PSLE leave: For or Against?

274 Posts 50 Posters 60.3k Views 1 Watching
      Chenonceau

No worries verykiasumummy. I dun think nms1 intended to question my character. I really didn’t read her that way at all. Given nms1’s background, I rather think she intended it as a compliment. On my part, I very much respect her views.

So errrr… no issue. We’re just disagreeing agreeably.

I just dun quite agree that Singaporean Moms follow the herd so easily, unless there are good reasons. I dunno, if there were really a PSLE forest fire raging away… everyone would head in the same direction - away towards tuition. IF there were no fire at all, I rather think people will just make up their minds which direction to go and it doesn’t matter which direction is labelled what. Hee!

I actually announced to the world that I was going on a trip 2 week’s before DS’ prelims. No Mommy followed my example leh… they simply read their own situations and decided it was unwise for them. They didn’t judge me either for being a bad Mom for abandoning my child. Neither did I judge them for being over kiasu.

Different circumstances.

nms1

verykiasumummy:

[quote=\"nms1\"]
        I agree with you that there is no obligation for people to take leave. The issue is the message that it is sending. Rightly or wrongly, good or bad, some parents will take note of what others do and be influenced by that. By granting special PSLE leave some parents may feel bad if they don't take it, those who were not feeling stressed by the PSLE may start to think they should be. Once it becomes a norm, people feel that they should do what everyone else does.

You are obviously someone who does not follow the crowd but I think you are in a minority in Singapore.

sorry nms1, chen is a very well respected councillor in ksp who always offers good help to many mummies... she is definitely not a minority...

dun let the topic of having or not having psle leave question her character and capability...

Dun think nms1 is questioning Chen's character or capability. She is saying Chen has a mind of her own and not easily influenced and that she thinks most others in Singapore are more easily influenced. Thus Chen being in the minority.[/quote]Thank you Funz!

Chenonceau

verykiasumummy:

oh when i re-read it again, yup perhaps it was not that harsh afterall...

ok delete!
          No no no...no issue at all. Small misunderstanding. It's all good. If we all agreed completely with each other. There is nothing to debate and this forum would be boring. If we disagreed and hated each other for disagreeing, then this forum becomes a hate place.

We disagree. It's ok. Gee... I disagree with hubby quite a bit but I still think he's the best hubby in the world. I disagree with my DD's choice of colours for clothes, but errr... SHE is wearing them.

verykiasumummy

ok if we talk about the majority people, they would be thinking :

"good of cos, more reasons to take leave!"

on the other hand, some will be like :

"heck care!! i’ve got no kid, no psle leave for me!"

there are of cos many others who fall into other categories… that is, not about whether they support or not, they simply oppose the whole idea…

whether or not that ocbc will continue their plans, it still depends on them…

there is no 100% agreeing voices all the time, satisfying 80% is enough, the 20% opposing voices will eventually accept it or can be satisfied in other ways…

verykiasumummy

verykiasumummy:

ok delete!

No no no...no issue at all. Small misunderstanding. It's all good. If we all agreed completely with each other. There is nothing to debate and this forum would be boring. If we disagreed and hated each other for disagreeing, then this forum becomes a hate place.

We disagree. It's ok. Gee... I disagree with hubby quite a bit but I still think he's the best hubby in the world. I disagree with my DD's choice of colours for clothes, but errr... SHE is wearing them.

yup yup.. no issues liao....
              having disagreements makes relationships closer... (that is with our dh)

:grphug: :grphug:

mommylow

verykiasumummy:

[quote=\"verykiasumummy\"]

ok delete!

yup yup.. no issues liao....
                having disagreements makes relationships closer... (that is with our dh)

:grphug: :grphug:[/quote]Haha..... So it's like 不'打'不相识!!!

• FunzF Offline
                  Funz

This is 1 company trying or appear to be trying to do its bit for improving work life balance. It is not at national level. So lets not take this out of context. I like their sabbatical thing but I see this PSLE leave thing as a small improvement and repackaging of existing benefits to score some PR points.

As for the comment about feeding fear, that is another person’s opinion. She is entitled to it.

As I do not believe we are sheeps following the herd blindly, I do not agree with her feeding fear comment. We are discerning parents who will know if it is necessary to take whatever leave needs to be taken for whatever purpose. If there are those who are so easily influenced or affected by everything they see or hear, I feel very sorry for them, they must be so confused.

This is how I see it. Agree or disagree, doesn’t matter. It is great to read all the different views.

verykiasumummy

mommylow:

Haha..... So it's like 不'打'不相识!!!
                    no hoh... we did not 打 each other up...

mommylow

verykiasumummy:
                      mommylow:

斗嘴也是'打' 吗....just kidding lah! :rotflmao:

verykiasumummy

mommylow:
                        verykiasumummy:

[quote=\"mommylow\"]

斗嘴也是'打' 吗....just kidding lah! :rotflmao:[/quote]where got 斗嘴?? like that very 暧昧 leh.... my dh will get jealous.... hahaha.. :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao:

btw, seems like more ppl vote \"for\" rather than \"against\"....

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 11 / 28

P1 Registration 2027 Changes
                        DSA Discussions and Strategies
                        SkillsFuture course recommendations