2012 PSLE Discussions and Strategy

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 6 & PSLE
    6.0k Posts 467 Posters 1.7m Views 1 Watching
      Chenonceau

But many forget it's the stress that really brings down the immunity. So need to de-stress regularly by going outdoor, stretch the muscles...helps to circulate the blood a little after long hours at the desk. Best if u r in a condo and can pop into the pool anytime...just float on the water and watch the skies...and relax!

Yes... this is true. Stress reduces immunity.

Chenonceau

MummySTay:
        Yes, yes! Gotta make sure our children do not fall sick during the PSLE.

Share with you a story...this was when I was still teaching in school...

There was this boy who was 2nd in level for both SA1 and prelims...
        Expected to get nothing less than 260.
        Alas, he fell sick just before PSLE and had a fever throughout the examination period.
        When the results were released, he was nowhere near the top 10 positions.
        He had scored 240+ only...dun :pokeeye: me hor!
        I put 240+ only because he was expected to breeze into RI based on his track records over his 6 years of education.
        So to get 240+ was a huge blow to him.

Moral of the story? Dun play play with your children's health.

Hope I did not make some parents even more paranoid than before. 😉
        Oh dear... poor poor thing!!

• Coolkidsrock2C Offline
          Coolkidsrock2

Need some advice. Does anyone have any idea what happens if kid is unwell and cannot take the PSLE? My #2 is down with HFMD now. Worried it will pass to #1 who will be taking PSLE.

Apart from honey, vitamin C, cooling water, disinfecting the house daily (am doing this personally to ensure it is done properly - cannot rely on maid as do not know where she cuts corner), leaving the fans on to ensure good ventilation, separating them, any other recommendations?

Also anyone giving kids DHA/fish oils to improve brain function/focus? Do you find it helpful?

Thanks in advance.

Chenonceau

Coolkidsrock2:
            Need some advice. Does anyone have any idea what happens if kid is unwell and cannot take the PSLE? My #2 is down with HFMD now. Worried it will pass to #1 who will be taking PSLE.

Apart from honey, vitamin C, cooling water, disinfecting the house daily (am doing this personally to ensure it is done properly - cannot rely on maid as do not know where she cuts corner), leaving the fans on to ensure good ventilation, separating them, any other recommendations?

Also anyone giving kids DHA/fish oils to improve brain function/focus? Do you find it helpful?

Thanks in advance.
            I would put #2 at Grandma's house. I dunno what'll happen if got valid MC. Maybe you can ask MOE or the school?

HAPPYH

But many forget it's the stress that really brings down the immunity. So need to de-stress regularly by going outdoor, stretch the muscles...helps to circulate the blood a little after long hours at the desk. Best if u r in a condo and can pop into the pool anytime...just float on the water and watch the skies...and relax!

Yes... this is true. Stress reduces immunity.

Yes, I agree. My DD will get fever/cough before every exam although she seems ok.

• Coolkidsrock2C Offline
                Coolkidsrock2

Thanks Chen for suggestion but grandma’s not an option cos she just had a major heart operation not too long ago. In fact, grandma was staying with us till this happened and moved back home due to low immunity. Trying to see what more I can do.

Chenonceau

Coolkidsrock2:
                  Thanks Chen for suggestion but grandma's not an option cos she just had a major heart operation not too long ago. In fact, grandma was staying with us till this happened and moved back home due to low immunity. Trying to see what more I can do.

#2 bunk in with a friend? Even hospitals need disinfecting chambers to contain the spread of contagion... I am not sure all your efforts at disinfecting will be effective since you basically evolve in the same space... touch the same stuff... breathe the same air... use the same toilet.

Oh dear... so worrisome. All the best.

MummySTay

If a child falls sick during the PSLE period, whether the child is or is not fit to take the examination, depends on the doctor’s recommendation.

There have been instances whereby students with MC skipped the PSLE.
                    Results will be based on Prelim results.

There have also been instances whereby students are isolated, may be in school, may be at the hospital, to take the examination.

If your child falls sick on the day of the exam, dun panic.
                    Take the child to the doc immediately and inform the school.
                    School needs to inform the exam branch.

mummy so kiasu

Sun_2010:

Only I was paranoid :frustrated: . Watched like a hawk over what she ate , avoided crowds and every ride we went I was on my toes to protect DD from accidents...even repeatedly warned DD, that if she were to fall , NOT to use her right hand to break the fall. 😆
                      Refused to let DD fly the MegaZip too much to DD's disappointment.

Here is what gets said around my son these days...

- Gasp! You sniffed! Are you falling sick?!
                      - Don't eat too much cake, sugar reduces body immunity.
                      - Drink this herbal tea, it will keep stress away.
                      - Don't go out in the rain, your father will get the car and bring it here.
                      - Stop digging your nose, flus get transmitted that way. No nose digging until after PSLE.
                      - That person sneezed. Don't walk into his cloud of sneeze.
                      - I just sneezed. I can't put you to bed till I feel better.
                      - Let's take the escalator, not the lift. Too many germs float about in the
                      confined space of the lift.

The worst was when I said to my son...
                      - That man does not look healthy.
                      Even my husband gave me a strange look.

:rotflmao: You are too stress. Take it easy or you will end up go crazy.

mummy so kiasu

Coolkidsrock2:

Thanks in advance.
                        According to the school teacher, If the child gets HFM or chicken pox during PSLE period, then Prelim results will be used. Hope your #1 Prelim results are good, just in case.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 324 / 602

fromagemanF
                        fromageman

P1 Registration 2027 Changes
                        DSA Discussions and Strategies
                        SkillsFuture course recommendations