P5 vocabulary list shocks parents
Yes , I let's try to be objective.I showed my elder boy the list, he scored 14/24.
He felt that parents should not rant about the list as it is just a list.
Actually I find those names on trading cards even harder to remember.
When my elder boy just started primary school education, I was very on the ball with learning the spelling lists and making sure he got full marks.
But after a while, I realised that a spelling list is not going to prove that my child has a good English foundation. Why was I so insistent that every spelling test must be a perfect score?
I learnt to let go.
Some schools might be setting a rat race BUT we can opt not to join in.
What's the real benefit of learning all the words?
And What's the harm really?
And what if they did not learn them?
Lets stop defining our kids worth and hence their self worth by such external factors.
Isnt it extreme to think
\"OMG! My DC doesnt know these words so he must be stupid\"
or
\"OMG! My Dc doesnt know these words. Oh! I have failed as a parent for not having exposed him to such words.\" -
pirate:
don't think so coz can see some boys there......Doesn't look too outrageous to me.
Seriously. Chill. :imcool: These are words in a book on a reading list. The article does not say it is a spelling list.
Are those CHIJ uniforms I see? :scratchhead: -
Solli. I gender blind.You gotta be kidding right ?
I see several boys in the classroom.
pirate:
alamak!!! :slapshead: :spank: :heresmyfish: try saying this to your spouse
Solli. I gender blind.janet_lee88:
You gotta be kidding right ?

Sun_2010:
knowing the words is one thing, using the words is another.....
Yes , I let's try to be objective.Jennifer:
I showed my elder boy the list, he scored 14/24.
He felt that parents should not rant about the list as it is just a list.
Actually I find those names on trading cards even harder to remember.
When my elder boy just started primary school education, I was very on the ball with learning the spelling lists and making sure he got full marks.
But after a while, I realised that a spelling list is not going to prove that my child has a good English foundation. Why was I so insistent that every spelling test must be a perfect score?
I learnt to let go.
Some schools might be setting a rat race BUT we can opt not to join in.
What's the real benefit of learning all the words?
And What's the harm really?
And what if they did not learn them?
Lets stop defining our kids worth and hence their self worth by such external factors.
Isnt it extreme to think
\"OMG! My DC doesnt know these words so he must be stupid\"
or
\"OMG! My Dc doesnt know these words. Oh! I have failed as a parent for not having exposed him to such words.\" -
KSP:
alamak!!! :slapshead: :spank: :heresmyfish: try saying this to your spouse
Solli. I gender blind.pirate:
[quote=\"janet_lee88\"]You gotta be kidding right ?

:rotflmao:[/quote]His one eye blocked lah.. :laugh:
Firstly, THAT shade of blue doesn't belong to CHIJ family.
Was wondering why you didn't see the BOYS in the background :scratchhead:
:spank: -
ayyo cannot tahan any more?
can any one enlighten this clueless mummy? which school is it?
wondering if it would be really beneficial for kids if they learn the spelling and meaning, without learning in which context to use them? -
mother777:
The teacher(s) who prepared that list gone nuts....secondary school won't be using such words lah. Sweetie, you are not clueless...it's the one who prepared these words who is. Gosh, pls get homework done...even if kids have to learn this, they will forget bcos those words will not be used at their level.ayyo cannot tahan any more?
can any one enlighten this clueless mummy? which school is it?
wondering if it would be really beneficial for kids if they learn the spelling and meaning, without learning in which context to use them? -
Yes I agree, I myself do not know many of these words…
Are we trying to motivate our kids to love the languages or hate them?
I know stretching the kids is good… but don’t stretch them so much that their inner peace and spark to learn breaks like an over stretched rubber band…
Everything has a limit…there should be a time when we say "enough is enough"…
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.