Punggol East By-Election coming ? MP steps down

2.0k Posts 114 Posters 415.1k Views 1 Watching
    • MMMM Offline
      MMM

pirate:
      I'm curious. Why do people have the impression that LLL is an Ah Lian with only O levels when she actually has a degree from Curtin? :scratchhead:

People from grassroots cannot be graduates meh?

The good doctor may know a lot about the colon, but I am not sure he necessarily understands the economy better than somebody with a Bachelor of Commerce. šŸ˜†
      Yup Yup. LLL also graduate right.

She is a sales trainer with financial institution not for those selling pots and pans/ \"Ah Long\" financial institution one ok šŸ˜‰ So yes, I feel she is more like the man on the street whom people can assocate with and definitely far from the elite line.... After all that has happened in the last 1-2 years... I think people start to view \"elites\" in a different light especially with all the scandals. So are they are a class above the \"commoners\"???? Nay....

I have lots of Phd holder colleagues who graduated from the top unis in the world but when it comes to numbers... Majority are clueless. 🤷

I thought LLL looks sweet but too bad her teeth is not nice...

I am really looking forward to the rally... No news yet right.

Strparent

AC_Power:
        he created tension with WP by making public the email comms. He created controversy by offering that \"joint campaigning\" proposal to WP which he subsequently admitted that he knew WP would not accept. If he really has opposition unity in mind, he would have learnt from NSP, announced that they will not contest right from the start, not after all these PR disasters. If he really has opposition unity in mind, he would not publish those comms to put WP in a bad light. In gist, you don't create dis-unity among the opposition in trying to achieve unity. It just doesn't make sense.

CSJ does not seem to be in sync with the rest of the SDP as far as this BE prep is concern. Remember when he told the whole world about his \"SDP MP but WP TC\" idea, who else is with him? His lone figure suggested that he is either making that call on his own without notifying his CEC, or he is receiving no support. Subsequently, when WP announced their candidate, Dr Ang, who distant himself from being considered as a candidate, commented that it is a \"brilliant\" move by WP for naming LLL.
        AC_P,

I agree with your views šŸ†’

his methods are too thuggish, too chong tong, haizz - I admire what he stand for ( people's country, etc ), but his actions has always open himself up for image/character and political assassination :frustrated:

the SDP team assemble at BT/HV GRC was impressive, full of ideas, full of zest, full of intellect (3B :imanangel: ) full of commitment ( to the people ). Think CSJ should remain in background, unfortunately his image is almost beyond salvage in conservative Singapore..

Strparent

pirate:

I'm curious. Why do people have the impression that LLL is an Ah Lian with only O levels when she actually has a degree from Curtin? :scratchhead:

I thought LLL looks sweet but too bad her teeth is not nice...

I am really looking forward to the rally... No news yet right.

dunno where pirate get the idea people think ah lian is O level leh, nobody say ma.

Just luv the name ah lian šŸ˜‰ . And I luv her posters along the street ! Nice sincere angelic smile compared to the other 3 gentlemen.

Will try to attend the WP rallies, for sure. Luv her loud voice too !

I have no doubt that DL and KJ are sincere and committed to serve the common people, but they need to be pragmatic - do they seriously think they can win here ? if not, why run now ? for the sympathy votes that KPK does not want ? :evil:

• 3 Offline
            3Boys

AC_Power:
            MR06:

[quote=\"Strparent\"]

I agree with 2WG. I have the same opinion that SDP has ONE very promising candidate who is better than whats remaining available at WP ( no offence to LLL - I luv ah lian :imanangel: ), so the concept was good, though the approach and method just does not click, due to different parties' visions.

By pulling out to avoid/reduce multi-party fight, they did the most logical step. They can seriously think of a remote victory ONLY if WP agrees and does not field a separate candidate.

Once WP insist on their own candidate, they had no chance and also does not want to be labelled another TJS.

The article , imho, is very much biased to lend discredit to the SDP.

as for the ikan bilis, hope that they come to their senses and do the honourable thing and NOT submit their planned nominations, though unlikely they will do so.

