MOE to stop publishing names of top students?

852 Posts 79 Posters 183.3k Views 1 Watching
      CayennePepper

Believe it or not, many parents do not want to accept the fact that children's abilities differ. They believe they can do something about it - although it can be true too - many believe that if the kids have the best teachers, the best books, the best this and that, there is no reason why they can't be the best.
      Totally agree!
      I also think that because we EXPECT that hard work should be rewarded, it is easy to feel cheated and cry foul when others get the goodies instead. And seemingly without effort.

CayennePepper

wonderm:
        pirate:

Aiyoyo! I hate HOT questions disguised as a LOT question. Sure trip up all the square people like me... :imdrowning:

Ooops. Pirates dun know difference between plural and singular...

Can't tell you are square or round, but you surely have HOT ability - you are able to piece together information from different posts into a single short sentence!

Yes, and that is why his DD is also HOT inclined.

CayennePepper

wonderm:
          CayennePepper:

I have a Simple LOT question. Just trying to understand.

If I am from the mainstream and have obtained a CO from a top IP school via the academc domain (smops/olympiads etc), is that considered an unfair advantage?

Hello, this is not Simple LOT, I think it is HOT question hor πŸ˜†

The answer is it DEPENDS!

If it is my DC, then it is NOT considered an unfair advantage.

If it is anyone else's DC, then it is DEFINITELY an unfair advantage, regardless how high is his/her actual T-score. Isn't this one of the reasons why govt doesn't dare to publish the top scorers' names? in case we find out all the top scorers have had such unfair advantage. 😒

I am from Simple LOT era lah. Had to do O levels, you know. :razz:
          And didn't get straight As in A levels!

• NebbermindN Offline
            Nebbermind

Since you guys are at it…how about a compensating multipler factor for kids who are born in the later part of the year.

Eg, kids born in Dec shall have a multipler of 1.1 x the T-score. That will compensate for the disparity between the Dec kids and the Jan kids. The rest of the month shall be reduced proportionally. Yeah?

Surely this is a fair proposal for the disadvantaged younger kids taking the PSLE.

CayennePepper

CayennePepper:

If I am from the mainstream and have obtained a CO from a top IP school via the academc domain (smops/olympiads etc), is that considered an unfair advantage?

Yes.....

If all one is interested in is whether one's child gets ahead in choosing a secondary school.

No.....

If what one is interested in is life outcomes.

Trust you to come up with a yes and no answer... :skeptical:

wonderm

Since you guys are at it....how about a compensating multipler factor for kids who are born in the later part of the year.

Eg, kids born in Dec shall have a multipler of 1.1 x the T-score. That will compensate for the disparity between the Dec kids and the Jan kids. The rest of the month shall be reduced proportionally. Yeah?

Surely this is a fair proposal for the disadvantaged younger kids taking the PSLE.
                *like* *like* *like* :rahrah: :rahrah: :rahrah:

Oops, am I disclosing too much personal information?

concern2

Since you guys are at it....how about a compensating multipler factor for kids who are born in the later part of the year.

You know har, when my kid was born in Jan, I thot he'd have advantage over his peers. Then I realized it was the case only for the first 5 years... :razz:

Also hor, since we are on this, I feel girls have advantage over boys in lower primary - then how? πŸ˜†

jtoh

You know har, when my kid was born in Jan, I thot he'd have advantage over his peers. Then I realized it was the case only for the first 5 years... :razz:

Also hor, since we are on this, I feel girls have advantage over boys in lower primary - then how? πŸ˜†

:heresmyfish: :heresmyfish: :heresmyfish:

sinoboy

pirate:
                      CayennePepper:

Aiyoyo! I hate HOT questions disguised as a LOT question. Sure trip up all the square people like me... :imdrowning:

Ooops. Pirates dun know difference between plural and singular...

My LOT question is a lot simpler.

Talking about Fairness, you are field doctor and in a war situation. Both you and enemy suffered casualties. You side suffered heavy casualties and your captured enemy POWs as well. All sent to you for treatment.

All the soldiers suffer varying degrees of injuries; some shot in the hip, shoulder, leg and some on chest and face. Some can be saved and some are definitely going to die.

You are obliged to save the POWs as well.

There are signicantly more healthier POWs than your soldiers and there are limited blood and medical supplies and not enough even for everyone that can be saved and continue living.

My LOT question is in which order are you going to save? Between those not likely to live and those that are going to live, the choice is easier to make. But would you save the POW so that they can wipe you out when they recover or do you save your own kids ..oops your own kind so that your kind has a future? How arh? :scared:

Back to work.

CayennePepper

Ah. You must be quite rested from your vacation.
                        Compensating multipler factor!!!!!
                        This will, in one fell swoop, take care of certain, errr, overaged groups.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 69 / 86

EducareTutoringE
                        EducareTutoring