Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Domestic Help
    10.3k Posts 915 Posters 3.7m Views 1 Watching
    • JoyJ Offline
      Joy

is she a fresh maid?is there anyone hand holding her and guide her?

Maybe am a stay at home mum, so this type of thing, yet to happen to me...but other thing lah...

she is more suited to work in coffee shop to entertain customers ....

pineapple tarts:
      Joy:

Hey, me too hang on to my maid for one year seven months even she is a lousy maid.

Same reason, dont want to waste money to change maid.

Anyway, she is gone now.

Same here. I even intend to tahan until her 2 year contract finished. But I snap one day (3.5 mth only)

We have soup for dinner everyday. My maid will heat it up when I return from work. That evening, we had curry chicken with pratha, so no soup. She still stupidly heat up an empty pot. :x :x :x wat would u do if u were me??? Ta boleh tahan & she is OUT!!!

pineapple tarts

[quote]is she a fresh maid?is there anyone hand holding her and guide her?[/quote]
        Yes, she is a 33 yr old fresh maid. I took 1 week leave to train her. sigh.... waste time & money :stupid: :stupid: :stupid:

• JoyJ Offline
          Joy

i think she too old liao

pineapple tarts:
          [quote]is she a fresh maid?is there anyone hand holding her and guide her?
          Yes, she is a 33 yr old fresh maid. I took 1 week leave to train her. sigh.... waste time & money :stupid: :stupid: :stupid:[/quote]

pineapple tarts

[quote]i think she too old liao[/quote]
            My 1st & last time to get such \"old maid\". Stubborn & learn slow.

KopiYing

Mine 32 years old but her education level is high school. So she could understand instructions but I observe that she cld be stubborn at times. That I don bother coz I have made it clear in my instructions. Other than that personally i feel at times she’s like 装傻. Not very proactive coz once work done she wont find things to do or clean other areas etc.

workingmom

Thanks for all the advice ! I know ideally there is no overlap between outgoing maid and incoming but since I am working full-time it would be tough to take enough leave to train from scratch. My intention is to get a fresh one from overseas as opposed to those who have already worked here so this would meaning training from basics.

Yes, its true my current one having worked for us for so many yrs has developed some habits and attitude and also is getting lazy. I was upset when she mentioned she wanted to leave but my husband feels we should take this as a positive thing and that the next maid will have a better working attitude etc . Just that after so many years with the same maid I have forgotten \"how to train\" :oops:

kiasimom

Read today’s ST.

Send your maid for training.

Will you send your maid for training?
                  Read from ST some maids resigns after they acquire additional skills.

The journalist commented that the maids are poor creatures. They are deeply in debt even before they work for us and we employers take them as cheap labour :x :x :x :x :x

She commented the maid have heavier loan now as agencies are under-cutting each other and thus the fee is instead transfer to the maid :x :x

Please x 10000000
                  It is not cheap to employ a maid in SG. I need to spend close to $1000 to have a maid :x :x Is that cheap???

Why is that the media always put the employer in bad light???

This is totally unfair!!! :x :x :x

Get the media to do coverage in Dubai and Malaysia and see if they will bite their own tongues off!

pineapple tarts

[quote]I was upset when she mentioned she wanted to leave [/quote]
                    I felt the same too last time when my maid of 2 years was leaving us to marry her sporean boyfriend. She recommaned her classmate to us who is my current maid. She went back on her 3rd year b'cos something happen at home. She came back after a year and now was into her 6mth with me. I got 2 horrible maids when she was away for that 1 year. I am glad that she is back. Good luck to u. 😉

pineapple tarts

KopiYing:
                      Mine 32 years old but her education level is high school. So she could understand instructions but I observe that she cld be stubborn at times. That I don bother coz I have made it clear in my instructions. Other than that personally i feel at times she's like 装傻. Not very proactive coz once work done she wont find things to do or clean other areas etc.

Mine is grad who can speak good english. I don believe she doesn't understand my instruction. Simply pretend & like to shortcut & stubborn. She wont laze around, in fact she will find things to do. BUT she like to use her own method which is not up to my standard. Oh anothering thing, SUPER FORGETTFUL & eat like a cow. Here pain there pain like an old lady. At night apply ointment which stinks the whole room. 33 yrs old, never again.

workingmom

There are good and bad employers, just like good and bad maids.

Just that the media likes to highlight the bad employers…sigh.

I only worry as the maid takes care of my kids when we are at work & will walk them back from school. She is alone with them, my mum is too old to help or supervise…so I guess they can play up. Fortunately my kids are not that young anymore…second one going to P1 already.

I will be praying hard for a good replacement.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 95 / 1032