GEP Preparatory Program

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved GEP
    229 Posts 61 Posters 210.6k Views 1 Watching
    • FunzF Offline
      Funz

Was signing the form for the GEP screening test thing and DD was with me. She saw me ticking the ‘yes’ box and went ‘Huh. Dun want lah mummy.’ Asked her why, just go lah, no harm what. She asked me, need to prepare not? Told her no need, just go take the test, like the UNSW. To that she say ‘Orrhhh… ok. Like that I take. But if need to prepare and practise I dun want. And whatever the results, you oso ok one right?’ Asked her if her friends actually do prepare for the test. She said yah, and it is scary the amount of work they do. Everyday, this or that class. One even made a comment asking DD to kill her cos she very stressed. Told her ok, no worries, I have no intention of making her ask her friends to kill her. But I am worried about that friend of hers.

HVR

Was signing the form for the GEP screening test thing and DD was with me. She saw me ticking the 'yes' box and went 'Huh. Dun want lah mummy.' Asked her why, just go lah, no harm what. She asked me, need to prepare not? Told her no need, just go take the test, like the UNSW. To that she say 'Orrhhh.. ok. Like that I take. But if need to prepare and practise I dun want. And whatever the results, you oso ok one right?' Asked her if her friends actually do prepare for the test. She said yah, and it is scary the amount of work they do. Everyday, this or that class. One even made a comment asking DD to kill her cos she very stressed. Told her ok, no worries, I have no intention of making her ask her friends to kill her. But I am worried about that friend of hers.

Why want to stress the child till such extend? From what I know these preparatory courses require the children to pass their 'entrance' test and I take this to mean if you passed, you are more likely to get selected for GEP anyway. It is just like olylimpic heats, you eliminate the inferior performers first. So, why waste money. If our children don't have what it take, it will do more harm than good if they are hothoused into GEP.

ForumWriter

HVR:
          Why want to stress the child till such extend? From what I know these preparatory courses require the children to pass their 'entrance' test and I take this to mean if you passed, you are more likely to get selected for GEP anyway. It is just like olylimpic heats, you eliminate the inferior performers first. So, why waste money. If our children don't have what it take, it will do more harm than good if they are hothoused into GEP.

Sorry, my memory may be a bit fuzzy. But from what I remember, the screening test is more like a usual primary school exam. The screening test can be prepared for, just like any normal exam. However, the selection test is very different in most aspects and cannot be prepared.

GEP students may not score well academically and may have trouble with the screening test, but they may have no problem passing the selection test.

Just saying, not that I'm condoning these preparatory courses in any way. Personally, I think the best form of preparation for both tests is a usually underrated good night's sleep.

baobei

Hmm does that mean GEP student must be good academically to pass te screening test before having a chance to prove that they can do more since they would not be given a chance to go for selection test without passing the screening?

pek.020112taxi

baobei:
              Hmm does that mean GEP student must be good academically to pass te screening test before having a chance to prove that they can do more since they would not be given a chance to go for selection test without passing the screening?

Besides the screening test, maybe MOE should also consider recommendations by school as another avenue to select students for further tests. However, then the school should be provided with some knowledge to identify the right candidates.

pek.taxi:
                baobei:

Besides the screening test, maybe MOE should also consider recommendations by school as another avenue to select students for further tests. However, then the school should be provided with some knowledge to identify the right candidates.

besides identifying the top 1% to be the GEP, the next 4% are given \"differentiated program\" in having more enrichment modules pull out from GEP curriculum for them, some GEP schools have specific High Ability (HA) classes that cater for these kids

there is a reason why GEP school continue to be popular and this is one of the reason. the HA class thingy is an initiative from MOE/GEB that provides more learning opportunities to the highly able kids academically

• doodbugD Offline
                  doodbug

pek.taxi:

[quote=\"baobei\"]Hmm does that mean GEP student must be good academically to pass te screening test before having a chance to prove that they can do more since they would not be given a chance to go for selection test without passing the screening?

besides identifying the top 1% to be the GEP, the next 4% are given \"differentiated program\" in having more enrichment modules pull out from GEP curriculum for them, some GEP schools have specific High Ability (HA) classes that cater for these kids
                  there is a reason why GEP school continue to be popular and this is one of the reason. the HA class thingy is an initiative from MOE/GEB that provides more learning opportunities to the highly able kids academically[/quote]That is true, but it only applies to GEP primary schools. For the 2nd-5th% percentile of children who are in non-GEP schools, differentiated programs may not / do not exist for these kids. (Although I do concede that most schools do stream the children in some way or other, but the top classes I believe do not take guidance from the MOE/GEB) So the HA kids in GEP primary schools are given 'more learning opportunities' in some way - at the very least, interaction with GEP kids. That's another reason why GEP primary schools are very highly sought after by parents.

mummy so kiasu

ezmummy:
                    actually I won't say that the GEPpers are top 1% of the cohort. Son wasn't even top 10 in his school, he still got in.

I personally find that GEPpers are naturally inquisitive and driven in the search for knowledge. If your child is already such, you probably don't even have to send him/her to any courses and he/she will be selected base on his/her own merit.

OTOH, sending courses and too many enrichment classes may actually backfire, quenching his natural thirst to learn.

That's jmho.

Oh, btw, I didn't send son for prep course.
                    It is indeed top 1% base on the GEP test. Those who are strong in Math & English have advantages. Since MT in not included, those who are weak in MT will not have disadvantage. However, they have to do HMT if they are selected for GEP.

• Z Offline
                      zakashi

mummy so kiasu:
                      ezmummy:

actually I won't say that the GEPpers are top 1% of the cohort. Son wasn't even top 10 in his school, he still got in.

I personally find that GEPpers are naturally inquisitive and driven in the search for knowledge. If your child is already such, you probably don't even have to send him/her to any courses and he/she will be selected base on his/her own merit.

OTOH, sending courses and too many enrichment classes may actually backfire, quenching his natural thirst to learn.

That's jmho.

Oh, btw, I didn't send son for prep course.

It is indeed top 1% base on the GEP test. Those who are strong in Math & English have advantages. Since MT in not included, those who are weak in MT will not have disadvantage. However, they have to do HMT if they are selected for GEP.

HMT? That will be tough. Thanks for the info.

keroppi

zakashi:
                        mummy so kiasu:

HMT? That will be tough. Thanks for the info.

Not compulsory to do HMT lah (at least I know that is true at ACS Pri GEP, not sure about the other centres though).

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 5 / 23

EducareTutoringE
                        EducareTutoring