Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Domestic Help
    10.3k Posts 915 Posters 3.6m Views 1 Watching
      peapot

Hi Andaiz,

I suppose you have a new helper now? How’s the new maid? Good?

• qmsQ Offline
        qms

tamarind:
        Since then, I don't remember that there were any maids being executed, they could always find some reasons like employers abused them blah blah blah and they get away with life sentences.

Maids get away because they have the embassy to support them. For any serious case, the embassies will exert pressure to ensure these maids, their citizens, get to go back to their home country, instead of being punished in Singapore. Nothing wrong with that because the embassies are protecting their own citizens. But for the poor Singaporeans who suffered or died in the hands of these maids, 😐 .

kiasimom

That's why I say our gahmen should do something to protect our interests.

A win win situation not one sided victory 😢

Andaiz

peapot:
            Hi Andaiz,

I suppose you have a new helper now? How's the new maid? Good?
            Peapot, thanks. New helper here for over a week. Smart cookie learns fast but I believe she's got bigger ambitions - which may not be a bad thing but will probably have to change after contract ends lo! 😢 So far, a bit of smart alecky (so gotta rein her in but not too tightly), doesn't ask questions 😛 , everything oso \"okay\" :roll: ...smiles a lot (which is an improvement from HRH's black face 🙏 )

Like I posted earlier, in her previous job in Jordan, she had to take care of the children so she tends to raise her voice a notch when she speaks to them...I firmly told her not to do so...claims she didn't but I told her I distinctly heard her...so please don't do it again. End of discussion!

Andaiz

kiasimom:

our gahmen, dear sista, is busy protecting the interests of our retirees with their CPF withdrawals and Mandating them not to squander the money; plus bettering the interest of young families through 4 month paid maternity plus all other baby bonus $$$ payouts.
              Incidentally, just wondering if they open up for comments and input to the new budget, whether there'd be any special cat for domestic helpers' employers :?

It's Christmas afterall, I'm entitled to some day-dreaming eh?

tamarind

Andaiz:
                kiasimom:

our gahmen, dear sista, is busy protecting the interests of our retirees with their CPF withdrawals and Mandating them not to squander the money; plus bettering the interest of young families through4 month pay...
                Incidentally, just wondering if they open up for comments and input to the new budget, whether there'd be any special cat for domestic helpers' employers :?

It's Christmas afterall, I'm entitled to some day-dreaming eh?

The gahmen still do not understand that how important a good maid is to a full time working mommy, and that the falling birth rate is directly related to the difficulty of finding a good maid.

Many women do not dare to employ maids, and so they choose not to have babies, or only have one baby.

Andaiz

tamarind:

The gahmen still do not understand that how important a good maid is to a full time working mommy, and that the falling birth rate is directly related to the difficulty of finding a good maid.

Many women do not dare to employ maids, and so they choose not to have babies, or only have one baby.
                  Time to wake up their ideas...or is there no statistics to back up this very intuitive co-relation... 😛 😛 😛 Too bad i'm neither a scholar or a gahmen servant

peapot

Alot of "good" maids I know uses Singapore as a stepping stone. After they worked here for 2 years, they apply jobs to work in countries like Norway, Sweden, Canada, HongKong etc Over there, their salary is easily $1500 and above. But there are some maids who are smarter, during the 2 years they worked here they will try to apply jobs in singapore. Once they find a job here, they will leave and apply S-pass to re-enter Singapore. For a S-pass holder, MOM’s regulations is they must earn at least $1800 and above.

MOM officer told me that they have approved some cases where these girls were working as maids before and they re-enter as S-pass.

I guess when maids know of such cases from their friend, they don’t take their jobs seriously because they know there is a "back-up" plan.

The question is if these maids comes back as S-pass, do they really get $1800 salary? I do not know how much Watsons or boutiques pays their sales promoter an hour. Even if they do get $1800, food and lodgings is by themselves, I wonder if its still worth their while??

loner

I was told by my maid that alot of them r in fact \"hanging around\" in Sing. to look for \"husband\" T

Their \"target\" is either Singaporean man or the \"whites\". She said that some maids/S pass holder will have their \"Blangadesh\"man just as a \"temporary\" boyfriend but their real target is as mentioned above...

peapot:
                      Alot of \"good\" maids I know uses Singapore as a stepping stone. After they worked here for 2 years, they apply jobs to work in countries like Norway, Sweden, Canada, HongKong etc Over there, their salary is easily $1500 and above. But there are some maids who are smarter, during the 2 years they worked here they will try to apply jobs in singapore. Once they find a job here, they will leave and apply S-pass to re-enter Singapore. For a S-pass holder, MOM's regulations is they must earn at least $1800 and above.

MOM officer told me that they have approved some cases where these girls were working as maids before and they re-enter as S-pass.

I guess when maids know of such cases from their friend, they don't take their jobs seriously because they know there is a \"back-up\" plan.

The question is if these maids comes back as S-pass, do they really get $1800 salary? I do not know how much Watsons or boutiques pays their sales promoter an hour. Even if they do get $1800, food and lodgings is by themselves, I wonder if its still worth their while??

mrswongtuition

My parents had a Filipina maid who looked after me when I was in upper primary. She came to SG to ‘husband hunt’. She’s very close to my classmate’s maid as I often go over to her house to play after school and my mum will send my maid over to pick me up.

On her off-days, she’ll actually go to Orchard Road and sit at Starbucks to ‘wait’ for opportunity to chat guys up.

When she ended her contract with us, she went back to Philippines for 2 months and came back to SG, already married to an expatriate working in SG with PR. Now, she’s living in a nice condo in Grange Road with 3 beautiful children.

We still keep in contact with her and she’s helped to babysit my boy before (when we were in the midst of changing maids previously).

Although that maid came to my family with a ‘motive’, we are still happy for her as her work attitude was not bad. Ultimately, they came here for a better life, whether to get a better job or to get a husband or simply just to work hard for our families.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 92 / 1032