Hi Andaiz
Her passport expires beg Sep 2010 and her contract ends June 2010.
I also dont understand why she wanna have her passport renewed that soon. -
It takes about 6 weeks if she do it in the Philippines. But I also dun understand why she need to renew her pp this soon.
Hi there…now I know why!
Checked with my Filipina colleague. The PP has to be valid for at least 6 months prior to travel (assuming your maid wants to go home) after contract ends - even for a hol.
More importantly, there’s this new machine-readable (maroon instead of current green) pp needs to replace the old one before January 2010.
I didn’t receive any notification from MOM about this so not sure what will happen to the green ones after this date.
I’ve just checked with my agent about my new helper and she holds the maroon one so there may be some truth in this. -
mommyNg:
Errr, mommyng, I will not be a good maid :oops:
Hi kiasimom, would you accept my sincere invitation to be my \"maid\" in sunny-California?! :lol: Ha ha! I need to be there between Feb - May next year with no help, and I'm thinking of lugging my 4-year-old there while leaving my 7-year-old behind in Singapore....kiasimom:
That's why I am seriously considering to join my ILs in America or Canada

But I will be the maid! :!:
I am spoilt rotten by DH :lol: -
KopiYing:
If she renews her passport, she will be the one to pay for it. it is her passport, not yours!Hi Andaiz
I also dont understand why she wanna have her passport renewed that soon.
It is cheaper to do it in Philippines.
If you do it in Singapore, it is a pain! Trust me. I have been through that.
I don't know how she is going to apply for a new passport ( not renew as it will be a new passport ).
My previous maid apply under the condition that she is a FDW and we have to produce many documents.
So, my advice is to ask her to check with the embassy first.
You still have plenty of time to do that. -
kiasimom:
For Indon maid it's definitely much easier & cheaper to renew it in SG.
If she renews her passport, she will be the one to pay for it. it is her passport, not yours!KopiYing:
Hi Andaiz
I also dont understand why she wanna have her passport renewed that soon.
It is cheaper to do it in Philippines.
If you do it in Singapore, it is a pain! Trust me. I have been through that.
I don't know how she is going to apply for a new passport ( not renew as it will be a new passport ).
My previous maid apply under the condition that she is a FDW and we have to produce many documents.
So, my advice is to ask her to check with the embassy first.
You still have plenty of time to do that.
For Philipines they need to go to the 'city' and not many of them stay near the city. If they go to the office near their village, it's more exp & takes alot longer.
It's up to the maid if she wants to renew it here, as long as you are not renewing her passport, it's up to her to settle it. You are not obliged to help her with it. -
Hey mummies out there, think you may have missed my post about machine-readable (maroon) Filipino PP. Here it is again, but best to check with the PH embassy:
Andaiz:
Christmas is coming so expect some delays in processing leh!Hi there...now I know why!
Checked with my Filipina colleague. The PP has to be valid for at least 6 months prior to travel (assuming your maid wants to go home) after contract ends - even for a hol.
More importantly, there's this new machine-readable (maroon instead of current green) pp needs to replace the old one before January 2010.
I didn't receive any notification from MOM about this so not sure what will happen to the green ones after this date.
I've just checked with my agent about my new helper and she holds the maroon one so there may be some truth in this.
I lost extra 5 days waiting for my new maid's visa processing to be complete coz the PH embassy here literally stopped work during the APEC week and when Arroyo was in town...talk about efficiency. :stupid: :stupid: :stupid:
When the maids renew the passport at the Indonesian Embassy, the employer must sign a working contract.
Here is a section of the contract that you must sign at the embassy. The last statement says that the employer must pay for the total cost of the maid's passport and working agreement contract.http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_w1nyHWTEh94/SygKZbOKwPI/AAAAAAAABYg/jAaIdOPxIhc/s1600/DSCF7586.JPG\">
Now it costs only $50 to renew the Indonesian maid's passport. Read the details in my blog :
http://singaporemaid.blogspot.com/2008/02/renewing-maids-work-permit-and-passport.html -
kiasimom:
Ha ha! Just joking lah :lol: ! No, I'm arranging for a part-time nanny/babysitter. But feel free to contact me if you are visiting there then!Errr, mommyng, I will not be a good maid :oops:
I am spoilt rotten by DH :lol: -
Tamarind,
That’s what I thought so too. Employers are supposed to be the one paying for the renewal of passport.
Wow! Kiasimom
So nice your hubby spoil you rotten. My hubby says "its better for you to work!" Sigh! We lead so different lives.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.