REMEMBER SINGAPORE - Urban Legends

316 Posts 25 Posters 56.2k Views 1 Watching
      Way2GO

pinky:
      about the pointing at the moon legend, yes I personally experienced the pain of a cut at the back of my ear once when I was about 8 and living in the kampong. I pointed at the bright big moon to my cousins as we were playing one night. The next morning I felt something painful as I was washing my face and when I asked my mother to check, she straightaway told me \"you must have pointed at the moon, havent you?\"

The strange thing was a few years back, I was having a BBQ one night and in the spirit of trying to bust the myth, I pointed at the moon to my friend. And the next morning, I really felt a small cut at the back of my ear again (after so many years). 🤷 Coincidence maybe but really
      freak me out... 😓
      weird (me mean d occurrences, not u 😉 )
      logic can't explain it.
      me can appreciate d wisdom expounded by Zen Master Hui Neng, an illiterate but a much enlightened man in dis 'finger pointing at moon' story:

The nun Wu Jincang asked the Sixth Patriach Huineng, \"I have studied the Mahaparinirvana sutra for many years, yet there are many areas i do not quite understand. Please enlighten me.\"

The patriach responded, \"I am illiterate. Please read out the characters to me and perhaps I will be able to explain the meaning.\"

Said the nun, \"You cannot even recognize the characters. How are you able then to understand the meaning?\"

\"Truth has nothing to do with words. Truth can be likened to the bright moon in the sky. Words, in this case, can be likened to a finger. The finger can point to the moon’s location. However, the finger is not the moon. To look at the moon, it is necessary to gaze beyond the finger, right?\"

d 'Laughing Buddha\" 布袋 pointing at d moon.
      http://i50.tinypic.com/261mafo.jpg\">

Way2GO

Why did you think I went as a civilian? :evil:
        u also translator for d military? :faint:

it was my presumption u r not fr d military,
        so ur camping trip must hv happened long time ago if gone there as civilian mah.
        So yours was some gahmen agency organized familiarization trip, tio bo?
        no wonder u didn't chance upon d Tekong lady at d jetty. :razz:

Way2GO

Camp 1 arrrrh 😉

I know abt the extra door.

Heard that there is no more training conducted on that particular day henceforth.
          Eh how u know about d locked 3rd door at C coy?

Heard too dat night trainings on Thursday nights were taken off training schedules coz of many sightings.
          Anyone in recent stints in P. Tekong can confirm dis?

• NebbermindN Offline
            Nebbermind

Think the thurs night trg thing is not only tekong but all units and not a recent thing

one of the ‘popular’ night topo check point is counting the number of tombstones…alamak, threw away all my Tekong maps liao

• NebbermindN Offline
                Nebbermind

one of the 'popular' night topo check point is counting the number of tombstones........alamak, threw away all my Tekong maps liao

Wah, u dare to keep classified saf doc! U planned to visit your 好兄弟?

one of the 'popular' night topo check point is counting the number of tombstones........alamak, threw away all my Tekong maps liao

those are civilian maps

• NebbermindN Offline
                    Nebbermind

[quote=\"verykiasu2010\"]one of the 'popular' night topo check point is counting the number of tombstones........alamak, threw away all my Tekong maps liao

those are civilian maps[/quote]Tekong got civilian map meh?

Tekong got civilian map meh?
                      depends which era you are from

those days Tekong Pri School was still in operation

Way2GO

those are civilian maps

Tekong got civilian map meh?

vk is rite.
                        not detailed topo maps.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 15 / 32