Angry motorists pull no punches on traffic wardens
is it true that tp warden who issue summon ticket(s) … earn commission ?
so the more summon ticket(s) they issue, they earn more commission ?
anyone know what is the salary of tp warden based on ? -
Imami:
It's not supposed to be french kiss, it's supposed to be flying kiss. But most older generations do not pronounce 'L' properly especially if they are not English educated and thus, the work 'flying' became distorted to 'frying' to 'fren' but really do not think it is 'french'
Laura, I am quite sure those folks don’t say “French kiss”… more likely something like “friend kiss” :rotflmao: :rotflmao:Laura02:
I am not complaining that the law is unjust. In this case, there was no line, white, yellow or otherwise, or for that matter any other marking on the road beyond that said yellow line that terminated behind where I parked my car. Nor is it a single lane road, two cars can comfortably pass one another on that road, even three at a stretch. There are no lane marking on the road, neither are there directional markings, though all cars only drive in one direction on that road because of the way leading in. Maybe somebody forgot, or instructions were not carried out, or the persons who did the road markings just blindly follow without fully understanding what they were suppose to do. That, I find, is a common failing in many who have gone through an Asian education system.
Whatever the reason, I saw a number of cars parked at that same place when I drove past yesterday. So I'm not the only one who has assumed that no marking on the road = can park.
What I'm trying to say is that the persons who are supposed to enforce the law, in this case, traffic wardens, do not know their law (in this case, the highway code). This, I find, is one of the most frustrating aspects of dealing with singapore's bureaucracy.
BTW your reply suggests and implies several interesting scenarios when you comment on leaving the car engines running while the car is stationary.
Imami is right. In this case, there was a misunderstanding of what the term \"suck it up\" ment. It can be an incredibly insulting and demeaning term. And the tone of your reply certainly implied a belligerent stance.
In the same vein, I often cringe when I hear adults urging little toddlers to do a \" French kiss\". I know some French people. They are funny, friendly, warm people who do, indeed, hug and kiss each other on the cheek in greeting. But I'm sure that even they would shudder in horror at the thought of a toddler performing a \"French kiss\". The correct term here is \"blow a kiss\". I leave you with The Merriam -Webster dictionary definition of \"French kiss\" : \"a passionate kiss with the lips parted and the tongues touching.\"
I have share your thoughts on the subject of French kiss. When my kid was an infant, I said “kiss goodbye” as a replacement to “French Kiss”. It just didn’t sound right to me to say “French kiss” to an infant….
Haha. -
What about if you park your car in a parking space but do not get down, just to wait to pick someone up?
Went out with DH to tabao dinner. I parked and stayed in the car while DH went to buy the food. A warden told me to move off or put a coupon. :? -
Whether the car engine is on or not, in a proper lot or not, I hv never had any prob w the warden. All of them just looked into the car and then left me alone.What about if you park your car in a parking space but do not get down, just to wait to pick someone up?
Went out with DH to tabao dinner. I parked and stayed in the car while DH went to buy the food. A warden told me to move off or put a coupon. :? -
Imami:
Engines off, windows down. And definitely parked properly as I am anal about getting my car parked properly in the parking space. :razz:
Whether the car engine is on or not, in a proper lot or not, I hv never had any prob w the warden. All of them just looked into the car and then left me alone.Funz:
What about if you park your car in a parking space but do not get down, just to wait to pick someone up?
Went out with DH to tabao dinner. I parked and stayed in the car while DH went to buy the food. A warden told me to move off or put a coupon. :?
I also find it strange, never had any such issues before. Think he bad mood that day. -
Just in case you miss my point - not properly parked or not leh, I mean in proper parking lot or not. Esp those stretch which requires parallel parking. Usually towards the start or end of the road, the area is not for parking ( no lines drawn for lots). Even when I am in those situation, parking along the road but not in a proper lot, the warden left me alone.
Engines off, windows down. And definitely parked properly as I am anal about getting my car parked properly in the parking space. :razz:Imami:
Whether the car engine is on or not, in a proper lot or not, I hv never had any prob w the warden. All of them just looked into the car and then left me alone.
I also find it strange, never had any such issues before. Think he bad mood that day. -
Proper lot lah.
Just wondering if there is any rule against that. Since there seem to be a lot of rules that many of us are unaware of. -
中了才知道咯。Proper lot lah.
Just wondering if there is any rule against that. Since there seem to be a lot of rules that many of us are unaware of.
But if there is someone in the car, I believe the warden will explain. At least, that's what happen to me so far. -
Laura02:
Oh limlim, must I be explicit? Think of a part of your body that goes up when sucked upon. That's why its so vulgar. Please do not use it when talking to Ang Mo nang.
suck it up as in LLST..limlim:
[quote=\"Imami\"]
Limlim San, I think it is the \"suck it up\" that is causing the prob. I think u just mean \"accept it\".
LLST is vulgar?
Imami is right. I do not know the acronym LLST ...[/quote]But \"suck it up\" in ordinary ang mo usage means to bear with it without complaining. Since when does anatomy come into it? How to help it if some locals have dirty minds and imagine something vulgar?
A warden told me to move off or put a coupon. :?
You have no idea how long I can take to put a coupon.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.