Travel: USA - Florida/Orlando

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Holiday Ideas
    423 Posts 47 Posters 216.6k Views 1 Watching
      iluvjr2

Dnls_mum:
      iluvjr2:

Hmmm.. sounds interesting. How do u custom made the costume? From Disney? I intend to bring along another pair of shoes for DD on that day. But just want to make my package worth if it includes the shoes.

So we are gng to be on the same flight, dep ICN on 13 Dec.

Even if u bring your own shoes, if you package includes it, they'll still give it to you. No worries πŸ™‚

The custom orders are not from Disney but from some people who are sewing at home. Disney is a big thing in the US and Disney costumes and themed clothes very popular. I find those costumes available at the store even at Disney itself are of poor quality and not always the most comfortable. So I decided to custom make for DD. we have received her rapunzel dress and it is great. It is of good cotton material with beautiful texture and the long sleeve can come off and so she can wear the dress on other occasions too. So I have ordered another belle sundress which will be send directly to our hotel. Other stuff I got for her from another tailor are tshirt and skirts with Disney appliquΓ©s :). I think it is quite difficult to imagine a non gown costume which can wear on other occasions. I'll post some of the pictures here some other time πŸ™‚

Is there a website that I find out more about these custom-made costume. Can you pm me. TIA. πŸ˜‚

Dnls_mum

iluvjr2:
        Dnls_mum:

[quote=\"iluvjr2\"]

Hmmm.. sounds interesting. How do u custom made the costume? From Disney? I intend to bring along another pair of shoes for DD on that day. But just want to make my package worth if it includes the shoes.

So we are gng to be on the same flight, dep ICN on 13 Dec.

Even if u bring your own shoes, if you package includes it, they'll still give it to you. No worries πŸ™‚

The custom orders are not from Disney but from some people who are sewing at home. Disney is a big thing in the US and Disney costumes and themed clothes very popular. I find those costumes available at the store even at Disney itself are of poor quality and not always the most comfortable. So I decided to custom make for DD. we have received her rapunzel dress and it is great. It is of good cotton material with beautiful texture and the long sleeve can come off and so she can wear the dress on other occasions too. So I have ordered another belle sundress which will be send directly to our hotel. Other stuff I got for her from another tailor are tshirt and skirts with Disney appliquΓ©s :). I think it is quite difficult to imagine a non gown costume which can wear on other occasions. I'll post some of the pictures here some other time πŸ™‚

Is there a website that I find out more about these custom-made costume. Can you pm me. TIA. πŸ˜‚[/quote]You are probably too late to order custom dresses now. Need to book the popular ones months in advance. Maybe tshirts still barely make it. Will PM you.

Dnls_mum

GLORYmum:

You are a Orlando genius. I am taking down all your sharings about Orlando for our trip next year. Is weather more comfortable to go in June or November ?

Oops so sorry I posted this on the wrong thread. Flower eyes Liao. Pardon me dear MOD.

Kindly reply in the appropriate thread. Soli.
          Thanks for your compliment Glorymum. :oops: hope you had a great trip to UK and bought lots of stuff πŸ™‚

June, July, Aug are summer months in Orlando and weather is generally hot and humid like Singapore with showers in the afternoon. Hurricane season officially starts in June but normally happens in Aug. Due to weather seasons, you can get lower hotel prices or packages. Star Wars weekend happens in June at Hollywood Studios.

I personally prefer Nov, after thanksgiving, to the week before Christmas. Thanksgiving is a big holiday in the US and so the parks are very crowded Thankgiving weekend. Then crowds die down and start picking up for the next big holiday, Christmas. If you cannot go this period, then maybe early Nov, first and second wk before Thanksgiving. You may hit Jersey Week, a one week school break for Jersey, but at least only one state on holiday. Epcot also has the food and wine festival in early nov, so crowds at Epcot could be higher. They normally have special events during lower seasons to bring in the people.

The other advantage of late Nov to early Dec is that all the Christmas decorations are up and the various special Christmas programs will be on too. These are normally put up a week after Halloween, will also be around by second week of Nov. It is pretty with all the Christmas deco.

The weather in Nov is generally cool around 15 to 20+ but sometimes does drop below 10 for a few days if the cold front comes in. Still, I think it's great weather for theme parks.

We love the late nov to dec period, that's why we are going again this time round :love:

Oh, I need to add that first wk of dec is pop Warner week. It's some cheerleading competition. The kids and their family normally stay in one of the value resorts, and perhaps a moderate. Disney designates specific resorts for them. I have read some complaints that they can be noisy. But the last time I went Orlando, I did not encounter them since I stayed at a deluxe resort. The parks don't seem to be affected by their presence since they don't really spend much time in the parks, as they have practices during the day at the world of sports.

• G Offline
            GLORYmum

Dnls_mum:
            GLORYmum:

You are a Orlando genius. I am taking down all your sharings about Orlando for our trip next year. Is weather more comfortable to go in June or November ?

Oops so sorry I posted this on the wrong thread. Flower eyes Liao. Pardon me dear MOD.

Kindly reply in the appropriate thread. Soli.

Thanks for your compliment Glorymum. :oops: hope you had a great trip to UK and bought lots of stuff πŸ™‚

June, July, Aug are summer months in Orlando and weather is generally hot and humid like Singapore with showers in the afternoon. Hurricane season officially starts in June but normally happens in Aug. Due to weather seasons, you can get lower hotel prices or packages. Star Wars weekend happens in June at Hollywood Studios.

