Which one irks you more?
mathsparks:
Actually habits need to be cultivated in order to execute smoothly when there is an outbreak. So for carrying the sanitiser around, that is a habit I want my kid to inculcate regardless if there is an outbreak or not. That said, I do agree with you that we should not be overly concerned to the extent of being paranoid.buds hubs seems to be suffering from ocd.
we're only that concerned during the sars outbreak n initial days of h1n1. nowadays, we dont bother. but, when we come home, we change to home clothes, more for comfort than to rid of germs.
not criticising anyone here, but perhaps we're more lax coz we dont have young kids around. -
buds hubs:
I'm not annoyed. It's a blessing having someone so thorough to helpautumnbronze:
I am particular about cleanliness but my DH is 10x more. Sometimes it gets annoying cuz he ends up TELLING me how I shd 'run the house'
hahaa.. reminds me of myself.. sometime buds gets annoyed too :lol: but I still think that i do a better cleaning job than her...
around the house. Very thoughtful when done sincerely...
But
not when you whine about it. It's like cooking. Gotta cook cos i wanna
cook, not cause i hafta cook. My cooking is from the heart straight to
the tummy. :love: Since you're not that active in the forum as you used
to, you may have missed out on the kind notes that i ALWAYS have for
you... in every other threads. So if you think it gets me annoyed, mebbe
you don't know me that well... enough..
Here's one link.
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=903&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=795
My better cleaning days wud be when i'm in a better mood.
Besides i tire easily...
And YOU with the abs and muscles
shouldn't have any excuse not to be better anyway. Use
the abs for good use.
Psst. Your ma doesn't clean too. At all in fact... and you never
say anything...
radiantmum:
Folks, \"relak\" a little ... A little dirt and untidiness won't hurt lah.
Yup, like what she said... relak a little lar. :laugh:
Psst. The article in mention was from our very own insider.radiantmum:
:whut:ps: I also do not eat at the roadside stalls or shops I perceive hygiene level is not observed.
:faint:
Suspen nia.. :roll:
Thought you wud dare eat. :rotflmao: -
buds hubs:
:faint: Uh, yah, maybe got ocd ...
My answers are in bold..now go & start cooking.. & dont forget to wash your hands.. :lol:autumnbronze:
Do you:
1. carry dettol wet wipes when out with kids and if you go to a restaurant/hawker centre and if the seats are dirty, wipe them??
ANS: Yes.. buds and I do bring along dettol wipes to wipe tables and seats of hawker centres, fast food restaurants & even some restaurants.
2. wash your hands and feet aft going out, even if its out to the provision shop nearby.
ANS; Yes, most definately. Both DD1 & DD2 knows that they have to head straight to the toilet to wash up once they return home from anywhere.. cannot take any chances.
3. change into your 'home clothes' immediately after returning home before sitting down on the sofa, chair, lying on the bed etc...?? DH used is quite anal abt this. So whenever aft guests leave, the sofa would be wiped throughly ...
ANS: We have loosened up a bit on this but most of the time, we would change into home clothes before sitting on our bed.
4. wipe the interior of the car eg steering wheel aft going to the mkt or doc??
ANS: Yup.... its a good idea to do so isnt it??
But this is coming from me (dun want to say slobbi blobbi lah, but there's a teeny tiny tinge of truth ...). We have a high tolerance for untidiness for sure. I have these giant drawers to drop piles of books or whatever in when we have guests coming.
This way, we know where to hunt for what's missing. Brilliant, right? After that, real life has a way of bringing these things out again when we dig for what we need. Then we have a fresh cycle of guests to come over so we do our version of straightening out.
We do #1 and 2. Never even thought of #3 and 4 before, although we wash the rubber bands from the market before saving them. #4 may make sense hor? -
OMG, we do that!!!!! as in line the seat and bowl with bathroom paper
I know of people who will bring toilet seat paper to lay on them before using. I would just use the toilet paper to clean before using. These days, the more upperty places offer the cleaner to clean the seats before using. I also know a friend who tries to be so clean that the young kid is falling sick so often so I advise her to loosen up on some of her practices for her kid to build some immunity. Everything in moderation I suppose..
