MOE to stop publishing names of top students?
When a problem can be identified, it is not too hard to suggest a solution.wonderm:
[quote=\"Funz\"]
Most 12yrs old will not be stressed by that possible age diff. It's the parents who want to try by all means to remove any possible obstacle to that their child might face who stress themselves over this.
And seriously, if given a choice you think parents will want to let their child wait till they are a year or more older than the rest of the cohorts to take the exam? If anything, I think it is a disadvantage to them rather than an advantage. They lose a few years.
In this case, MOE can revise the rule, and allow Old Singaporeans and Ancient Singaporeans to have second or even third try at PSLE when they too have Sec brains. If getting into top schools is seen as really important, some people may want to try this route.
Not a bad idea! Retake PSLE at another age, and then reapply back into Sec 1 of the coveted school..... :rotflmao: :rotflmao:[/quote]Ok you take PSLE at 21 lor. You may get 280 and enter top school to study sec 1 but your friends in uni or even married and have kids already. If you take PSLE later some of your friends children will be your classmate. :yikes:
sinoboy:
Wah, boy boy, I thot my imagination very good, your imagination even the better leh, think until so far..
Ok you take PSLE at 21 lor. You may get 280 and enter top school to study sec 1 but your friends in uni or even married and have kids already. If you take PSLE later some of your friends children will be your classmate. :yikes:concern2:
Not a bad idea! Retake PSLE at another age, and then reapply back into Sec 1 of the coveted school..... :rotflmao: :rotflmao:
Wah, boy boy, I thot my imagination very good, your imagination even the better leh, think until so far..
Ok you take PSLE at 21 lor. You may get 280 and enter top school to study sec 1 but your friends in uni or even married and have kids already. If you take PSLE later some of your friends children will be your classmate. :yikes:sinoboy:
[quote=\"concern2\"]
Not a bad idea! Retake PSLE at another age, and then reapply back into Sec 1 of the coveted school..... :rotflmao: :rotflmao:
[/quote]Just highlighting why the potential difficulty of implementing and maintaining such a system. My era had Primary 8, Sec 5 and Pre-U 3 so that people can try and retry. I think it would be a headache to go back to that system.
I read this article...really inspiring and touched.
http://www.edvantage.com.sg/edvantage/news/schoolnews/1442394/He_aces_PSLE_against_the_odds.html
This boy will go far. -
As long as ranking system exists, it is meaningless to keep mum about Top score. They will tell Dad instead.
ruohoo97:
As long as ranking system exists, it is meaningless to keep mum about Top score. They will tell Dad instead.
:evil: don't tell mum and dad about it then.
Cheers. Like the pun. -
ruohoo97:
Must as well stop publishing who are the President Scholarship, GCE O level and GCE A Level scorers.
Also stop publishing Best Teacher Award in tne newspaper.
Take down MOE website too. -
BeContented:
Me 2Today I am very happy.
I like the first 3 posts above.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.