I personally prefer Nov, after thanksgiving, to the week before Christmas. Thanksgiving is a big holiday in the US and so the parks are very crowded Thankgiving weekend. Then crowds die down and start picking up for the next big holiday, Christmas. If you cannot go this period, then maybe early Nov, first and second wk before Thanksgiving. You may hit Jersey Week, a one week school break for Jersey, but at least only one state on holiday. Epcot also has the food and wine festival in early nov, so crowds at Epcot could be higher. They normally have special events during lower seasons to bring in the people.

The other advantage of late Nov to early Dec is that all the Christmas decorations are up and the various special Christmas programs will be on too. These are normally put up a week after Halloween, will also be around by second week of Nov. It is pretty with all the Christmas deco.

The weather in Nov is generally cool around 15 to 20+ but sometimes does drop below 10 for a few days if the cold front comes in. Still, I think it's great weather for theme parks.

We love the late nov to dec period, that's why we are going again this time round :love:

Oh, I need to add that first wk of dec is pop Warner week. It's some cheerleading competition. The kids and their family normally stay in one of the value resorts, and perhaps a moderate. Disney designates specific resorts for them. I have read some complaints that they can be noisy. But the last time I went Orlando, I did not encounter them since I stayed at a deluxe resort. The parks don't seem to be affected by their presence since they don't really spend much time in the parks, as they have practices during the day at the world of sports.

Who else to turn to for advice on holidaying in Orlando but you ... And you deserve a golden tablet for your contributions and sharing on this topic in particular. :thankyou:

Possible if you could kindly pm to me your itinerary including hotel dining and transportation ? Greatly appreciate in advance.

By the way, thanks! We had a good time Especially in Lucerne up the mountains of pilatus where we met with fresh snow and an unusually small crowd. Now need to plan for Orlando next but I have to first overcome my fear for long distance flight. Any advice on this? I get more air sick than my dc and dh so a full day flight can be very tiring for me :roll:

Dnls_mum

GLORYmum:

Who else to turn to for advice on holidaying in Orlando but you ... And you deserve a golden tablet for your contributions and sharing on this topic in particular. :thankyou:

Possible if you could kindly pm to me your itinerary including hotel dining and transportation ? Greatly appreciate in advance.

By the way, thanks! We had a good time Especially in Lucerne up the mountains of pilatus where we met with fresh snow and an unusually small crowd. Now need to plan for Orlando next but I have to first overcome my fear for long distance flight. Any advice on this? I get more air sick than my dc and dh so a full day flight can be very tiring for me :roll:
              PMed you my itinerary. Hope it helps.
              Most of my meals are character meals as I hate having to queue up to take pictures with characters at the parks. My DD likes it, so do i :rotflmao: More relaxing meeting characters over a meal. Also, I had several pre-rope drop reservations so as to get into the parks before they open. Great opportunity to take great photos without other people around. All the restaurants I selected are the very popular ones, if not for character, will be for the show packages or unusual or theme settings and food.

Air sick? Get those sea sick wrist bands and take motion sickness meds (helps you sleep on the flight too) Work for my DS who is prone to motion sickness. I think so long as transit not too long, then shd not be very tiring. My SG-Houston-Orlando timing that I got is pretty good.

• G Offline
                GLORYmum

Dnls_mum:
                GLORYmum:

PMed you my itinerary. Hope it helps.
                Most of my meals are character meals as I hate having to queue up to take pictures with characters at the parks. My DD likes it, so do i :rotflmao: More relaxing meeting characters over a meal. Also, I had several pre-rope drop reservations so as to get into the parks before they open. Great opportunity to take great photos without other people around. All the restaurants I selected are the very popular ones, if not for character, will be for the show packages or unusual or theme settings and food.

Air sick? Get those sea sick wrist bands and take motion sickness meds (helps you sleep on the flight too) Work for my DS who is prone to motion sickness. I think so long as transit not too long, then shd not be very tiring. My SG-Houston-Orlando timing that I got is pretty good.

Thanks for your information on the sim for US.
                Cheers.
                Have fun on your coming trip and keep us posted about it after the trip hor.
                Thank you.

Miracle Child

I think a few families r going Orlando next week (including my family)...happy holidays :rahrah: :boogie: and have a safe and enjoyable journey there! Pray for good weather! πŸ™

Dnls_mum

Miracle Child:
                    I think a few families r going Orlando next week (including my family)...happy holidays :rahrah: :boogie: and have a safe and enjoyable journey there! Pray for good weather! πŸ™

Yes...so fast hor? Got to start packing. I have ordered lots of stuff from amazon etc already :rotflmao: fingers crosses for good weather and safe travel for everyone! :rahrah:

iluvjr2

Yes... :boogie:cannot wait.. we will be leaving tonight...

Dnls_mum - I ended up ordering nine pcs of dresses for my gal. They are there at the hotel waiting for me. Cannot wait to see the dresses. Thanks for the intro... :rahrah:

• G Offline
                        GLORYmum

Dnls_mum:

Yes...so fast hor? Got to start packing. I have ordered lots of stuff from amazon etc already :rotflmao: fingers crosses for good weather and safe travel for everyone! :rahrah:

Hv a pleasant flight ( sound like sia but far fr looks of a sin girl lah. Lol )
                        Pls share yr trip after return.
                        Hv fun !!

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 36 / 43