Government, what you really want us to do?
Sun_2010:
Nah... this is just me being weird... kekekekeke!
:scared: Chen , PSLE stress getting to you ?Chenonceau:
The most effective way (though hardly the most workable) to raise birth rate is to randomly pick Singaporean families from the population and kill off one or all their kids. Over time, when people realize that they COULD potentially lose a few or all their kids, they'll learn to have more as an added insurance against losing all their kids.
Countries that are at war (civil war or otherwise) rarely have a problem with falling birth rate (cf, various African countries and Middle Eastern nations). Potentially, one way to increase birth rate is to make National Service even more risky instead of more safe as suggested here - http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=40778&p=851698 -
you kee chiu with the leaf first ... :rotflmao:
didn't know u also interested! Think I better put a leaf on my back too!! -
Of course not! Send only no count. We've been sending guys to NS for YEARS! Birth rate still drop like a stone. Ya gotta kill them off in NS. But that's not too good 'cos then the girls are safe and people might be encouraged to engage in infanticide of girls in order to keep the boy babies. Must find a way to pick off the girls too.
Does sending the boys to NS count? :scratchhead:Chenonceau:
The most effective way (though hardly the most workable) to raise birth rate is to randomly pick Singaporean families from the population and kill off one or all their kids. Over time, when people realize that they COULD potentially lose a few or all their kids, they'll learn to have more as an added insurance against losing all their kids.
Countries that are at war (civil war or otherwise) rarely have a problem with falling birth rate (cf, various African countries and Middle Eastern nations). Potentially, one way to increase birth rate is to make National Service even more risky instead of more safe as suggested here - http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=40778&p=851698 -
Then liddat you can't kee chiu oredi cos u need to use both hands to cover the front and backverykiasu2010:
you kee chiu with the leaf first ... :rotflmao:
didn't know u also interested! Think I better put a leaf on my back too!!
Then liddat you can't kee chiu oredi cos u need to use both hands to cover the front and backNebbermind:
[quote=\"verykiasu2010\"] you kee chiu with the leaf first ... :rotflmao:
didn't know u also interested! Think I better put a leaf on my back too!!
[/quote]he kee chiu still ok lah but cannot kee kar otherwise all zhou kwang liao :sick: :shock:
pinky:
he kee chiu still ok lah but cannot kee kar otherwise all zhou kwang liao :sick: :shock:
donch anyhow say my kar cannot kee, ok!!! :rant: -
I nebber said your kar cannot kee but asking you to cover up first :slapshead: thank u a million on behalf of all other reading this post :nailbite: (dun want to die of fright early in the morning)pinky:
he kee chiu still ok lah but cannot kee kar otherwise all zhou kwang liao :sick: :shock:
donch anyhow say my kar cannot kee, ok!!! :rant: -
The most effective way (though hardly the most workable) to raise birth rate is to randomly pick Singaporean families from the population and kill off one or all their kids.
Doesn't solve the problem of people who don't marry or don't have any kids to begin with.
Yeah, you are just being tetchy. -
So, what policies specifically in the US, since you are using that as an example, are so different from Singapore that promote a higher TFR? How sure are you that it is down to the policies as opposed to Americans just being more gung-ho and less inclined to being coddled? Evidence is evidence, anecdote is anecdote, and I only see anecdote.
You mean apart from all these people telling them it is? Look at the US total fertility rate. How come it is higher than Singapore's? How come it is going up? You think it is because they have a lower standard of living or is it because it is a less developed economy? Of course, if one does not want to see the evidence, one will never find it. Have they even bothered to do a census to see how many families with 3 or more children have both parents working? I may be wrong, but most of the families I know with 3 or more kids have a SAHM, at least when the children are young.pirate:
[quote=\"3Boys\"]
And pray tell the evidence that the falling birth rate has ANYTHING to do whatsoever with those policies you are critiquing? Who's to say it's not just navel-gazing, lazy, short-sighted Singaporeans displacing blame?
'Suck it up'? I'd say take it or leave it.
What modicum of evidence do you or the government have that it is all because Singaporeans are lazy and short-sighted as you assert?
I have 3 children and no SAHM/D at any stage.
I have absolutely no problem with people who have made it their lifestyle choice not to have children. Its your womb, yer makes your choices as it pleases yer. Also, there are many who try and just cannot conceive. These people have my fullest empathy and I hurt for them.
But let me tell you what p..... me off. Whining griping Singaporeans who choose to blame the g'ment for their own inadequacies. You mean, the g'ment needs to 'incentivise' you to have kids?? Gimme a break!
We had children because it pleases us and we did it without counting the costs or expecting any kind of special treatment from the g'ment. No matter what the g'ment can throw at us, it will never ever make up for the sacrifices that had/have to be made. Neither can the g'ment make up for the joy of bearing and raising the brats.
Its become stylish for people to lay the blame of TFR on the g'ment. \"Oh g'ment must do this, do that, or else....\".
Oh puhleez, you having babies on behalf of the g'ment or for yourself?[/quote] :goodpost: It's true that we have children because we want to not because govm tells me so. -
I really worry for the future, my sense is that Singapore has seen its golden age. There is very little resilience and can-do, just defeatism and complacency amongst the citizenry.
Me too, our children grow up in far better environment than most of we did. They have more than they need. They hardly know what is hardship in life. That is going to be the greatest woe unto them. When the true hardship comes into their life, they are not equipped to deal with it. (sad, sad...)
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.