MOE to stop publishing names of top students?
Blue-ness?
Too many shades of green of late issit? -
I exaggerated there la.

Yes, no need big big. Just acknowledge their success based on merit. Name them because we are proud of their success.. share their joys and learn from their success stories.. and may our children find inspiration from them.. the exemplary children that they are today.. and the hope for our future generation. -
My bb loves to climb the stairs. It's fun for her even without the music.
If not rushing for time, I also like to climb the stairs with bb.
As for publishing of names, I don't get the part about inspiration. It's not that I don't appreciate the efforts put in by the kids but I just think it's strange. I'm ok that there are parents who will treat such news as inspiration. I just like to post that I don't understand and I'm also ok if others don't understand my view.
I have no strong views about publishing the names or not, but I did enjoy reading the news - to share their joys!I exaggerated there la.

Yes, no need big big. Just acknowledge their success based on merit. Name them because we are proud of their success.. share their joys and learn from their success stories.. and may our children find inspiration from them.. the exemplary children that they are today.. and the hope for our future generation. -
david59:
OMG !!! I just checked n realised the video links to this tinypic thingy which links me nowhere to the video I want to show you :yikes:david59:
Can't resist to upload this video for all to see. I find this video awesome and telling that we Singaporeans really lack this innovative trait in our gene? Or blame in on our education system? Or being so used to instant convenience?
Whichever answer we can give, one thing is clear in my opinion, Singapore may be superb in creating new ideas n new things but we are not innovative enough; to innovate mundane life habits into fun lifestyle that can make us smile n laugh more everyday.
Ya, all the GEP, DSA n IP discussions here. What Singapore needs is to produce a nation of innovators for emotionless Singaporeans. Sign off. O, God bless u all with a great weekend.
http://tinypic.com/r/35k1o3d/6
I simply used this kiasuparent.com's video attachment to attach my video file leh. Why came out that grouse tinypic thingy? Why huh? Really paiseh paiseh paisehpaiseh :nailbite:
Thanks for sharing this video - I can see it too. I am half suspecting that even if you put sth like this in Singapore, you won't get as many people using the stairs as you see in the video- Because people in Singapore will think they have 'better things to do' . I imagine people who'd do that will be the students, children, foreigners... Maybe some would even think it is noisy..
The level of conformity is pretty high in Singapore. Many have the - \"safer to join the herd\" mentality. People will give themselves all sorts of reasons NOT to be different.
My DS is often the one who likes to use the stairs at the MRT stations. Even without the keyboards, he would find different ways of getting down the stairs - speed down, slide down, zigzag down, walk backwards down, and other stunts which I have chosen not to see or I'll :rant: My DD will quietly follow by my side and just laugh at her brother. Some things are in the blood. -
Yes let us be proud of our own kid's success. Since the preservation of our meritocratic system is a must, the top scorers should be named. If they cannot be named, it may be because there are inherent flaws and exploits in the system which have been covered extensively in many forums such as having an opportunity to learn HOT skills in a top school despite not making a top school's COP etc.I exaggerated there la.

Yes, no need big big. Just acknowledge their success based on merit. Name them because we are proud of their success.. share their joys and learn from their success stories.. and may our children find inspiration from them.. the exemplary children that they are today.. and the hope for our future generation.
Review and elimination of DSA for GEP, GEP, IP system and age advantage of children at PSLE should be made to preserve meritocracy to create a level playing field to assess and sift out Singapore's top academic talents, so that our contribution towards nation building either through workforce participation, tax contribution or national service would not go to waste. :scared: -
wonderm:
On the one hand, I agree that children who have worked hard to achieve stellar results for PSLE deserve the recognition and praise for their hard work.
I have no strong views about publishing the names or not, but I did enjoy reading the news - to share their joys!buds:
I exaggerated there la.

Yes, no need big big. Just acknowledge their success based on merit. Name them because we are proud of their success.. share their joys and learn from their success stories.. and may our children find inspiration from them.. the exemplary children that they are today.. and the hope for our future generation.
But on the other hand, I worry that these students have achieved good grades at the expense of other aspects of development. I would hate to think that these children find that they have reached the pinnical of their \"career\" at 12, then find that its downhill from there. Or that they grow up resentful that they missed out on a childhood because too much time and effort was placed on academic achievements. Or ... I think ... worse, that they grow up, or should I say, grow older, but do not grow up (as in do not emotionally mature). Like, an adult who remains in a lower management position, works very hard and is able to deliver on the technical aspect of the job, but is not able to handle the EQ aspects of higher management. Or an adult who (?touchingly) still counts his/ her mom as a best friend, goes for holidays with their parents only (never with friends), doesn't have friends outside the family circle, doesn't get married, ... -
Laura02:
But on the other hand, I worry that these students have achieved good grades at the expense of other aspects of development. I would hate to think that these children find that they have reached the pinnical of their \"career\" at 12, then find that its downhill from there. Or that they grow up resentful that they missed out on a childhood because too much time and effort was placed on academic achievements. Or ... I think ... worse, that they grow up, or should I say, grow older, but do not grow up (as in do not emotionally mature). Like, an adult who remains in a lower management position, works very hard and is able to deliver on the technical aspect of the job, but is not able to handle the EQ aspects of higher management. Or an adult who (?touchingly) still counts his/ her mom as a best friend, goes for holidays with their parents only (never with friends), doesn't have friends outside the family circle, doesn't get married, ...
Only children with good grades have this kind of issues meh? :scratchhead: -
pirate:
I may be wrong but over protective parents may lead to over reliant kids that cling to parents even at older age. Other kinds of depression may be due to lack of communication skills as a result of living in the virtual world of computer and handphones for too long and can't interact properly in the real world. The most common frustration is between those marginally successful academically but not good enough to be a scholar such as a local grad and their scholar management. The non scholars may have to work very hard but may not have the same opportunities that are presented to scholars. As parents do you want your kids to grow up to be scholar or non scholar? If want to be scholar, Which exam to focus on? GEP test or PSLE?Laura02:
But on the other hand, I worry that these students have achieved good grades at the expense of other aspects of development. I would hate to think that these children find that they have reached the pinnical of their \"career\" at 12, then find that its downhill from there. Or that they grow up resentful that they missed out on a childhood because too much time and effort was placed on academic achievements. Or ... I think ... worse, that they grow up, or should I say, grow older, but do not grow up (as in do not emotionally mature). Like, an adult who remains in a lower management position, works very hard and is able to deliver on the technical aspect of the job, but is not able to handle the EQ aspects of higher management. Or an adult who (?touchingly) still counts his/ her mom as a best friend, goes for holidays with their parents only (never with friends), doesn't have friends outside the family circle, doesn't get married, ...
Only children with good grades have this kind of issues meh? :scratchhead:
What inspire me r not those who are the top scorers. They r those who scored far better that what in their adverse or challenging environment or handicap can do that inspire me. Like the boy from Pathlight. We can tell our kids that if these kid can, ours should be able to learn from them too.My bb loves to climb the stairs. It's fun for her even without the music.
If not rushing for time, I also like to climb the stairs with bb.
As for publishing of names, I don't get the part about inspiration. It's not that I don't appreciate the efforts put in by the kids but I just think it's strange. I'm ok that there are parents who will treat such news as inspiration. I just like to post that I don't understand and I'm also ok if others don't understand my view.
Is this what you think also?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.