mummyscorpio,
In your case need to tackle the reading issue. It is frustrating for him because he does not understand the text and probably he couldn’t understand most of the test paper since he is unable to recognise the chi characters.
If you have the 四五快读, I think use that will help. -
Hi SAHM,mummyscorpio,
In your case need to tackle the reading issue. It is frustrating for him because he does not understand the text and probably he couldn't understand most of the test paper since he is unable to recognise the chi characters.
If you have the 四五快读, I think use that will help.
went popular that day to take a look at the 四五快读. But they dun have the full set leh... only see #2,4 and 7 i think.... -
mummyscopio:
I think some parents are selling theirs. You can chk the garage sales thread.
Hi SAHM,SAHM_TAN:
mummyscorpio,
In your case need to tackle the reading issue. It is frustrating for him because he does not understand the text and probably he couldn't understand most of the test paper since he is unable to recognise the chi characters.
If you have the 四五快读, I think use that will help.
went popular that day to take a look at the 四五快读. But they dun have the full set leh... only see #2,4 and 7 i think.... -
mummyscopio:
During the holidays, you could run through Xuele Edumall with him? It is more interactive and you can get him to point out the characters which he doesnt recognize? the animations make it fun hence it won't get too boring for him.Heehee. DaddyD...
He already no interest cos cannot read... So i'm going to psyco him.. And tell him that he'll find it fun, once he can read and find himself able to do it....
Hope it works...
Do you know which section did he lose marks in? and do you have a copier/scanner @home? recommend to xerox a copy of his paper and go through the parts which he doesn't understand. -
Yalor.... Dd came back n say sch library can only use the student card, not the NLB card.
At NLB libraries would be able to retrieve BC from NLB lib card. But school lib system should not be able to retrieve BC from NLB library card.bigsnoopy:
Can received BC number from Library card la...
Passion card confirm can cos i use passion card to borrow books from NLB...
Not sure why your school library system is able to do so.
Have to try the photostat method suggested by jedamum Liao :razz: -
mummyscopio,
Is it also becos the school set a very difficult Chi paper? -
Do you know which section did he lose marks in? and do you have a copier/scanner @home? recommend to xerox a copy of his paper and go through the parts which he doesn't understand.
Hi Kissgurami..
That's a wonderful idea... i'll do that!
suddenly have this funny feeling... i can teach classes of 30+ \"tail-end\" students... but i cannot teach 1 son at home...
think my patience really is for certain people only... have to work on that!!
resolution for 2013: be patient to those closest to me!!!
mummyscopio,
Is it also becos the school set a very difficult Chi paper?
Actually yes....
Term 3 test was even more difficult.... send to my ex-colleagues who all agree with me that it was P3 standard...
reflected to the HOD... but she insisted that there was nothing wrong with the paper... and its the standard of over all students (i not very sure of this cos i never asked other parents)
then as expected she started saying that my son is not attentive in class and always not focus.... and mentioned a lot of negative remarks about my son...
i am not in denial.. i know my son very well... i know he tends to wander off when he is not interested... and since the HOD wish to use that to \"cover\" the fact that the test was poorly set... i don't think i need to say much to her anymore...
the fact is since P1 by right do not have to sit for proper exams... the sch kinda set a test paper for the sake of testing and giving some sort of results for parents to know the progress of their learning... schools start to do away with the proper \"1 setter, 3 vetters\" paper setting process.... hence the standard of the test paper is not justified...
when i asked the HOD if the children was taught all the p3 vocabulary before them were tested... she kept saying it was daily work....
so i just told the HOD:
\"the teacher only returned the activity book twice in 3 terms.... many pages not done... when i asked the teacher she told me that the class ability is a little low... many activities cannot be carried out.... i totally agree with her... so i do home teaching for those pages not done...
there was no additional worksheets given for the class... maybe the teachings of p3 words are really daily work... maybe i just do get to see them cos books and file are not return for parents checking...
but then again... if the class cannot complete activities in the activity book... do u think their daily work can be at P3 level??\"
then she say she need to cater to the over-all standard of the students...
so i just mention that i would appreciate if she could spare a thought for the low ability chinese students... they are only in P1... their confidence level need to be build.. and not crushed right in the first year... -
wow mummyscopio, which school does your ds go to? The chi std very high, teaching P3 char when P1 is more the bridging stage.
is Qihua if I am not wrong.
Surprised, maybe they wish to adopt the \"top schools\" and be on par? even then they could learn and segment the students accordingly to teach accordingly to their abilities.
Now I am so curious about the paper!!! :rotflmao:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.