MOE to stop publishing names of top students?
So cannot be from GEP too!
It would be a lot easier to engineer it such that being a top scorer is a stigma- no school, parent or kid would like to clinch the βhonourβ.
Maybe MOE should arrange it such that the next top PSLE scorer should be a pure bred local kid whose family is so Singaporean they go back all the way to the time when Sang Nila Utama discovered Singapura; and the kid must not have had a single day of tuition because his poor parents live in poverty and are unable to provide him with any form of academic support; and of course he must come from a neighbourhood school.
That was not what I was thinking at all :rotflmao: but very funny.
As I posted, I'm not concern abt the kids. -
CayennePepper:
It would be a lot easier to engineer it such that being a top scorer is a stigma- no school, parent or kid would like to clinch the 'honour'.
Don't want that lah, poor kid, only 12 and kena shun liao. But then there are kids who are shun from birth -
sinoboy:
That's why I said must be from neighbourhood school. Then people cannot say he's from branded primary school.jtoh:
Maybe MOE should arrange it such that the next top PSLE scorer should be a pure bred local kid whose family is so Singaporean they go back all the way to the time when Sang Nila Utama discovered Singapura; and the kid must not have had a single day of tuition because his poor parents live in poverty and are unable to provide him with any form of academic support; and of course he must come from a neighbourhood school.
Not forgetting he may be a GEP but didn't confirm a place in a top IP school through DSA. If it is really like that it would politically correct and no complaints of unfairness. :salute:
But the reality may be hard for the people to accept. If not why cannot announce the top scorers?
Well it's not funny anymore when locals pay taxes to support the education system and serve NS and what not are disadvantaged when kids cannot get into a desired school because of various factors. I sense a lot of parents are stressed and crying for help. In a society where ability is measured and opportunities are given largely by academic performance, it is difficult not to put a lot of emphasize on kid's education. It is good that MOE is reacting already before the frustration and stress worsens.jtoh:
That was not what I was thinking at all :rotflmao: but very funny.
As I posted, I'm not concern abt the kids.
:offtopic: different pple, different sense of humour.
The fengshui is right for MOE to achieve something significant. I wait with bated breath to find out what it will be. -
sinoboy:
In a society where ability is measured and opportunities are given largely by academic performance...
You know, as I read this part, a certain word flashed across my eyes in neon colours... MERITOCRACY... MERITOCRACY...
:rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao: -
I congratulate, in advance, the group of geniuses who comes up with something that pleases EVERYone. *holds breath!*:offtopic: different pple, different sense of humour.
The fengshui is right for MOE to achieve something significant. I wait with bated breath to find out what it will be. -
Maybe scrap DSA, IP program, GEP perhaps then everyone can be on level playing field. :skeptical::offtopic: different pple, different sense of humour.
The fengshui is right for MOE to achieve something significant. I wait with bated breath to find out what it will be.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.