Primary 1 English so hard?
sunflower:
Hmmm...I always thought there is a high probability of the younger siblings being stronger in their languages since they have someone there to 'talk to' from birth, unlike first borns who are likely to be less vocally stimulated?
Hmm…DD1 reads a lot, English very the 烂. DD2 reads a lot, English very the powderful. I read a lot, engrish still 半桶水. All also watch TV.pirate:
Who cares? I figure that if my kiddo reads one Geronimo Stilton a week and watches enough TV, her Engrish will become more powderful than any enrichment centre/tuition can teach in a year. And it will cost me the whole of... 50 x $10 = $500.
Fluency in languages cannot be taught in classrooms or tuition. It comes from actually using it. They can take those P1 tests and stuff it.
On the other hand, I also don’t believe in tuition. How leh? :scratchhead: -
BigDevil:
[/quote]Since it is a diagnostic (analyse), DD try it,A comment on the Facebook post...
[quote]Qiu Yung Again, this is a diagnostic test. It's not about passing or failing the test. It is administered to primary 1 pupils to help teachers guage their mental capability, in particular, logical thinking and reasoning skills. That is, their cognitive ability.
DD answer:
1.\tS
2.\tO
3.\tL
4.\train
5.\tdwelling
:?
pirate:
A even cheaper option is somewhere called the National Library.Who cares? I figure that if my kiddo reads one Geronimo Stilton a week and watches enough TV, her Engrish will become more powderful than any enrichment centre/tuition can teach in a year. And it will cost me the whole of... 50 x $10 = $500.
Fluency in languages cannot be taught in classrooms or tuition. It comes from actually using it. They can take those P1 tests and stuff it. -
Pen88n:
A even cheaper option is somewhere called the National Library.pirate:
Who cares? I figure that if my kiddo reads one Geronimo Stilton a week and watches enough TV, her Engrish will become more powderful than any enrichment centre/tuition can teach in a year. And it will cost me the whole of... 50 x $10 = $500.
Fluency in languages cannot be taught in classrooms or tuition. It comes from actually using it. They can take those P1 tests and stuff it.
And lots of hand-me-downs :rahrah: -
A even cheaper option is somewhere called the National Library.Pen88n:
[quote=\"pirate\"]Who cares? I figure that if my kiddo reads one Geronimo Stilton a week and watches enough TV, her Engrish will become more powderful than any enrichment centre/tuition can teach in a year. And it will cost me the whole of... 50 x $10 = $500.
And lots of hand-me-downs :rahrah:[/quote]You are lucky
Hmmm...I always thought there is a high probability of the younger siblings being stronger in their languages since they have someone there to 'talk to' from birth, unlike first borns who are likely to be less vocally stimulated?[/quote]Ahhh…stimulation is key! Actually me also younger sibling but we didn't speak much English then. I read A LOT but still struggled with the language during school days.
Hmm…DD1 reads a lot, English very the 烂. DD2 reads a lot, English very the powderful. I read a lot, engrish still 半桶水. All also watch TV.sunflower:
[quote=\"pirate\"]Who cares? I figure that if my kiddo reads one Geronimo Stilton a week and watches enough TV, her Engrish will become more powderful than any enrichment centre/tuition can teach in a year. And it will cost me the whole of... 50 x $10 = $500.
On the other hand, I also don’t believe in tuition. How leh? :scratchhead:
For DD1, being the first born, me more kancheong so read storybooks to her EVERY night before bedtime. Come DD2, sian liao, too busy and tired, so only read to her occasionally, and she was the one who “forced” me to read to her! In that sense, the reading “stimulation” didn’t seem to work for me.
There’s a wide age gap between my 2 DDs, so yes, DD2 did pick up stuff from DD1…and yes, I did have more interaction time with DD2 as I turned to part-time work. So yup, as you suggested, “vocal stimulation” might be the reason! :idea: -
hoo1688:
Since it is a diagnostic (analyse), DD try it,BigDevil:
A comment on the Facebook post...
[quote]Qiu Yung Again, this is a diagnostic test. It's not about passing or failing the test. It is administered to primary 1 pupils to help teachers guage their mental capability, in particular, logical thinking and reasoning skills. That is, their cognitive ability.
DD answer:
1.\tS
2.\tO
3.\tL
4.\train
5.\tdwelling
:?
[/quote]May I know how old is your dd? Thanks
sunflower:
Ahhh…stimulation is key! Actually me also younger sibling but we didn't speak much English then. I read A LOT but still struggled with the language during school days.
It may also depend on what you mean by \"read A LOT\" and what you have been reading.
I remember ploughing through all the Hardy Boys, Nancy Drew and Three Investigators books I could get my hands on in primary school. Subsequent tallying revealed that they added up to maybe about 150 books or more. Don't think I started before P3. By Sec 1, I was reading bestsellers from the general fiction section. Yeah, there was notti content in them... :evil:
Never spoke a sentence of Engrish at home... -
pirate:
Kekeke…in addition to what you’ve mentioned (minus the Hardy Boys as I didn’t fancy that series), I had completed series after series of Enid Blyton, C.S Lewis, and yes, bestsellers during secondary school plus many many others. In fact, I was like reading a book a day in P6, definitely add up to much more than 150 books lah….and yes, got most of the books from school library...and I think also started in P3...sunflower:
Ahhh…stimulation is key! Actually me also younger sibling but we didn't speak much English then. I read A LOT but still struggled with the language during school days.
It may also depend on what you mean by \"read A LOT\" and what you have been reading.
I remember ploughing through all the Hardy Boys, Nancy Drew and Three Investigators books I could get my hands on in primary school. Subsequent tallying revealed that they added up to maybe about 150 books or more. Don't think I started before P3. By Sec 1, I was reading bestsellers from the general fiction section. Yeah, there was notti content in them... :evil:
Never spoke a sentence of Engrish at home...
sunflower:
Kekeke…in addition to what you’ve mentioned (minus the Hardy Boys as I didn’t fancy that series), I had completed series after series of Enid Blyton, C.S Lewis, and yes, bestsellers during secondary school plus many many others. In fact, I was like reading a book a day in P6, definitely add up to much more than 150 books lah….and yes, got most of the books from school library...and I think also started in P3...

I wouldn't worry too much. Your engrish dun look 半桶水 , unless it is a very big 桶.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.