Looking for piano accompanist for violinist
Kungfu without sidekick? Hehee! Lol!

PM replied.
I dint think its the chemistry issue lar. Good accompanists can adapt to all.sort of playing, whether good or bad. Anyway not possible to scrap accompaniment as many of string standard repertoire has equal weightage on the piano part, especially the higher grades. Those advanced repertoire like violin sonatas are almost like practically piano sonatas with violin accompaniment.Aiyoh sleepy... your poor DD... :hugs: That accompanist just doesn't have chemistry with her lar... hope she wasn't too depressed over the comments made during the practice sessions. Btw, your DD doing which Grade now?
Ya, we never had to pay for any exam accompaniment package n wat nots... tts why I asked. DD1's violin teacher can play both piano and violin. She's so good that while playing the accompaniment during lessons, she can use one hand to on and off adjust my DD's bowing lar.. posture lar.. or just press down DD's finger on a particular string for more pressure while DD is playing her piece. DD plays beautifully thanks to her... she's been a great inspiration n role model for DD1. :please: We enjoy listening to her playing at home. Even the baby loves it. He'll quiet down, sit up wide-eyed and really just listen. Now a bit older, he also knows how to clap for his jie.
Eh babe, if scrap accompaniment requirement then play alongside the CD arh? Lagi stress leh. The CD only one tempo n must follow leh.. some a bit fast too but hor good thing is this kind of accompaniment won't make mistakes or be a nervous wreck on exam day.
I still think there must be some chemistry nevertheless cos there are some who can just click at first accompaniment n others just don’t. The other thing to marry chemistry is experience. Which in sleepy’s case, there was none since it’s the teacher’s 1st time! And the school didn’t even mention it.
sleepy:
I think exam board should just scrap the accompaniment requirement for strings.
Like for Chinese instrumental exams, huh? ;D -
Dreamaurora:
For NAFA's School of Young Talents, they do have a list of regular accompanists for their instrumental students, if I'm not mistaken (not talking about the Dip/BA programmes, Dreamaurora). And the students have to pay for the accompanists whether they like it or not. No option, it seems. One of my friends who is a piano teacher, said she was not allowed to accompany her girl even though she had done so for others for those same pieces many times before for their exams. But yes, in YST, all-in. No need to pay for practice/performance accompanist fees.luckystar:
Any one knows the nafa piano accopanist ? Do you think he/she will like to accompany non-nafa ?
NAFA does not have a full time accompanist, unlike Yong Siew Toh. Student accompanists are assigned to each individual instrumentalits, but the accompanists are not obligated to accompany them because it is not compulsory for pianists to accompany and there is no mark involved. :
So far, my boy has worked best with his fellow school student accompanists. But now all say too busy. *sigh*. He asked me to get him an accompanist for his school exam. I look at the score - not too difficult. I could play, but I cannot coordinate too well. So I think best to get a professional. The last time I accompanied him was for his Grade 4 violin exams! I'm too lazy to practice for his pieces now. Too difficult. -
Hello all,
Please do not hesitate to contact me for piano accompaniment :))
I'm a graduate from the Sydney Conservatorium of Music of the Bachelor of Music Studies majoring in Piano, and I have experiences playing piano accompaniment for various instrumentalist as well as vocalists and choirs.
Feel free to contact me at [email protected] or mobile at 9178 2971. My website is http://elesoopiano.wix.com/home for more info please visit!
Thanks for reading!
Warm Regards,
Eleanor Soo -
The worse a student plays, the more editing the accompanist has to do to cover up the mistakes.
The better the student play, the more detailed the accompanist has to be.
Because much of the musical details are with the piano, you cannot remove the accompanist lah.
Chemistry is important for very young kids and candidates with learning disorder. There is a violin teacher with a very sensitive kid. The student played with four accompanists before selecting her own pianist to help with her exam preparation. -
I am hoping to get my sons someone they can get to know a little bit. Do you think that matters…to stick with one person? It seems with kids it would really help. My plan was to meet up with them once every month or two if possible to keep the kids on their gameI agree with the comments about money by the way. Musicians are pretty cheap but parents…that is another matter in some cases. Also, do you pay different for recordings? I want to record a performance and I assume as long as they are not in the video we should be ok. But…we have to find them first!
Hi Billymarsh123, not many parents would be like you - to let the kids play regularly with the accompanist. It’s extra cost and time but it is a fantastic idea as the child gets to know the accompanist like how he (she)'d know the teacher. The more the child knows the accompanist the more comfortable they are with each other and there’d be more chemistry when that’s called for at higher grades. And making music together is fun for the kids. It helps when the child’s teacher is able to accompany during lessons.
As for whether there’d be a different rate for recording, the answer is no, unless it is for professional recording, eg. audition submission or cutting a CD! If it is just to record for own purposes the rate should be whatever is charged for the "music making" session -
jce:
Like mine plays with accompanist almost everyday. *hehe*.Hi Billymarsh123, not many parents would be like you - to let the kids play regularly with the accompanist. It's extra cost and time but it is a fantastic idea as the child gets to know the accompanist like how he (she)'d know the teacher. The more the child knows the accompanist the more comfortable they are with each other and there'd be more chemistry when that's called for at higher grades. And making music together is fun for the kids. It helps when the child's teacher is able to accompany during lessons.
As for whether there'd be a different rate for recording, the answer is no, unless it is for professional recording, eg. audition submission or cutting a CD! If it is just to record for own purposes the rate should be whatever is charged for the \"music making\" session
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.