Alternative use for tuition
When the child learns how to learn independently, there is no need for tuition. But it is a chicken and egg issue here. Parents send their children to tuition because their children cannot learn independently. But if the option of tuition is not removed, the child is not motivated to learn independently. So at some point, I feel that parents have to let go and let the children learn on their own. Of course, I am not suggesting to let go at critical years like PSLE and O levels.
A friend's son is in IP school (Sec 1). I thought once the child is done with PSLE and moves on to sec school, this thing called tuition is not necessary or very minimal. Unfortunately, my friend's son needs help with English and Science. Literature, comprehension and situational writing is tough.
When will parents not need to fork out money for tuition then?
In the past, students were more attentive in classes, took a more active role in learning and be responsible for their own learning. There was no need for tuition then. The only tuition I had was tuition at PSLE year undertaken by the Singapore Teachers' Union. My own teachers were tutoring me three times a week in the evenings in school. This is like the supplementary classes that schools are conducting now. We were more attentive in classes because we knew that if we were not attentive, we would have a hard time trying to get that knowledge. Internet was not available yet and our parents had no extra money for tuition.
Today, students could afford to be less attentive in classes. They could turn to their parents, internet and tutors for help. They rely too much on tutors and model answers. Sad to say that at workplace, there is no model solutions to work problems. -
alng:
A friend's son is in IP school (Sec 1). I thought once the child is done with PSLE and moves on to sec school, this thing called tuition is not necessary or very minimal. Unfortunately, my friend's son needs help with English and Science. Literature, comprehension and situational writing is tough.
When will parents not need to fork out money for tuition then?
In the past, students were more attentive in classes, took a more active role in learning and be responsible for their own learning. There was no need for tuition then. The only tuition I had was tuition at PSLE year undertaken by the Singapore Teachers' Union. My own teachers were tutoring me three times a week in the evenings in school. This is like the supplementary classes that schools are conducting now. We were more attentive in classes because we knew that if we were not attentive, we would have a hard time trying to get that knowledge. Internet was not available yet and our parents had no extra money for tuition.
Today, students could afford to be less attentive in classes. They could turn to their parents, internet and tutors for help. They rely too much on tutors and model answers. Sad to say that at workplace, there is no model solutions to work problems.
Agree esp the part in red as it's also my observation. But then again, the teachers have a part to play as the teaching should not be based on the assumption that most have tuition. I'm glad HSK has realised this and covered this aspect in his speech.
The article and discussion reminds me that need to prepare kids with study skills such as research skills, know how to make own notes, critical thinking skills. I need to take a deep breath now. :imdrowning:
Lilac66:
I agree that some teachers teach with an assumption that most have tuition. But I do not totally blame these teachers because some teachers do not want to bore the students since the students already know. If parents and tutors do not over teach or teach in advance, this problem can be minimised. But I do not blame the parents too. Sigh! This is a complex issue.
Agree esp the part in red as it's also my observation. But then again, the teachers have a part to play as the teaching should not be based on the assumption that most have tuition. I'm glad HSK has realised this and covered this aspect in his speech.
I just want to share that my dd has no tuition on Maths. 2-3 years ago, when I realised that she could not understand certain basic concepts in fractions but could tackle more complex problem sums, I suspected her teacher had skipped the teaching of basic concepts. I asked my dd to consult her teacher. I just told her teacher that my dd had no tuition and would like the teacher to focus more on the basics before advancing to challenging problem sums :-).
Other than English which my dh and I could not teach, my dd has no other tuition. Her only resources are her teachers and parents. When her parents do not know the answers to her questions, she could only rely on her teachers. She asks many question in class, via emails to her teachers and in edmodo. When she does not understand her teachers' answers to her questions, I will interfere by helping her to re-phrase her questions or consulting her teachers personally. -
Mychildren:
Yeah right. In fact I don't even want my child to have tuition in pri sch if we can help it. Enrichment (eg swimming, music, speech and drama) ok, but not tuition. Personally, I still hv not decided that centers like mind stretchers or tll are tuition ctrs.I do not want my children to have tuition when they're in secondary school.
Yes, self discipline is very important. -
Oh ya lor, my nephew is one of these very bright kid who ask for\" tuition\". Not for the notes but because the teachers teach very interesting and challenging topics.Well I know some bright sec school kids who ask for tuition so they can have access to good notes.
When I was in sec 3, I took bio and had no clue what the super cheem book was talking about. Luckily I had a friend who quietly told me about this fantastic alternate textbook. Went to buy the book and the bio world made sense after that, moral of story...sometime studying hard ain't going to help if one don't have good crutches to lean on. -
Sometimes can't help it leh. When I try to coach my kids Science, they yawn. :snooze: then I feel 'insulted' & start to :mad: :rant: :nunchuk: Often the session turn :stompfeet: :frustrated:
It doesn't help when I'm also a quick-tempered & impatient person. (& not exactly strong in the subject)
Eventually I realised I :sick: am lousy at it....& outsourced. My kids so happy & feedback that it's more interesting for them & they learn more :oops: :sad:
But at least, I can have alternative else my BP medication have to be doubled. Now, kids tuition time is my shopping / bonding time with my hubby
quite happy actually -
BeContented:
Haha! I think we all parents get very EMO :mad: when we try to coach our own kids... Just like when our parents used to nag at us....Sometimes can't help it leh. When I try to coach my kids Science, they yawn. :snooze: then I feel 'insulted' & start to :mad: :rant: :nunchuk: Often the session turn :stompfeet: :frustrated:
It doesn't help when I'm also a quick-tempered & impatient person. (& not exactly strong in the subject)
Eventually I realised I :sick: am lousy at it....& outsourced. My kids so happy & feedback that it's more interesting for them & they learn more :oops: :sad:
But at least, I can have alternative else my BP medication have to be doubled. Now, kids tuition time is my shopping / bonding time with my hubby
quite happy actually
BeContented:
BeContented,Sometimes can't help it leh. When I try to coach my kids Science, they yawn. :snooze: then I feel 'insulted' & start to :mad: :rant: :nunchuk: Often the session turn :stompfeet: :frustrated:
quite happy actually
May I know what is BP medication? Is it stands for boiling point?
I'm not teasing, I really don't know.
BeContented,
May I know what is BP medication? Is it stands for boiling point?
I'm not teasing, I really don't know.
blood pressure i think. :roll:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.