MOE to stop publishing names of top students?
david59:
this is why Singaporeans have emotionless mindset lor
Personally I think that if you try this in Singapore either people are too pai seh to try, or onlookers think these people playing with the stairs are siao or people stopping to try would be trampled by a stampede. For myself I may try but I would to be too lazy as I feel tired all the time because of the hot weather or I would feel that it is too much as waste of time. How then to motivate me given my mindset? :sad:sinoboy:
[quote=\"david59\"]
Like in this video, how to motivate people to do some exercise by climbing the stairs instead of standing stationary up the escalator? Make the stairs fun to climb up. More people chose to climb the stairs than going up the effortless way by escalator as a result.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?gl=SG&hl=en-GB&v=SByymar3bds
Anyway, not saying specifically about the stairs mah. It can be any innovative and fun ideas. Unfortunately, we lack this culture.
Instead of just LOT and HOT education, can we ask MOE to also teach FIT education, ie. Fun Innovative Thinking skills. Otherwise we are constantly producing myriad of smart but study dead book scholars.[/quote]This could be another uniquely Singaporean trait. Everything we wish to be, we ask MOE to teach. Anything we are lacking, must be because the school never teach us well. -
wonderm:
Correct mah. MOE sets the Educational curriculum mah. Last time, their emphasis was LOT. Then they realised needed also HOT. If there is a need to grow a new generation with FIT skills, need MOE to set the pace, correct or not. Unless we want to remain emotionless citizens lor.
This could be another uniquely Singaporean trait. Everything we wish to be, we ask MOE to teach. Anything we are lacking, must be because the school never teach us well.david59:
this is why Singaporeans have emotionless mindset lor
Anyway, not saying specifically about the stairs mah. It can be any innovative and fun ideas. Unfortunately, we lack this culture.
Instead of just LOT and HOT education, can we ask MOE to also teach FIT education, ie. Fun Innovative Thinking skills. Otherwise we are constantly producing myriad of smart but study dead book scholars.
Anyway, got to zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz now. -
Pssst… Certain things cannot be taught.
In today’s news Mr Lee Hsien Loong said this… (For the life of me, i cannot remember all the exact words after down time with the four kids but something along the lines of this lah.)
If we don’t base/measure based on meritocracy… then what do we peg it with/against?
Wealth? Or issit race? ~ If you’re of a certain/correct race then you get the extra points?
Is this the Singapore you want to see… Is this the Singapore we have become after all this time we took to build it?
Dunno about you guys but based on the thread title, on the recent move to stop publishing the names of our scholars (old & young)… i read it as, if we continue to credit advancement, achievement, (etc) based on meritocracy, we should NAME… we should PUBLISH… we should make it BIG! We should take pride in our future leaders of tomorrow, who are the children that they are today. -
Blueness. :faint:In today's news Mr Lee Hsien Loong said this.. (For the life of me, i cannot remember all the exact words after down time with the four kids but something along the lines of this lah.)
If we don't base/measure based on meritocracy... then what do we peg it with/against?buds:
No need to make it big. But we should not be afraid to name, publish or acknowledge.Dunno about you guys but based on the thread title, on the recent move to stop publishing the names of our scholars (old & young)... i read it as, if we continue to credit advancement, achievement, (etc) based on meritocracy, we should NAME.. we should PUBLISH.. we should make it BIG! We should take pride in our future leaders of tomorrow, who are the children that they are today.
Blue-ness?
Too many shades of green of late issit? -
I exaggerated there la.

Yes, no need big big. Just acknowledge their success based on merit. Name them because we are proud of their success.. share their joys and learn from their success stories.. and may our children find inspiration from them.. the exemplary children that they are today.. and the hope for our future generation. -
My bb loves to climb the stairs. It's fun for her even without the music.
If not rushing for time, I also like to climb the stairs with bb.
As for publishing of names, I don't get the part about inspiration. It's not that I don't appreciate the efforts put in by the kids but I just think it's strange. I'm ok that there are parents who will treat such news as inspiration. I just like to post that I don't understand and I'm also ok if others don't understand my view.
I have no strong views about publishing the names or not, but I did enjoy reading the news - to share their joys!I exaggerated there la.

Yes, no need big big. Just acknowledge their success based on merit. Name them because we are proud of their success.. share their joys and learn from their success stories.. and may our children find inspiration from them.. the exemplary children that they are today.. and the hope for our future generation. -
david59:
OMG !!! I just checked n realised the video links to this tinypic thingy which links me nowhere to the video I want to show you :yikes:david59:
Can't resist to upload this video for all to see. I find this video awesome and telling that we Singaporeans really lack this innovative trait in our gene? Or blame in on our education system? Or being so used to instant convenience?
Whichever answer we can give, one thing is clear in my opinion, Singapore may be superb in creating new ideas n new things but we are not innovative enough; to innovate mundane life habits into fun lifestyle that can make us smile n laugh more everyday.
Ya, all the GEP, DSA n IP discussions here. What Singapore needs is to produce a nation of innovators for emotionless Singaporeans. Sign off. O, God bless u all with a great weekend.
http://tinypic.com/r/35k1o3d/6
I simply used this kiasuparent.com's video attachment to attach my video file leh. Why came out that grouse tinypic thingy? Why huh? Really paiseh paiseh paisehpaiseh :nailbite:
Thanks for sharing this video - I can see it too. I am half suspecting that even if you put sth like this in Singapore, you won't get as many people using the stairs as you see in the video- Because people in Singapore will think they have 'better things to do' . I imagine people who'd do that will be the students, children, foreigners... Maybe some would even think it is noisy..
The level of conformity is pretty high in Singapore. Many have the - \"safer to join the herd\" mentality. People will give themselves all sorts of reasons NOT to be different.
My DS is often the one who likes to use the stairs at the MRT stations. Even without the keyboards, he would find different ways of getting down the stairs - speed down, slide down, zigzag down, walk backwards down, and other stunts which I have chosen not to see or I'll :rant: My DD will quietly follow by my side and just laugh at her brother. Some things are in the blood.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.