2009 GEP Screening And Selection

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary Schools - Academic Support
    2.0k Posts 151 Posters 471.8k Views 1 Watching
      karmeleon

syshi:
      cluelessmama:

I don't know whether I will get scolding but after looking at the number of days my baby needs to stay back, really feel like opting out of GEP.

That's one of the reason DS choose CHS... he want to spend other days for CCA... in P1 he actually attended 3 days of CCA πŸ˜“

Unless GEP is different from the non-GEP classes ... for p4, definitely don't need to stay back on wed for HCL. But there MAY be some supplementary classes.

This coming year is SYF year - so if your child is in a performing CCA, maybe can join and literally *sweat* thru' all the intensive practices for a good first 4mths of the year and then can relax a bit. But fun.

syshi

karmeleon:
        syshi:

[quote=\"cluelessmama\"]
        I don't know whether I will get scolding but after looking at the number of days my baby needs to stay back, really feel like opting out of GEP.

That's one of the reason DS choose CHS... he want to spend other days for CCA... in P1 he actually attended 3 days of CCA πŸ˜“

Unless GEP is different from the non-GEP classes ... for p4, definitely don't need to stay back on wed for HCL. But there MAY be some supplementary classes.

This coming year is SYF year - so if your child is in a performing CCA, maybe can join and literally *sweat* thru' all the intensive practices for a good first 4mths of the year and then can relax a bit. But fun.[/quote]Hmm... was told by HOD GEP that GEP need to stay back on Wed for the HCL till 2.35pm follow by other 'enrichment' till 4pm to catch the CCA bus.

What is the performing CCA in HCL?

BTW, sent you PM yesterday..

karmeleon

syshi:
          karmeleon:

[quote=\"syshi\"]

This coming year is SYF year - so if your child is in a performing CCA, maybe can join and literally *sweat* thru' all the intensive practices for a good first 4mths of the year and then can relax a bit. But fun.

Hmm... was told by HOD GEP that GEP need to stay back on Wed for the HCL till 2.35pm follow by other 'enrichment' till 4pm to catch the CCA bus.

BTW, sent you PM yesterday..[/quote]Okie - sori,only looking at PM now. πŸ˜‰

Performing CCAs avail are:
          Chinese orchestra, String Ensemble, Concert Band, Modern Dance, Choir.

Stay til 2.35pm..wah, does that mean they break for lunch or not? Bc usually school ends officially at 1.35pm, and any supplementary classes only start at 2pm. So if that's the case, your son would only start back for a 35min class? Like such a waste, leh.

My kids if have supp classes, would stay until at least 3pm or 3.30pm at least. My kids' cca is usually from 2-5pm. Yah, those who take CCa bus will leave the cca earlier.

syshi

karmeleon:
            syshi:

[quote=\"karmeleon\"]

Hmm... was told by HOD GEP that GEP need to stay back on Wed for the HCL till 2.35pm follow by other 'enrichment' till 4pm to catch the CCA bus.

BTW, sent you PM yesterday..

Okie - sori,only looking at PM now. πŸ˜‰

Performing CCAs avail are:
            Chinese orchestra, String Ensemble, Concert Band, Modern Dance, Choir.

Stay til 2.35pm..wah, does that mean they break for lunch or not? Bc usually school ends officially at 1.35pm, and any supplementary classes only start at 2pm. So if that's the case, your son would only start back for a 35min class? Like such a waste, leh.

My kids if have supp classes, would stay until at least 3pm or 3.30pm at least. My kids' cca is usually from 2-5pm. Yah, those who take CCa bus will leave the cca earlier.[/quote]HOD GEP said that they will break for lunch at 1pm (before other kids), then start the HCL at 1.35 to 2.35pm. After that follow by 'whatever / which I forgot'.... hhehhe...

dskmom

cluelessmama:
              blur-daddy:

Hi cluelessmama,

If yours taking HCL, then good luck... Mon and Tue, plus Fri - IRS. If u take CCA, try to limit to Mon or Tue lor. Mine confirmed Mon-CL, Tue-CCA (science club), Fri. Gone liao.
              [quote=\"cluelessmama\"]Hi blur_daddy, does this mean that those who take HCL must stay back on Mon as well Tue? Thanks. :lol:

Firstly, thanks blur_daddy for the answer. :lol:

Secondly, yikees, yaks, arrhhh... :!: - must stay back for so many days!!! Wow! :shock:

Hmm, I wonder how does NYPS does it ? - according to them, only need to stay back on CCA day. Could it be that they have super long school hours? Thus, everything can be done within curriculum time. :?[/quote]My DS posted to HP too. went for a break and again to forum...

