2012 PSLE Discussions and Strategy

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 6 & PSLE
    6.0k Posts 467 Posters 1.6m Views 1 Watching
      fifiyeo

To hell with PSLE. Ok I am :siao:

I guess we all get that feeling once in awhile. It's good to take a break and then come back to reality. I'm guilty too! :oops:

Sun_2010

fifiyeo:

I guess we all get that feeling once in awhile. It's good to take a break and then come back to reality. I'm guilty too! :oops:

Yeah all you got to do is rearrange the words
        Ok I am :siao: to
        I am OK šŸ˜‰

Chenonceau

slmkhoo:
          When I was a student, as it got closer to exams, I would study less. I found that I absorbed less near exams, and the time was better spent just 'keeping warm' and consolidating what I knew rather than cramming. My parents could never understand it, but it worked for me. My husband is much the same, so we let our daughter relax before the exams too. We only asked her to revise for a couple of hours a day in the week before PSLE, and allowed her to read, watch TV, play with the Wii etc. She says the Wii helped! I think that if some schools are piling on extra lessons just before the exams, parents should just decline if they feel they are counter-productive.

Yup... that's what I said. To hell with PSLE. I bought 15 kouign amman and 15 croissants. I shall lay all in front of DS and see if he thinks the PSLE should go to hell too. :rotflmao:

Chenonceau

Sun_2010:
            fifiyeo:

[quote=\"Chenonceau\"]To hell with PSLE. Ok I am :siao:

Yeah all you got to do is rearrange the words
            Ok I am :siao: to
            I am OK šŸ˜‰[/quote]Now I feel fat. Do you know how much butter in kouign amman or croissants. But yes I feel fat and very OK.

Chenonceau

fifiyeo:

I dun feel guilty leh... feel fat. šŸ˜„

• Y Offline
                yukilei

slmkhoo:
                When I was a student, as it got closer to exams, I would study less. I found that I absorbed less near exams, and the time was better spent just 'keeping warm' and consolidating what I knew rather than cramming. My parents could never understand it, but it worked for me. My husband is much the same, so we let our daughter relax before the exams too. We only asked her to revise for a couple of hours a day in the week before PSLE, and allowed her to read, watch TV, play with the Wii etc. She says the Wii helped! I think that if some schools are piling on extra lessons just before the exams, parents should just decline if they feel they are counter-productive.

Totally agreed with you!!! Really no point to pile them with all the extra lessons & work now. I don't think they can absorb that much. Like what my DS says, consistency is the key. He still continues to play with his phone & we continue to bring him out on Sunday. I know some of his friends are grounded on Sun. So poor thing.

Chenonceau

I am pigging out on kouign amman at Tiong Bahru Bakery. All of a sudden, PSLE doesn't matter. Yum yum yum...

http://www.thefoodnomads.com/2012/06/29/tiong-bahru-bakery-eng-hoon-street/
                  😢 😢 Chenonceau, you made me crave for the Croissant to go with a cup of Earl Grey Tea.

oops! :offtopic: :offtopic: faster :siam: :siam: :bewaremod:

I had a latte. Good latte. Now you will you please go and write something nice about you know what in you know where? I share my 15 croissants with you and buy Chee kueh too.

• NebbermindN Offline
                    Nebbermind

Now I feel fat. Do you know how much butter in kouign amman or croissants. But yes I feel fat and very OK.
                    Only now? :siam:

• NebbermindN Offline
                      Nebbermind

Now I feel fat. Do you know how much butter in kouign amman or croissants. But yes I feel fat and very OK.
                      kouign amman - is it like those flaky crispy flat piece of 'biscuit' with sugar on top which we can find in local confectionary??

Chenonceau

kouign amman - is it like those flaky crispy flat piece of 'biscuit' with sugar on top which we can find in local confectionary??

I dunno leh... my neighborhood local confectionery doesn't have the kouign amman... but if got neighborhood confectionery that sells this, please share where?

Click on link below to see a picture of the kouign amman. It is like a croissant with sugar between the layers and caramel on the top and bottom. It is also like a crispy roti prata with sugar between the layers and caramelized top and bottom. Or else... a strudel with butter butter butter... a lot of butter.

It hails from Brittany, France... a region well-known for butter and milk production. That's why it is loaded with butter and has such a strange name (from the local Breton dialect) - http://www.midnightpoutine.ca/food/2007/09/baked_in_montreal_kouign_amann/

I can't wait for the day local confectioneries learn to make this. Right now, it retails at $3.50 per pop. It feels like eating gold but I deserve a treat... I'm taking the.... oops... errr... my son is taking the PSLE in 15 days.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 332 / 602

PPBearP
                        PPBear