Government, what you really want us to do?
sorri, din know you could be sarkar stick...got pay tuition fees or not ?[/quote]mamago:
[quote=\"verykiasu2010\"]
it is not required by law to conform
it is not needed to compare with the receptionist or the expat families
the environment is also very much shaped by the occupants
Hallo, Romeo. Can you let me act dumb for once?! :spank: :spank:
teeheeeeheeee... don't need to pay wan... someone just said one can look forward to learn plenty of new things here at KSP. :pokeeye: :pokeeye:
but, can't beat you, you are THE BEST... sarkar not sure but stick surely you have -
nightlone:
Bcoz it is programmed into humans..? the desire to reproduce and carry on the species..
what's the point of having a child but being unable to spend time with them and nurture them? what's the point of giving birth when you just leave them with the grandparents or someone else all the time?
of coz, as civilisation progress, the considerations differ.. carrying on the species is no longer the primary or sole consideration.. but no matter what.. it is a basic instinct dictated by mother nature.. the desire to reproduce is always there.. -
limlim,
Are u sure your firefox can send messages? Saw your post on lobang, will ask again 4-5 years time later. Currently, got lobang also cannot work.
:offtopic: -
resgmom:
WOW! :goodpost: Cannot beat someone who has experienced first hand! Thanks for sharing, resgmom! And yes, what you have in bold is very true. Although at the end of the day, our parents respect our choices, you know deep down, there is also the social pressure nagging at them when some relative's kids make different choices and are making a good living.
I raised my children in the States from they're born to P3 and Nursery, and they're now in P5 and K2 in the Singapore system, please allow me to share my views.nightlone:
I agree with not hiring maids.
I lived in the States for a couple of years and observed the ang mohs. they have 3, 4 kids. Maybe 1 kid goes to a preschool. The other 2 goes to middle school. The other is, maybe, an infant. The mum brings the kids to school with no external help at all. She puts the car seat in the stroller and drops her preschooler off. Then drives off to drop the other 2. Or vice versa.
I suppose it is much easier with a car and big roads. I just do admire how they are able to do it.
The Singaporeans who have a young child and then give birth there (which makes 2) grumble and whine about how difficult it is to take care of 2 kids. But the ang mohs can do it in the same environment, so why can't the Singaporean?
I concluded that we are all molly-coddled in singapore so cannot adapt to make things work.
I think it's a little unfair to compare States and Sg. However, people in States are generally more relaxed and the operating environment is different. Many dedicated SAHM who chose to stay home (even when they can't really afford it) have normal spouses, they rent a crappy apt/house, drive a crappy second hand car, but the ones dedicated to their kid's education/upbringing will quit their jobs and rent a house in the best school district they could find (even if it means an old/small apt which need constant fixing - that they do it themselves) and spend time nurturing their children, spending time with them, teaching them discipline, and make them responsible for their own behavior while getting them to help with housework (all these take time and effort). They buy many things second hand, from garage sale, or get it free (e.g. freecycle, craigslist). Clothing new/brand new only cost a couple dollars from the thrift stores. We don't have this kind of environment in Singapore. In the States (e.g. Walmart) you have entire walls of toilet paper to chose from, from super cheap to super expensive. The SAHMs there spend tons of time going through newspaper ads and clipping coupons and getting things for a fraction of prices as a result. We don't have these choices in Singapore.
In terms of education, the dedicated parents may not need to send their kids for tuition, however, they have no lack of physical activities/art/drama type \"enrichment\" and those cost money too.
To sum up, many in Singapore can chose to be SAHM if they want to. But the social pressure to \"measure up to the jones\" is more apparent in Sg compared to western countries, where freedom of choices are highly valued. In Singapore, an educated woman who chose to stay home will get constant nagging from, first and foremost, her own parents who \"didn't raise her and send her off to uni to be a housewife\". -
mamago:
it is not required by law to conformverykiasu2010:
[quote=\"mamago\"]
Thank you, Dr Ksi. now i get it....mmmm, so, it's the environment, that made requirement of external help, it's not the people lor....
it is not needed to compare with the receptionist or the expat families
the environment is also very much shaped by the occupants
Hallo, Romeo. Can you let me act dumb for once?! :spank: :spank:[/quote]
:rotflmao: :rotflmao: U-huuuu! Roooommmmeeeoooo! Kena canned by Juliet! :rotflmao:
pirate:
So, what policies specifically in the US, since you are using that as an example, are so different from Singapore that promote a higher TFR? How sure are you that it is down to the policies as opposed to Americans just being more gung-ho and less inclined to being coddled? Evidence is evidence, anecdote is anecdote, and I only see anecdote.