Cluelessmama I saw you are planning to appeal . Did you check with the school of choice whether they have vacancy . Did MOE tell you how many vacancies in each school is there for you to choose. I already see CH have 52 taken up (2 more than 50). not sure of other schools...

More questions, i have .

1. when you have CL/HCL on mon /tue what about non CL/HCL students.... Any body to share from 2010 P5/P6 GEP parents from HP. :idea:

2. I saw in HP website student names for CCA/ECA's allocated , then do our kids get their preferred CCA's.

3. IRS they have evening after school hours , then what about others like Computer enrichment etc....

4. Have you got HP P4 GEP got the package...., I didnt yet.

5. The inconvienient piece of HP is the school bus , I read forums telling it always overbooked... :stupid:

6. Since most the time the CCA/ECA/ etc end after 4:00pm can the student stay in library / canteen for 2 more hrs for me to pick up.... any idea

dskmom

sierracheckmate:
                Anyone's dd got posted 2 ACS? :?

ACS is only BOY's school ? :? . Are you posted to ACS..... DD = Dear Daughter I thought :idea:

dskmom

My Friend have a question as they are planning to move house (again 2010 GEP parent). currently posted to St. Hilda's .

When we change house . Is there any way to request for change of school . How does this process works for GEP students .

Any previous experience , please share. :?:

Way2GO

cluelessmama:
                    [

Hmm, I wonder how does NYPS does it ? - according to them, only need to stay back on CCA day. Could it be that they have super long school hours? Thus, everything can be done within curriculum time. :?
                    I recalled hearing somewhere that at NYPS, GEP 4 only need to stay back 1 afternoon for computer enrichment in the beginning + any other day for CCA.
                    Am trying to cfm with NYPS.

• Y Offline
                      yukilei

dskmom:
                      cluelessmama:

[quote=\"blur-daddy\"]Hi cluelessmama,

If yours taking HCL, then good luck... Mon and Tue, plus Fri - IRS. If u take CCA, try to limit to Mon or Tue lor. Mine confirmed Mon-CL, Tue-CCA (science club), Fri. Gone liao.

Firstly, thanks blur_daddy for the answer. :lol:

Secondly, yikees, yaks, arrhhh... :!: - must stay back for so many days!!! Wow! :shock:

Hmm, I wonder how does NYPS does it ? - according to them, only need to stay back on CCA day. Could it be that they have super long school hours? Thus, everything can be done within curriculum time. :?

My DS posted to HP too. went for a break and again to forum...

Cluelessmama I saw you are planning to appeal . Did you check with the school of choice whether they have vacancy . Did MOE tell you how many vacancies in each school is there for you to choose. I already see CH have 52 taken up (2 more than 50). not sure of other schools...

More questions, i have .

1. when you have CL/HCL on mon /tue what about non CL/HCL students.... Any body to share from 2010 P5/P6 GEP parents from HP. :idea: CL is actually CLA (Chinese Language Alive). It's compulsory for all GEP students. So, Monday confirm need to stay back. If your child not taking HCL, then don't have to stay back on Tuesday.

2. I saw in HP website student names for CCA/ECA's allocated , then do our kids get their preferred CCA's.

3. IRS they have evening after school hours , then what about others like Computer enrichment etc.... On Friday, there're 2 computer enrichment, think it's IRS & CEP, & will end at 4.30pm. This is compulsory for GEP students too.

4. Have you got HP P4 GEP got the package...., I didnt yet. Not yet. According to blur-daddy, HPPS will be sending out the package soon.

5. The inconvienient piece of HP is the school bus , I read forums telling it always overbooked... :stupid: Suggest you go to the website to check on the school bus. Usually, they've more than 1 bus that go to the same area. You can search the buses by area.

6. Since most the time the CCA/ECA/ etc end after 4:00pm can the student stay in library / canteen for 2 more hrs for me to pick up.... any idea According to the website, all the CCA seems to end at 5pm. Not sure what time does the library close. But since there're pm class, I don't think they'll chase the children away after CCA cos some children are taking the PM school bus back. Maybe can ask your child to wait around the General office area or level 1 (the place where the school bus pick up the children. There're chairs there. [/quote]Hi dskmum, please see my reply in blue

Way2GO

[quote="cluelessmamaI don’t know whether I will get scolding but after looking at the number of days my baby needs to stay back, really feel like opting out of GEP.[/quote]

Hey, don’t be so easily discouraged. Hope you will stay the course for your kid. You have to be prepared that as the course progresses, your kid will need your support to ferry him/her around for projects and field trips. This is just a logistical problem that is not insurmountable. Keep your spirits up!

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 187 / 196