CHIJ St Nicholas Girls'

1.5k Posts 296 Posters 579.7k Views 1 Watching
      newmumof3

I found this on MOE’s website.

"The Ministry does not stipulate operation hours for schools. However, there are guidelines on formal curriculum hours, which account for the biggest proportion of school hours.

2. For Primary 1 and 2, the guideline is for 48 periods of 30 minutes each per week and for Primary 3 to 6—49 periods of 30 minutes each per week. This works out to 5 hours a day including recess time. For secondary schools, the curriculum time guidelines stipulate 40 periods of 40 minutes each per week. This works out to 6 hours a day including recess time.".

I counted the timetable, there are 57 periods of 30 mins.

A bit too much right?

Puzz.06109.06109.06109zzle

I think end 1.15pm , shorter by a period of 30min will be just nice.

If the girls alry tired and hungry, how much can they concentrate?
        got quantities no qualities??

• phankaoP Offline
          phankao

Puzz...zzle:
          I think end 1.15pm , shorter by a period of 30min will be just nice.

If the girls alry tired and hungry, how much can they concentrate?
          got quantities no qualities??
          The good old days lah - it used to be that way, now it's increased slowly to it's current timing.

CayennePepper

newmumof3:
            Do you think it's wise for me to highlight my concerns to the principal? I don't expect the school to change the timing but at least she can tell her teacher to give the girls a 15 mins in class lunch break, to munch half a sandwich or a packet of biscuits. We adults cannot even tahan having lunch at 2pm, what more a 6/7 year old girl.

For the first half of this year, my p1 dd had an earlier recess, so the teachers allowed them snacks at noon, during class. But recess was adjusted to a later time in semester 2, so no more noon snacks. I gave her heavier breakfasts and also more food for recess. Worked out fine as she liked to save a little for eating in the sch bus on the way home 🙂

snap

is there a chance to get into st nichs under phase 2B 1-2km ?

snap:
                is there a chance to get into st nichs under phase 2B 1-2km ?

1 to 2 km : zero chance.

Phase 2B 2012 July (for 2013 P1 intake) :-
                Balloting was conducted for Singapore citizenship children, residing within 1km of the school.

32 applicants, 18 places.

refer:-
                http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=415&start=490

SBKS

hi, just a short qn, is catechism class mandatory right now? or still optional?

vem137

SBKS:

Hi, there's no cat class, but rather bible time class. Catholic girls (and any others who opt in) do their bible time class separately fr the rest. The rest also hv a bible time class but cover different materials

SBKS

vem137:
                      SBKS:

Hi, there's no cat class, but rather bible time class. Catholic girls (and any others who opt in) do their bible time class separately fr the rest. The rest also hv a bible time class but cover different materials

different materials referring to CME? civics and moral?

• phankaoP Offline
                        phankao

vem137:
                        SBKS:

Catholics still have to attend Catechism in their own Parish Church, so that's why no cat class in school. If they don't attend in church, they can't get thru their 1st confession, 1st communion and eventually be confirmed.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 59 / 153