MOE to scrap Banding for Secondary Schools

193 Posts 45 Posters 50.4k Views 1 Watching
      mamago

[quote=\"Chenonceau\"]Alright... please don't hate me for seeing the banding issue differently. I don't mean to offend anyone. I just happen to see it differently. If you disagree, don't call it voodoo... or laugh or joke. I have every right to post an alternative view. If you don't like it, don't read. If you disagree just point out the flaws in logic. I often concede points when I realize I am wrong. I really really don't mean to offend. I am just strange. My brain works strangely. I mean no harm.

I like. Very much.

Can 'undo' reading meh?? :scratchhead:

Can. I am a psychologist remember? I can do it for you. It might hurt though. :rubhands:[/quote]
      How to verify? Nebbermind lah, just dream onz .....

Chenonceau

mamago:

Dun worry... when I am through with him, he won't remember his Mother's name. It can be done... just not ummmm... very delicately... and it might affect a lotta other stuff like maybe his capacity to eat and drink without help.

Sun_2010

mamago:

Dun worry... when I am through with him, he won't remember his Mother's name. It can be done... just not ummmm... very delicately... and it might affect a lotta other stuff like maybe his capacity to eat and drink without help.

But after that will he be able to dress himself up ?

Chenonceau

Sun_2010:

[quote=\"mamago\"]

But after that will he be able to dress himself up ?
            :evil:[/quote]Ummm... we errrr... prefer him undressed right?

mamago

mamago:

So sci-fi .... :nailbite: :scared: :yikes:

Chenonceau

mamago:

[quote=\"mamago\"]

So sci-fi .... :nailbite: :scared: :yikes:[/quote]No lah... where got? Butcher's knife is not sci fi what. Every wet market also have.

ruohoo97

I doubt that these changes will make a dent in Singapore education system and its already firmly developed kiasuism.

• NebbermindN Offline
                    Nebbermind

ruohoo97:
                    I doubt that these changes will make a dent in Singapore education system and its already firmly developed kiasuism.

It doesn't really matter as long as some parents see the +ve in this changes.

ruohoo97

looking4Tutor:

Then stop asking MOE to do any more policy changes to make life less stressful for the children if parents' mindset is not going to change in tandem. This is a very good example of stress not coming from MOE but from parents. It takes 2 to clap, if MOE has done its part, we gotta do ours.

MOE is doing this to make schools de-focus on inter-school competition but build their own unique niche so this will benefit the children in terms of academic pressure. The idea now is to choose schools based on the merits of its curriculum niche that it can offer or match to your child, not on its band ranking when stack against other schools. Can this be understood? New policies can come in but if old brains or behaviour stay on, nothing is gonna work. Then the complain cycle starts again...never ending story... :slapshead:

My prediction is that it will not work for the fact that which schools are the top is well established.
                      Unless, he removes COP for secondary school selection. All secondary schools should have a fair distribution of strong and weak PSLE students.
                      Or a more drastic move, ask the so called top secondary schools to take in the weakest PSLE students and turn them into stellar cum holistic O level students.

Removing banding is just like removing stars (6 stars, 5 stars) from hotel rating.

You spoke out the voice in my heart!

SAHM_TAN

Ask hor, will COP infor be removed ?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 10 / 20

nnk888ioN
                        nnk888io