You mean apart from all these people telling them it is? Look at the US total fertility rate. How come it is higher than Singapore's? How come it is going up? You think it is because they have a lower standard of living or is it because it is a less developed economy? Of course, if one does not want to see the evidence, one will never find it. Have they even bothered to do a census to see how many families with 3 or more children have both parents working? I may be wrong, but most of the families I know with 3 or more kids have a SAHM, at least when the children are young.3Boys:
And pray tell the evidence that the falling birth rate has ANYTHING to do whatsoever with those policies you are critiquing? Who's to say it's not just navel-gazing, lazy, short-sighted Singaporeans displacing blame?
'Suck it up'? I'd say take it or leave it.
What modicum of evidence do you or the government have that it is all because Singaporeans are lazy and short-sighted as you assert?
I have 3 children and no SAHM/D at any stage.
I have absolutely no problem with people who have made it their lifestyle choice not to have children. Its your womb, yer makes your choices as it pleases yer. Also, there are many who try and just cannot conceive. These people have my fullest empathy and I hurt for them.
But let me tell you what p..... me off. Whining griping Singaporeans who choose to blame the g'ment for their own inadequacies. You mean, the g'ment needs to 'incentivise' you to have kids?? Gimme a break!
We had children because it pleases us and we did it without counting the costs or expecting any kind of special treatment from the g'ment. No matter what the g'ment can throw at us, it will never ever make up for the sacrifices that had/have to be made. Neither can the g'ment make up for the joy of bearing and raising the brats.
Its become stylish for people to lay the blame of TFR on the g'ment. \"Oh g'ment must do this, do that, or else....\".
Oh puhleez, you having babies on behalf of the g'ment or for yourself? -
We had children because it pleases us and we did it without counting the costs or expecting any kind of special treatment from the g'ment.
εζοΌ ε€©ηε€©ε »γδΈειεθθ‘γ -
*LIKE*
But let me tell you what p..... me off. Whining griping Singaporeans who choose to blame the g'ment for their own inadequacies. You mean, the g'ment needs to 'incentivise' you to have kids?? Gimme a break!
We had children because it pleases us and we did it without counting the costs or expecting any kind of special treatment from the g'ment. No matter what the g'ment can throw at us, it will never ever make up for the sacrifices that had/have to be made. Neither can the g'ment make up for the joy of bearing and raising the brats.
Its become stylish for people to lay the blame of TFR on the g'ment. \"Oh g'ment must do this, do that, or else....\".
:hi5: Me also *like*.
*LIKE*3Boys:
3Boys, perhaps you have underestimated the level of 'obedience' of Singaporeans. δ½ ε°ηζ°ε ε‘δΊΊεε€ε¬θ―οΌ I know quite a number who thinks the garmen is always right, even right down to making their personal choices.
Oh puhleez, you having babies on behalf of the g'ment or for yourself?
Many Singaporeans are really so obedient, or they see too highly of the garment and think they must be like good children and do everything that the garmen suggests they should do, or that they feel so want to be part of the nation-building, that team spirit - the \"let's all work together\" spirit, for it was this spirit that has brought Signapore thus far (or they do it to enjoy certain incentives I don't know for sure) and there comes a time when things turn to disfavor themselves, like the sudden influx of foreigners resulting in loss of jobs etc, and there is then this anger and resentment towards the 'parent' followed by the tendency to 'blame' , and this factor of 'blame' develops into a habit, which in turn goes the opposite direction from the initial tendency to 'obey'.
Or it could be the other way round - the garmen says and suggests too much (and manipulates too much) for the good of the people, that in the end this backlash.
The ranting that you see around is starting to sound like the people are saying \"enough nagging\". Just penning some thoughts here.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.