Pei Chun Public
The briefing was on 25th October and the children need to hand in the forms by 2 November. Yes I agree that this briefing is crucial but puzzled why it has not been conducted any earlier.
Callie Tan:
The briefing was on 25th October and the children need to hand in the forms by 2 November. Yes I agree that this briefing is crucial but puzzled why it has not been conducted any earlier.
I am puzzled too. I totally agree that this briefing should be conducted earlier (before the Niche CCA was offered) so that children and parents can make a decision. -
And another puzzling thing is the briefing only involve the children… For me, I have to "squeeze" whatever information my DD can remember so as to know more about the few CCAs…
Callie Tan:
And another puzzling thing is the briefing only involve the children... For me, I have to \"squeeze\" whatever information my DD can remember so as to know more about the few CCAs...
haha .. at least you are able to \"squeeze\" from yr DD. My son was not well that day and did not attend school. I totally got no clue about it. Anyway, I have opted for sports class for him and will not be considering any other CCA for him
Btw, are you opting for the swimming class? I will most probably opt out cos I am concerned with the ratio 1:10. -
Hi mummies
When it comes to PC communication, i really find myself swimming in murky waters most of e time...
Talking abt swimming....For the SwimSafer Prog, is it meant to be for beginner swimmers or any level? Not much info was given.
Looks like the P3 students will have to stay back after school for at least 3 days a week (Wed-CCA, Thur-swim, Fri-Chinese enrichment class?)??
And on PTC, do they only hold it once a year? I rem'ber i only went in June last yr and May this yr...
Also dont even know how the new principal looks like...sigh... :faint: -
iLoveChubby:
Yes, PTC is only once a year as far as I know. My kid is P3 this yearHi mummies
When it comes to PC communication, i really find myself swimming in murky waters most of e time...
Talking abt swimming....For the SwimSafer Prog, is it meant to be for beginner swimmers or any level? Not much info was given.
Looks like the P3 students will have to stay back after school for at least 3 days a week (Wed-CCA, Thur-swim, Fri-Chinese enrichment class?)??
And on PTC, do they only hold it once a year? I rem'ber i only went in June last yr and May this yr...
Also dont even know how the new principal looks like...sigh... :faint:
Hi -
angie69:
Oh ya... I totally forgotten about the P3s have to start swimming lessons! Is it compulsory? So how do we opt out?? My girl is already having private swimming lessons... she is already at swim safer stage 3...Callie Tan:
And another puzzling thing is the briefing only involve the children... For me, I have to \"squeeze\" whatever information my DD can remember so as to know more about the few CCAs...
haha .. at least you are able to \"squeeze\" from yr DD. My son was not well that day and did not attend school. I totally got no clue about it. Anyway, I have opted for sports class for him and will not be considering any other CCA for him
Btw, are you opting for the swimming class? I will most probably opt out cos I am concerned with the ratio 1:10.
Yes with soooo little information given to children as well as parents only in the last 2 weeks of the school, I think a lot of parents might also facing issues in the selection of CCAs. In fact, recently my girl brought back a feedback form on the school's entire operation system and I gave very frank and honest opinions.... My girl is in PCPS for 2 full years and seriously, I can say now that the school's communication channel and efforts put in to reach out to parents are below average.... very very disappointing. -
iLoveChubby:
I share the same sentiments... a lot of the time, I have to get information through this forum because I have no clue at all as to what is going on!! Eg. my recent CCA and DSA issues. Totally no idea at all!! The school never give any info on this aspect. This year was really worst than last year.... as my girl's chinese teacher and form teacher were all on maternity one after another in March and Oct... I can see that her lessons are a bit disorganized... quite upset.Hi mummies
Also dont even know how the new principal looks like...sigh... :faint:
Is it a norm to only have one Parent-Teacher meeting in a year?? What are the other schools' practise? I would prefer to have it 2 times a year... at least we can hear from the same teachers to know whether any improvements etc at the end of the year. I doubt many parents have ever met the principal at all... Actually why the communiation so lag huh? Just cannot comprehend!! My friends told me that their DDs or DSs schools all very responsive and always full of PN to constantly update parents about the whats-going-on in school...
SwimSafer got a few levels according to my understanding... but it is the beginning towards the bronze, silver and gold stage...My girl is at level 3 of swimsafer programme.
The children have to stay back at least 2 times a week for HCL and the CCA. I think for the 1st half of P3, still ok. For some CCAs, trainings may step up (when there are competitions) and the kids might have to stay back 3-4 times a week by then. Quite tedious hor? Btw, is it a norm (again) for HCL to be conducted after normal school hours? What are the arrangements for other schools? -
Hi All
The swimming lesson is not compulsory and you can opt out. I opted out for DS who is doing his private swim safer lessons. There are other lessons like Malay language which I opted out too. Hope this will clear the doubt on swimming.
There is this a program mandated by MOE - known as Learning Journey. I recalled my DS went for some activities at the science centre as part of LJ and there were only two LJ activities during this entire year. LJ programs are conducted on Wednesday.
I have not heard of other schools making their students stay back for HC. School like Kong Hwa who also does HC, dun make their students stay back. Seems like PCPS is the only one. Well, if you think positively, the extra HC is in fact beneficial to our children because there are too many components that they may not have enough time to cover during the normal school hours given that each period is only 30mins. I understand from my DS that during the extra hours, they will drill the children in compo, lc and also textbook learning. Also, just take note, for PCPS CL compo, the P3 will still do one picture compo when many schools are already doing 4 pictures come P3. This may be a bit confusing for the child especially those who does group tuition because group tution normally prepares the child for 4 pictures.
Communication - Sick and tired complaining about this issue. For the whole entire year, I only received one communication from our FT. We had a v good FT during P1 and 2 whom will drop parents emails and SMSs on important communications and even season greetings. The FT was always easily available to attend to our queries. But, not anymore this year. My conclusion is - Different teachers work differently. If lucky, you get a devoted one. Our FT this year simply bochap. My DS has been complaining of her since day one and when I was there for the PTS, I found out that other parents have the same comment.
Callie - I did not see any feedback form. When was that given to your DD? I must ask my DS today. -
Hi iluvjr2,
Thank you so much again… am really thankful that PCPS parents are always ready to share in this forum.
May I check is there a column in the CCA form to indicate our intention to opt out from swimming? How to opt out??
Yes LJ I know!! hehehe… my P2 girl is going to Jacobs Ballas @ Botanic Gardens next week as part of the LJ programme. However I didn’t know it is mandatory by MOE… thought it is an initiative by PCPS.
Initially I have no qualms about staying back on friday for HCL. However, when I was trying to arrange my girl’s enrichment classes I start to realize that all afternoons will all be taken up eventually… just a bit concerned that my girl will be burnt out… but this is something I have to teach her to cope with lah… Yes everything must think positively!!
Oh Oh but this 01 picture VS 04 pictures compo thingy is something I don’t know at all!! Why the difference in PCPS??? How did you know this?
Yes I do agree that different teachers work differently, and the teachers’ workloads are heavy. However, consistent communication with the parents is essential… need not be weekly but a monthly email would be good. An email to 30 students’ parents… I think it’s worth the effort mah. And according to my friends with kids in ACS, MGS and SCGS, they said that the school does set some min guidelines for all FTs to follow… to ensure that FTs know what to be expected of them.
I filled up the form last week… it’s a green form… asking questions like what we think of PCPS efforts in cultivating a holistic character in our kids etc… Totally have no idea what the school has done for these areas how am I supposed to rate?? So instead of rating, I put " I don’t know" in most questions…
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.