:nunchuk: dun play play ok :rotflmao:
Wah... U ε§θθιΎ one... Dun play play... :razz:
anyways, all the best to your DD's paper tomorrow!! :boogie: -
hmm DD1 doesn't read Chinese books... think it was her 1st time borrowing books from school but the difference is... we spoke to her in chinese and English since birth.....and whenever we point to something, it would be in chinese and english...Daddy

[quote=\"Lenny08\"]I think our children lacks reading...
Cos' our NLB η Chinese books are quite CMI... :faint:
Next, I made DD1 use her chinese dictionary actively. I would say DD2 word recogition is on par with DD1 as she read the εδΊεΏ«θ―»
It is definitely one of those languages which requires more involvement and effort.
[/quote]I slack on the four five quick read... Think must start again.. Haiz... :slapshead:
DD chinese unit review also tomoro...
:nunchuk: dun play play ok :rotflmao:Daddy

Wah... U ε§θθιΎ one... Dun play play... :razz:
anyways, all the best to your DD's paper tomorrow!! :boogie:
:yikes: :faint:I'm starting to think there's double standards for Eng and Chi leh. For Eng we don't seem that hang up abt P1 std or not. For reading we are ok to \"push\" the child to read Harry Potter by P1 but for Chi we seem to be very particular abt whether it's P1 std or not. I mean for both languages I would think the aim is to build the word bank as much as possible. Maybe it's easier for Eng becos most of the words the kids can decipher using phonics but Chi unless the HYPY is printed below the characters, it's very much char recognition.
This is not abt mummyscopio's situation. But it triggered me thinking abt how we view the 2 languages.
Maybe we should free our minds. Maybe there's no std. :siam:
Still say never do anything. DS is only reading Geronimo Stilton and Andrew Lost series.
Stress......stress..... -
LOL! she is citing an example!
:yikes: :faint:
Still say never do anything. DS is only reading Geronimo Stilton and Andrew Lost series.
Stress......stress.....
DD1 is also reading Geronimo Stilton and recently started with Judy Moody. Likes of Harry Potter is still far far far away :oops: -
:rotflmao: Not my dd1 lah. She's not there yet, but I'm working, working towards a goal :rotflmao:
:yikes: :faint:SAHM_TAN:
I'm starting to think there's double standards for Eng and Chi leh. For Eng we don't seem that hang up abt P1 std or not. For reading we are ok to \"push\" the child to read Harry Potter by P1 but for Chi we seem to be very particular abt whether it's P1 std or not. I mean for both languages I would think the aim is to build the word bank as much as possible. Maybe it's easier for Eng becos most of the words the kids can decipher using phonics but Chi unless the HYPY is printed below the characters, it's very much char recognition.
This is not abt mummyscopio's situation. But it triggered me thinking abt how we view the 2 languages.
Maybe we should free our minds. Maybe there's no std. :siam:
Stress......stress..... -
Sahm is saying some P1 kids started reading Harry Potter lieow... :scared: :yikes: :nailbite: :faint:
:rotflmao: Not my dd1 lah. She's not there yet -
Ooooo okee fairy dust for your DD too
:love:
Ooooo okee fairy dust for your DD toobigsnoopy:

Kiss,
I need double dose, dd1 has maths tmr and eng 2nd Nov. :please:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.