Just to share, I honestly did try to like loosen up alot for my son. For eg, aft his gym class, he would go back home and shower, but the funny thing was, he was falling sick practically evry week ie coughing and runny nose aft the class. Then when I started washing his hands and wiping his feet immediately aft the lesson with wet wipes. Low and behold, the two ailments ceased to recur ....
But, that said, yes, I really also believe in moderation too ... and am trying and want to strike a balance as far/much as possible.
One is that I don't really mollycoddle DS when he is sick (common symptoms like cough, cold) because don't want him to be neurotic when he's older.
Actually, I think now, since we are on this topic, really, the purpose is to just try to instill good hygiene habits to DS
Blobbi:
although we wash the rubber bands from the market before saving them.
Wow this one is interesting. Not unless the rubber band is tainted with some fishy smell and all, I would never have thought of washing them. I learn something.
Since we are at this, do any of you clean your eggs before you keep it away in the fridge or egg box?
I have heard people falling sick from germs coming from egg shell, food poisoning to be specific. -
Blobbi:
slobbi blobbi !!! sooooooooooooooo cute :rotflmao: :rotflmao:
But this is coming from me (dun want to say slobbi blobbi lah, but there's a teeny tiny tinge of truth ...) -
Agree..what i find most lacking in our society is \"washing hands with soap\". If you don't believe me, just wait around in a public/office toilets and count how many wash hands with soap.....only about 1 or 2 out of 10. Most just splash water onto their fingers or not at all! We are years behind the Japanese in the hygiene aspect. How to curb spread of virus, be it H1N1 or Sars etc when this basic hygiene practice is not yet cultvated. I have witnessed \"kids\" wanting to wash their hands in the toilet but mommies pulling them away..exclaiming \"no time\" to do that..!
Actually habits need to be cultivated in order to execute smoothly when there is an outbreak. So for carrying the sanitiser around, that is a habit I want my kid to inculcate regardless if there is an outbreak or not. That said, I do agree with you that we should not be overly concerned to the extent of being paranoid.mathsparks:
buds hubs seems to be suffering from ocd.
we're only that concerned during the sars outbreak n initial days of h1n1. nowadays, we dont bother. but, when we come home, we change to home clothes, more for comfort than to rid of germs.
not criticising anyone here, but perhaps we're more lax coz we dont have young kids around. -
westmom:
Yes yes I observe the same too!!! I too wonder sometimes if it is because people hardly use soap, so in public toilets, they don't top up the soap quickly too. I too believe that washing with soap is essential. So now the saving grace for me is the sanitiser. This 'no time' thing is really eating our normal lives, isn't it? We cut the slack in the wrong areas.
Agree..what i find most lacking in our society is \"washing hands with soap\". If you don't believe me, just wait around in a public/office toilets and count how many wash hands with soap.....only about 1 or 2 out of 10. Most just splash water onto their fingers or not at all! We are years behind the Japanese in the hygiene aspect. How to curb spread of virus, be it H1N1 or Sars etc when this basic hygiene practice is not yet cultvated. I have witnessed \"kids\" wanting to wash their hands in the toilet but mommies pulling them away..exclaiming \"no time\" to do that..! -
Wah so autumnbronze you have extra expense on the seat liners.
OMG, we do that!!!!! as in line the seat and bowl with bathroom paper
Just to share, I honestly did try to like loosen up alot for my son. For eg, aft his gym class, he would go back home and shower, but the funny thing was, he was falling sick practically evry week ie coughing and runny nose aft the class. Then when I started washing his hands and wiping his feet immediately aft the lesson with wet wipes. Low and behold, the two ailments ceased to recur ....
But, that said, yes, I really also believe in moderation too ... and am trying and want to strike a balance as far/much as possible.
One is that I don't really mollycoddle DS when he is sick (common symptoms like cough, cold) because don't want him to be neurotic when he's older.
Actually, I think now, since we are on this topic, really, the purpose is to just try to instill good hygiene habits to DS

Yeah ultimately we just want the kids to observe some level of hygience to help themselves. There is no clear right or wrong unless have experiences to prove them, some are just personal preferences and others are just good to inculcate for precautionary measures.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.