Comparing Science Enrichment Programs

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Science
    1.2k Posts 551 Posters 499.2k Views 1 Watching
      julialai

weatherbee:
      julialai:

[quote=\"mamona\"]89 views but no answer yet. Appreciate if some one suggest some tuition centre.

I know of a really good tutor from tuition centre @ Holland area. She's one of the best kept secrets, many high ability kids under her in my DS's school but parents kiasu or selfish, don't want to recommend. Slowly one by one quit own tuition and switch to her. After I sent my son to her, I see why the kids love her, very inspiring. Can pm u if you don't mind the travel.

Why so selfish? I am very willing to share my tutor.[/quote]Competitive lah. My DS's P4 form-teacher recommended her to us when my DS's Science score plunged in P5 SA1. 😓 When I took my son to the centre for tuition for the first time, I was very surprised to see a number of the high ability kids from his school there. I met a mother whom I had met briefly in DS's school. She told me not to recommend to people from the same school as our DC. It was really not that surprising she said that. Her kid is from GEP and she is always asking about other people's kids' exam marks. A highly competitive mother :slapshead:

weatherbee

julialai:

Competitive lah. My DS's P4 form-teacher recommended her to us when my DS's Science score plunged in P5 SA1. 😓 When I took my son to the centre for tuition for the first time, I was very surprised to see a number of the high ability kids from his school there. I met a mother whom I had met briefly in DS's school. She told me not to recommend to people from the same school as our DC. It was really not that surprising she said that. Her kid is from GEP and she is always asking about other people's kids' exam marks. A highly competitive mother :slapshead:
        Gosh. How mean.

julialai

Oolahlah:
          Hi OrangeBelt, would really appreciate it if u cld email me ([email protected]) the contacts of the science tutor from Holland. Tks much.

Hi Oolahlah n Kiasu_won,

Sure, I'll PM you later. I gave the tutor's name card to my sis-in-law yesterday. Has to ask DS tomorrow for her contact number.

julialai

StaryNight:
            Hi Mamona,

I just completed my PSLE and got a A* for science. For me, I did not have any tution for science during my P6 years. I think that mostly you just have to have a good science reference and notes, and of course work hard. You don't really need tution even though for most singaporeans they all have tution. For me, I use mainly 2 different type of reference. the PSLE Ultimate Science Guide (orange one) is one of them. the other is the box of thin books: everything you need to know about science by Patricia Chan-Dendroff
            then, i have 2 books of workbook:EPH Challenging Science by Jane Sim
            (lower block [green/white]and upper block[blue white])
            I guess you can also buy mock papers to do. Since you have a science background, you can also help to select questions from the mock papers for her to do based on her weak topics where she has the most number of mistakes, like for me is the heat topic.
            Also, I have bought a ring file to use for science. Inside are Mindmaps that I made, one for each topic, mainly the P5-P6 topics. I made them using the two reference book that i mentioned earlier. these mindmap are the most useful of all and I always read it the night before exams, including the night before Psle, just to recap on all topics.
            This is only a suggestion, so I guess it still depends on your daughter, how is her style of studying.
            Hope this helps! 🙂
            Dear StaryNight,

Aunty is really impressed by your organised study and hard work!! :salute: No wonder you can score A* without tuition! Your parents are blessed. :rahrah:

nicnac

Hi julialai,

I’m keen to know more abt your ds’s sci tutor too… Pls pm me the contacts if you dun mind sharing…thanks!!

• bestwishesB Offline
                bestwishes

StaryNight:
                Hi Mamona,

I just completed my PSLE and got a A* for science. For me, I did not have any tution for science during my P6 years. I think that mostly you just have to have a good science reference and notes, and of course work hard. You don't really need tution even though for most singaporeans they all have tution. For me, I use mainly 2 different type of reference. the PSLE Ultimate Science Guide (orange one) is one of them. the other is the box of thin books: everything you need to know about science by Patricia Chan-Dendroff
                I guess you can also buy mock papers to do. Since you have a science background, you can also help to select questions from the mock papers for her to do based on her weak topics where she has the most number of mistakes, like for me is the heat topic.

Also, I have bought a ring file to use for science. Inside are Mindmaps that I made, one for each topic, mainly the P5-P6 topics. I made them using the two reference book that i mentioned earlier. these mindmap are the most useful of all and I always read it the night before exams, including the night
                before Psle, just to recap on all topics.

This is only a suggestion, so I guess it still depends on your daughter, how is her style of studying.
                Hope this helps! 🙂

Yes, if kids are self-motivated, tuition may not be neccessary.
                The 2 books shd be EPH Challenging Science Examination papers by Janet Sim, right?

StaryNight

bestwishes:
                  StaryNight:

Hi Mamona,

Also, I have bought a ring file to use for science. Inside are Mindmaps that I made, one for each topic, mainly the P5-P6 topics. I made them using the two reference book that i mentioned earlier. these mindmap are the most useful of all and I always read it the night before exams, including the night
                  before Psle, just to recap on all topics.

Hope this helps! 🙂

Yes, if kids are self-motivated, tuition may not be neccessary.
                  The 2 books shd be EPH Challenging Science Examination papers by Janet Sim, right?

Yes, it is that book. 😄

HAPPYH

julialai:
                    mamona:

89 views but no answer yet. Appreciate if some one suggest some tuition centre.

I know of a really good tutor from tuition centre @ Holland area. She's one of the best kept secrets, many high ability kids under her in my DS's school but parents kiasu or selfish, don't want to recommend. Slowly one by one quit own tuition and switch to her. After I sent my son to her, I see why the kids love her, very inspiring. Can pm u if you don't mind the travel.

Why so selfish? I am very willing to share my tutor.[/quote]

Competitive lah. My DS's P4 form-teacher recommended her to us when my DS's Science score plunged in P5 SA1. 😓 When I took my son to the centre for tuition for the first time, I was very surprised to see a number of the high ability kids from his school there. I met a mother whom I had met briefly in DS's school. She told me not to recommend to people from the same school as our DC. It was really not that surprising she said that. Her kid is from GEP and she is always asking about other people's kids' exam marks. A highly competitive mother :slapshead:[/quote]

:yikes:

catchingestar

Hi Julialai,

Would appreciate the science tutor’s contact. Thanks.

SP Mummy

Anyone can recommend a good science enrichment class located in kovan/Hougang and Sengkang beside Tinkerlab?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 39 / 119

thebottomsupblogT
                        thebottomsupblog