200 SMRT bus drivers refuse to go to work over pay issue

436 Posts 66 Posters 100.6k Views 1 Watching
      concern2

\"PAP MP says public has \"misunderstood\" Transport Minister on fare hike\"

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CQxRsyQ2Psg&feature=share

What do you think?
      No one responded to this?

In some businesses, to keep customers happy, one of the ways is to keep selling price as a constant, and work backwards to look at other variables. Formulas can be changed to create a different costing model that works and still achieve win-win. This isn't an uncommon practice. I hope the authorities can come up with better solutions.

• O Offline
        octoberbaby

change to double decker buses or longer buses or buses with no seats for more passengers to board. Frequent timing and shorter route.

concern2

octoberbaby:
          change to double decker buses or longer buses or buses with no seats for more passengers to board. Frequent timing and shorter route.

Hey, that's a good start! Come on, let's get the ideas rolling! :rahrah:

(Buses with no seats but must have seat belts šŸ˜† just kidding!)

Dora1

octoberbaby:

What area you are staying? need to walk 20 mins to the nearest MRT? There are usually feeder buses right?

If staying in private apt or private house, i think it is good to owe a car since can afford to stay in private properties. Buy a small small car or invest in a motorised bicycle?

Aiya, don't like that lah, stay in private properties so what? Many people staying in private properties had them passed down from older generation leh, now how to afford one? You don't lose your land to the garmen secretly laughin alreadi liao.. I see many houses in some estates so lucky, never get 'chased away' and taken over by new condos or hdb, so heng ah... ē„–å…ˆäæä½‘å•Š...

Some more hor, some feeder buses make circles around the estate, maybe you can just see the train station from your flat, but with the route, waiting time, bus stops, and traffic lights, walk there is faster lah. šŸ˜‰

Thanks concerned2 for clarifying. I did say I needed to take feeder bus in my previous post, and I stayed in HDB. And yes, the feeder bus takes >30min to go round the estate. And the wait is usually 15 min. so walking is faster.
            Anyway, the point I wanted to highlight was that before NEL opened donkey years ago, we had quite a number of trunk bus services that we could take just at the bus stop nearby. But with the NEL, all the buses were cancelled and replaced with the feeder bus that takes us to the mrt station. So its not because the NEL is better, but because they removed the competition (the buses) in this case. This has nothing to do with whether or not I should complain abt the 20 min walk in the 1st place, as my post was totally taken out of context by another forummer.

concern2

octoberbaby:

Ok, I have another one:

Kick out SMRT, invite REAL PRIVATE COMPANIES to pitch to run the operation. If there are interested parties who can do it, (of course must scrutinize the small prints and how they can do it etc etc), then select the best one.

If no ones want to pitch for it, then perhaps it means it REALLY cannot be done šŸ˜†

Or If there are indeed companies who can do it, and yet \"authorities\" too \"authoritative\", want to \"sub\" everything their own arms, then at least can pick the best ideas like what some companies do, inviting pitches and stealing ideas .. :stupid:

(don't flame me har, just trying to brainstorm..)

limlim

octoberbaby:
                The last increase was Oct 2011, there was no increase in 2012. So i guess, the increase will be in 2013.

How about other country's transport system? Do they increase fares every year?
                There's a link about taipei where they hold the fare for 10yrs.. althou link is in Chinese.

limlim

octoberbaby:

I suggest adding additional cabins to the trains to increase capacity, one at each end of the train. These cabin will have no doors and passenger enter/exit via the cabin next to it.

The train frequency is probably maxed out already w/o compromising safety distance between trains. They need to look into increasing train capacity.

High capacity trains is also more fuel efficient.

Of coz some changes to the system such as the signalling, engine etc.. may need to be modified. But, in the long run, should be worth it.

Dora1

[quote=\"octoberbaby\"]change to double decker buses or longer buses or buses with no seats for more passengers to board. Frequent timing and shorter route.

Ok, I have another one:

Kick out SMRT, invite REAL PRIVATE COMPANIES to pitch to run the operation. If there are interested parties who can do it, (of course must scrutinize the small prints and how they can do it etc etc), then select the best one.

If no ones want to pitch for it, then perhaps it means it REALLY cannot be done šŸ˜†

Or If there are indeed companies who can do it, and yet \"authorities\" too \"authoritative\", want to \"sub\" everything their own arms, then at least can pick the best ideas like what some companies do, inviting pitches and stealing ideas .. :stupid:

(don't flame me har, just trying to brainstorm..)[/quote]Joining in the brainstorming.....

1) Remove COEs for buses, as they are the people movers. Implementing COEs is just increasing business overheads which will be passed to consumers anyway.
                    2) Invite all private companies to offer any bus routes that they want, with minimal license fees and whatever other fees. It's ok if a few want the same route, they just have to provide more value for money services to compete for customers. Those who cannot offer value for money services will die a natural death anyway. So don't need to get the LTA guys to study and ensure non duplication of route and allow only 1 company to take 1 route, creating the monopoly we have now.
                    For those ulu routes, can dangle incentives for companies to ply those routes, e.g. tax rebates etc. This is what free market is about anyway.

• O Offline
                      octoberbaby

the height of the tunnel is fixed liao, otherwise change to double decker train. Lets build Thomas and Friend latest version.

concern2

octoberbaby:

I suggest adding additional cabins to the trains to increase capacity, one at each end of the train. These cabin will have no doors and passenger enter/exit via the cabin next to it.

The train frequency is probably maxed out already w/o compromising safety distance between trains. They need to look into increasing train capacity.

High capacity trains is also more fuel efficient.

Of coz some changes to the system such as the signalling, engine etc.. may need to be modified. But, in the long run, should be worth it.

How about this? Highly efficient, no need doors, maximum capacity... :rotflmao: :rotflmao:

http://i47.tinypic.com/14x1d1k.jpg\">

(sorry, you just reminded me of this pix, you guys are good, keep it up!)

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 39 / 44