PSLE leave: For or Against?

274 Posts 50 Posters 56.0k Views 1 Watching
      limlim

I had the impression that much of the debate is on JT’s comment whether it is valid?

Those were in the first post right?

So…

For => disagree with JT

Against => Agree with JT.

Not like that meh?

BeContented

Dnls_mum:

Friend wanted to get out...approached principal of school and was informed that once accept DSA, even if PSLE results are very good, the child has to abide by rules...that is, STAY.

When she heard of this DSA thing, she just thought of skipping O levels and secure a place for son in order to reduce stress before taking PSLE.
        Apologies if i mix up IP and DSA :oops: :razz: my son done with PSLE and I still don't know anything about these terms. Personally I believe in safe route...to be kiasi.

Actually DSA in, still can trf is sec 2 if have prob. Principal can still stop meh? I thot they only don't allow u to change your mind at the S1 selection ex after PSLE result is out if you DSA in. :?

Attended one of the DSA talk by the school's principal.....this is my understanding.

a) IP DSA --> Transfer to another IP ---> Strictly NO.
        You can try and principal can't stop you, but accordingly, the other school is not allowed to accept your transfer once you are a DSA student - irregardless of which year you try.
        Possible Exception : DSA in via competitive sports, suffered injury and cannot participate anymore.....

b) IP DSA --> Transfer to 'O' levels --> Yes.

c) IP via PSLE --> Transfer to another IP school --> Yes.

BeContented

kwcllf:

Some schools have dual tracks and you can switch either in Sec 1 or 2.

as far as i know, only IP-IB schools have dual track but not IP-Alevels. is it because IP-IB is tougher? :scared:

Dun scare me leh. DS accepted his CO liao........ 😓 :scared:

mamago

Dnls_mum:

Friend wanted to get out...approached principal of school and was informed that once accept DSA, even if PSLE results are very good, the child has to abide by rules...that is, STAY.

When she heard of this DSA thing, she just thought of skipping O levels and secure a place for son in order to reduce stress before taking PSLE.
            Apologies if i mix up IP and DSA :oops: :razz: my son done with PSLE and I still don't know anything about these terms. Personally I believe in safe route...to be kiasi.

Actually DSA in, still can trf is sec 2 if have prob. Principal can still stop meh? I thot they only don't allow u to change your mind at the S1 selection ex after PSLE result is out if you DSA in. :?

Actually, if the DC DSAed to an IP school that are doing A levels, DC can still sit for O Level as private candidate if deemed necessary, as the O/A curriculum are relevant. (i.e. RI, HCI)

Unless DC has DSAed to an IB program (International Baccalaureate) high school, which is doing the IB diploma of 6 years (i.e. ACSI); the IB curriculum is different from GCE O/A Level, so taking O level may not be an option; nonetheless DC can still opt for IGCSE at year 2 or 4.

mamago

BeContented:

[quote=\"kwcllf\"]
              Some schools have dual tracks and you can switch either in Sec 1 or 2.

as far as i know, only IP-IB schools have dual track but not IP-Alevels. is it because IP-IB is tougher? :scared:

Dun scare me leh. DS accepted his CO liao........ 😓 :scared:[/quote]
              Yes, IB (International Baccalaureate) is tougher for our SG children cos our 6 years primary school syllabus is sort of modeled for continuation into GCE O/A Levels in secondary schools...

But, don't worry, BeContented; they will do just fine... IB is a better program to prepare them for their future challenges. :celebrate:

limlim

PSLE leave talk became DSA or IP talk… whatever it is…

mamago

PSLE leave talk became DSA or IP talk.. whatever it is....

Nebbermind lah... it's still education/PSLE related mah.... :imanangel:

kwcllf

mamago:

PSLE leave talk became DSA or IP talk.. whatever it is....

Glory mum not in. If not, will get :offtopic: :offtopic: :spank: :rotflmao:

jtoh

DHS has an O level class for students who can't cope with IP. I think HCI had it too but not sure if it's still around. Starting next year, schools like SCGS, SNGS, CHS, Cedar etc will all have dual tracks.

KoalaMummy

kwcllf:
                        mamago:

[quote=\"limlim\"]PSLE leave talk became DSA or IP talk.. whatever it is....

Glory mum not in. If not, will get :offtopic: :offtopic: :spank: :rotflmao:[/quote]scarli tmr when we log in, these OT post would have been 'shifted' to the appropriate 'home'... that's the efficiency of KSP mobs here... :rahrah:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 26 / 28