Why screen kids in P1?
GLORYmum:
FQW:
[quote=\"pek.taxi\"]my P3 DS recall that he has taken such test in P1 in 2010. however, only a handful of the classmates were chosen for the test. He can only remember his best friend and himself were among those in the class to take the test. Both of them turned out to top the class end of P1.
The thing on every parent's lips is whether your ds and his best friend underwent any covert, specialized grooming programme after the test?
or some ksp were hoping to \"prepare\" their kids for this screening had they known it taking place beforehand. :evil: :evil:[/quote]Now can understand how MOE
?
or some ksp were hoping to \"prepare\" their kids for this screening had they known it taking place beforehand. :evil: :evil:[/quote]
Now can understand how MOE
?
how about GEP prep class for toddlers? :nailbite: :nailbite: -
GLORYmum:
or some ksp were hoping to \"prepare\" their kids for this screening had they known it taking place beforehand. :evil: :evil:
Now can understand how MOE
?
how about GEP prep class for toddlers? :nailbite: :nailbite:[/quote]
Sounds like a never ending story again... :rotflmao: -
GLORYmum:
or some ksp were hoping to \"prepare\" their kids for this screening had they known it taking place beforehand. :evil: :evil:[/quote]My sympathies are with the poor kids whose childhood are robbed by these endless preparation. These kiasu parents can come up with whatever excuse - my kids want it, my kids like to be challenged, my kids enjoy the class,......etc. it is the parents who really want it and deprive the kids of their play time.FQW:
[quote=\"pek.taxi\"]my P3 DS recall that he has taken such test in P1 in 2010. however, only a handful of the classmates were chosen for the test. He can only remember his best friend and himself were among those in the class to take the test. Both of them turned out to top the class end of P1.
The thing on every parent's lips is whether your ds and his best friend underwent any covert, specialized grooming programme after the test? -
If a child is βpreparedβ, then itβs not their real ability.
U really believe that all geppers r not commissioned or trained to score for gep selection? what is 'real ability'? To select the real able kids, they should not select @ p3 since they r old enough for 'training', they shd select much earlier when the kids r very young n training is not possible yet!
I dare to say most n close to 100% geppers have gone through some 'sort' of training by exposing them to more advanced n higher thinking questions n IQ n challenging maths. Don't forget about some schools have pulled out their top classes to attend some 'enrichment' classes n programs for them to take external tests n assessment. Personally, I think they shd select gepper when they r illiterate , then u r more accurately select the real geppers.
Better :siam: before
I know that some gepper mum still think that their kids r superhero!PhoBIA:
If a child is 'preoared', then it's not their real ability.
haven't we heard enough of people arguing for the gov't to help the bottom 10% or 20%?
have we heard not enough that we don't want to be tuition-mad in all areas ?
haven't we poured enough scorn on Pri 1 prep course, GEP prep course, ali-starcare whose mother says he is GEP?
do we want another group of tuition centres catering to this type of testing ? (oh my saying this just poked at the potential financial windfall of those who cater to this type of prep course!)
and frankly, so what they have the data without my permission without my knowing ?
my guess is that if the kid / parents benefited from the test result because of the subsequent follow up actions, parents will not object, and will say MOE took pro-active initiative and efficient
and for those whose kids do not need follow up action because they are normal / smart kids who learn well.......then the notion of privacy being invaded is felt.
okay I must say I understand every 1 is a human being and react differently
now is my turn to receive some stones, after avoiding this thread until now
:siam: :siam: :torchme: -
Lai....mai kia....you have not told us the most important thing... Are you So-fis-ti-cated parent or not har? :scratchhead:haven't we heard enough of people arguing for the gov't to help the bottom 10% or 20%?
have we heard not enough that we don't want to be tuition-mad in all areas ?
haven't we poured enough scorn on Pri 1 prep course, GEP prep course, ali-starcare whose mother says he is GEP?
do we want another group of tuition centres catering to this type of testing ? (oh my saying this just poked at the potential financial windfall of those who cater to this type of prep course!)
and frankly, so what they have the data without my permission without my knowing ?
my guess is that if the kid / parents benefited from the test result because of the subsequent follow up actions, parents will not object, and will say MOE took pro-active initiative and efficient
and for those whose kids do not need follow up action because they are normal / smart kids who learn well.......then the notion of privacy being invaded is felt.
okay I must say I understand every 1 is a human being and react differently
now is my turn to receive some stones, after avoiding this thread until now
:siam: :siam: :torchme:
Say already then :torchme: also not too late... kekeke -
Am I a soft-fist-scared parent ? aiyo, any fist also no scared lah
oic...so you also not soft-fist-scared la.... ok here you go... :torchme: :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.