Why screen kids in P1?
BeContented:
Nice.
Like ksi, I also 'empower' my child's education journey to MOE. I am also not a sophisticated parent and I dun have any issue nor see any harm in letting them doing such test simply because .... I still trust MOE to do what's right. All the DNA/future etc sounds like those futuristic sci-fi to me :oops:ksi:
This is the difference in our views. If I give my charge to MOE, I give them some empowerment over my child's education journey. To me, the test was not intrusive and I see no bad consequence in them trying to understand the children better. Better still, I am not even sure how accurate since my child went to poo in between the tests and not sure if she completed them.
Also I am not a sophisticated parent who can possibly understand everything that MOE is trying to explain to me...it might be info overload for me if it does not concern my child specifically. So this is just differences in views.
It is good we present views of at least 2 types of parents. I, the not sophisticated parent, have no issue of the test conducted without loading me with unnecessary info and trust the info is not misused. You, the more sophisticated parent, would like to know details of the test. Oh...just one thing...don't suspect me of anything I don't suspect.
Perhaps a letter to inform parents of the test may be good.....for me, if there's no intervention required for my child, no news is fine by me.
I cannot recall if there were any IQ test during my kids' time.....but I know DS school did perform some test to identify the weak students who were then given extra help ie. LSP. There was no reshuffling in P1 and P2 was based on P1 year-end results which I was fine since I grew up during such era. Think these days some schools will keep the class intact from P1-P2/P3.
ε ζζ½ζ οΌ there seems to have a lot of all these GEP/high ability/low ability unhappiness. But having seen kids of different ability learning together, I genuinely do believe it will be more beneficiary as a whole to let the child learn at a pace suitable for them. -
Ya, better make it clear to everyone....else they thought I've been messing around your bushes!!! :siam:Chenonceau:
Not my garden hor!! I dun have maple in my teeny weeny garden hor! But... :rotflmao: :rotflmao: You've gone and made me breathe out tea again! -
BeContented:
The level of distrust towards MOE cos of some tests ........ :yikes: :sad:
Actually I am still wondering, is it from moe? Sure? Not the school's initiative? -
I will be offended if the school did an IQ test on my kid without telling me! Why would they want to do that? What would the results be used for? Where is it filed? What is the sensitivity? You know you need to do an IQ test to go to special schools? What if the mainstream school did a "secret" IQ test on your kid and then advise you to send him to a special school? Wonβt you be offended?
I just remembered something. Has it got to do with the newspaper article sometime back that the gahmen is going to focus on identifying special needs kids early in their childhood so that they can recommend them to go for early intervention? If I remember correctly, the article said something like it will be good to have a systematic screening of ALL kids to identify those with special needs so that intervention can be recommended?
I repeat. I expect nothing. I merely point out that MOE itself said it would intervene after the screening.ksi:
The above means you are expecting intervention right? If they collect the info and only after that then they know need intervention or not right? So if they find that there is no need for intervention, then no action lor... logical? :scratchhead:
But at P1, usually early intervention is deemed as being \"too late\". So what would the IQ test be used for? -
BeContented:
I'd like to be kept in the loop wrt to what is happening to MY kiddos when they are in school. Not for any nitty gritty stuff, but this was a test. They are MY kiddos after all.
To draw an analogy, I would expect the same when I leave them alone with the helper or my in laws or my mother for that matter. Again, not referring to petty matters.
I am not against the testing if it's for the good. I don't need to know the results if there is no need for intervention.
But I'd like to be kept in the loop if and when I should be. They are MY kiddos.
It's got nothing to do with the lack of trust. That's too simplistic a way to
see it.
Oiiiii, BeContended, not directed at you k. Just providing my 2 cents as to why I don't mind the test but would like to be kept in the loop :hugs: -
Hello Autumnbronze, dun worryBeContented:
I'd like to be kept in the loop wrt to what is happening to MY kiddos when they are in school. Not for any nitty gritty stuff, but this was a test. They are MY kiddos after all.
To draw an analogy, I would expect the same when I leave them alone with the helper or my in laws or my mother for that matter. Again, not referring to petty matters.
I am not against the testing if it's for the good. I don't need to know the results if there is no need for intervention.
But I'd like to be kept in the loop if and when I should be. They are MY kiddos.
It's got nothing to do with the lack of trust. That's too simplistic a way to
see it.
Oiiiii, BeContended, not directed at you k. Just providing my 2 cents as to why I don't mind the test but would like to be kept in the loop :hugs:
Personally I too feel that some form of communication to parents would be better than keeping us in the dark. But guess that 'trust' statement was more of a 'reaction' when questions of whether the test would be used (deliberately??) to disadvantage/advantage certain kids. If a child needs extra help, I would gladly see that they get identified & receive the help they need, whichever category they belong to. -
There is reply from moe.
http://www.straitstimes.com/breaking-news/singapore/story/mid-year-screening-p1-pupils-be-replaced-20120911
I couldnt read the full story cause didn't subscribe. Said it will be abolished next year -
So end of discussion?? :roll:
Mid-year screening for P1 pupils to be replaced
By stacey chia
From next year, Primary 1 pupils will no longer need to participate in a little-known screening exercise used to identify weaker children.
Currently, there are two screening exercises, one in January which is more commonly known, and the other in July. But the mid-year screening exercise will no longer be held. It will be replaced with \"better ways\" of identifying pupils, said a Ministry of Education spokesman, without giving details.
MOE revealed the change in its reply to a parent who wrote to The Straits Times Forum Page last Friday, and in response to queries from The Straits Times.
The parent, Mr David Chin, 42, a lecturer at Republic Polytechnic, complained that his Primary 1 son was made to take a test without his knowledge or approval in July. The test, according to him, resembles an IQ test.
In its reply, MOE said that the July screening exercise which the boy went through is \"not for making conclusions about a child's intelligence, nor is it linked to the Primary 3 GEP (Gifted Education Programme) selection\".
Together with their academic performance, it is an exercise used to identify pupils who are progressing poorly. Schools will then find \"appropriate strategies\" to help these pupils, such as providing remediation.
The January screening, meanwhile, identifies children who have not acquired basic literacy and numeracy skills by the time they enter Primary 1. An example of this could be the inability to say and write the letters of the alphabet, count or write numbers below 10.
Those who are identified as needing help in the January screening are given learning support. There are two programmes for these children, the Learning Support Programme (LSP), for English and the Learning Support for Mathematics (LSM).
[email protected]
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.