometimes, we cannot push all the blame on the teachers. Teachers, having to handle 40+ students, cannot give focus to each individual student. Unless the whole class cannot perform, then we may have to question the competence of the teacher.

Similarly, we have to check on our child too. Does he/she need extra help? Parents have to play a part in the kid's education, that's why they keep emphasizing parent-teacher partnership.

Instead of coming in here to critisize the school, focus your energy to analyse what you can do to help the child. Perhaps bring the matter up to the principal?

friendship

I felt offended with the Prefect selection at P2 level in past years.

There is a kid never being selected at P2 level. Only being selected at later stage whereby the form teacher and CCA teacher acknowledged that the kid has leadership quality.

How to judge leadership quality at P2? Some kids are still immature at 8 years old, tio bo?

Even becoming emcee for all the occassions. Everytime choose the same girl and the same boy. So boring. Students who are close to the teacher in charge of that event will benefitted most.

Why can’t they hold an audition? who wants to become emcee for certain event, must go for audition. Train the students to raise up their EQs, confidence level and responsibilty. Expose them the feeling of how interviews are conducted.

Must follow the theme for this year mah. ‘NOT SOME BUT EVERYONE’

• MyPillowM Offline
            MyPillow

Usu the more MATURE, higher EQ and obedient kids will be chosen for bigger role.

Anyway, power comes with HEAVY responsibility. My child dun lik to be prefect or class monitor. Why? becos must go early, must do duty etc etc no time to play and chit chat with frens around. haha..... no need to bother too much.
            Just let the kid enjoy fun in pri sch like have longer play time than prefect during recess, run away from prefect's chase after recess etc etc.... i thought this is some cute and fun memories for a childhood .
            The some kids who are Mini adults love to go on stage, ask students to Q up in twos. Fingers on your lips etc etc.

Maybe, u can write in direct to the Principal and VPs to suggest n raise the idea 🙂

friendship

To be a successful organization, it has to be open with critizism.

From positive or negative feedback and critizism, the school will grow and learn. Same as individuals.

mummy so kiasu

MyPillow:
                Usu the more MATURE, higher EQ and obedient kids will be chosen for bigger role.

Anyway, power comes with HEAVY responsibility. My child dun lik to be prefect or class monitor. Why? becos must go early, must do duty etc etc no time to play and chit chat with frens around. haha..... no need to bother too much.
                Just let the kid enjoy fun in pri sch like have longer play time than prefect during recess, run away from prefect's chase after recess etc etc.... i thought this is some cute and fun memories for a childhood .
                The some kids who are Mini adults love to go on stage, ask students to Q up in twos. Fingers on your lips etc etc.

Maybe, u can write in direct to the Principal and VPs to suggest n raise the idea 🙂
                You are right to say that some kids don't want to become a prefect. They can't play with friends during recess. My boy told me that usually the kids don't even bother when the prefects asked them not to run. Maybe the lower pri prefects are unable to handle the upper pri kids. Prefects are usually recommended by teachers. Most parents are concern of their kids' results not whether they become prefects.

friendship

That’s the problem. Some kids do not like to be prefects because of the reasons mentioned above. Teachers chose them. They will not do a good job because it is not their will. These slackened prefects can be seen in P5 and P6 level.

It will be different perspective if the application for prefect is transparent and open to all students.

Those who are keen will make an effort to write testimonies and preparing for interviews. If chosen, these kids will give their full responsibilities.

With this system, teachers will be able to protect themselves. Noone is going to point finger ‘who chose this boy/girl become a prefect?’ if the prefects are not up to expectations.

Sunflower mummy

mpeleecf1:
                    Sunflower mummy:

[quote=\"wiser\"]After today balloting ...

My heart stopped after seeing that my number was not called out.

And yet next choice Compassvale is open for PR balloting within 1km.(also full) :scared:

I dun know which school to go next :sad:

Within my 1km range :

Only choice is Sk primary or north spring.

North spring is near to me than Sk primary
                    But ..... I still need some help too

Hi! Dont get upset as your child was not balloted, it may turn up to be a blessings...the school though popular, but it is not that fantastic!

吃不到葡萄说葡萄酸!![/quote]Btw, I had clocked in 90hours free service and tasted the grapes 4years ago.

J and J

A P3 child just left, interested one can knock the door now. :rahrah:

Sunflower mummy

:congrats: and all the best to the exiting student.

To the long QUEUE students, better knock on the door fast!
                        \"Goodluck\"! :rotflmao:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 14 / 42