DL may feel he need to show he is always there and will always be there. As for KJ, I have no idea what the heck he think he is doing. The overly eagerness to get into Parliament is hazing the obvious and clouting his judgement. There is a 95% chance he will lose his deposit if he run in a multi-party BE, let alone any remote chance of actually winning :slapshead: :slapshead:

Just saw this..... wonder if there is some truth in it.
            http://sphotos-e.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/25983_3611481145763_370543050_n.jpg

Fyi, I'm no critic or supporter of SDP but definitely a by-stander and observer like most Singaporean in this BE.

@Strparent, If you have a strong candidate which you think is the best, put him up. That's the one and only thing you should do. By fielding him, you are being fair to him, to the voters of Punggol East and to SDP.

In contrary, he created tension with WP by making public the email comms. He created controversy by offering that \"joint campaigning\" proposal to WP which he subsequently admitted that he knew WP would not accept. If he really has opposition unity in mind, he would have learnt from NSP, announced that they will not contest right from the start, not after all these PR disasters. If he really has opposition unity in mind, he would not publish those comms to put WP in a bad light. In gist, you don't create dis-unity among the opposition in trying to achieve unity. It just doesn't make sense.

@MR06, not sure if that is true and I won't be surprise if it is. CSJ does not seem to be in sync with the rest of the SDP as far as this BE prep is concern. Remember when he told the whole world about his \"SDP MP but WP TC\" idea, who else is with him? His lone figure suggested that he is either making that call on his own without notifying his CEC, or he is receiving no support. Subsequently, when WP announced their candidate, Dr Ang, who distant himself from being considered as a candidate, commented that it is a \"brilliant\" move by WP for naming LLL.[/quote]I agree it was a PR and leadership disaster. After so many years, there seems to be a step back in political nuance and judgement.

No one would seriously have thought that the WP would not field a candidate, imagine the internal uproar. If it was so obvious to outsiders, didn't SDP/CSJ have a clue? After they had been rebuffed, why pursue the matter of an alliance?

Then it comes down to a very simple calculation, to field or not to field. Would the opposition be much worse off not having PE? I don't think so, it's a bit of a long shot anyway. So why not take the opportunity to blood a new candidate, perhaps one that could be seen to be better than LLL, and set the frame for the the next GE? They have now ceded PE permanently to the WP, when perhaps this could have been a stepping stone to greater things. Indeed they are now even behind SDA and RP in PE, their veracity being seriously questioned. WP had no qualms about trampling over SDA, not sure why any other parties would extend that same courtesy to the WP. Who's to say that WP should be the big brother amongst opposition parties?

If despite all of this, they felt out of the goodness of their heart that they would not want to split the opposition vote, then stay out of it from the off.

Just my rant, frustrated about how amateur this had all been.

raysusan

be cool...some photos to enjoy

http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.591383354211585.149734.149672065049385&type=1

• MMMM Offline
                MMM

Strparent:
                Will try to attend the WP rallies, for sure. Luv her loud voice too !
                Hey Strparent, are you the one from Upp Serangoon area??? So under AHTC or Hougang SMC now?

Yes... hopefully tomorrow or saturday..... Bring my Sylvia Lim autographed brolly there :rahrah: Trying to find exact location and especially nearest MRT station.

concern2

Strparent:

I have no doubt that DL and KJ are sincere and committed to serve the common people, but they need to be pragmatic - do they seriously think they can win here ? if not, why run now ? for the sympathy votes that KPK does not want ? :evil:
                  Looks like DL's tactic will be to pull down WP's votes by heaving on the 'intimidating phone calls' , which he did similarly during the last GE. Only this time, not just PE residents will know, the whole Singapore gets to hear of it, to the delight of the other parties (other than WP of course). Last time, even his wife spoke up about this. I donno if this will actually give them sympathy votes or make WP supporters sound like ah long. Whichever way, it didn't help in getting him beyond 5% of the votes the last time.

In 2006, SDA was the only opposition party contesting against the PAP in Pasir Ris-Punggol GRC (PE as SMC was carved out from here in 2011). When WP came in to provide residents with additional choice, his votes went all the way down. How could an opposition party whose record had been more than 30% garner less than 5% votes with an entrance of a 3rd party? Who is this 3rd party, and what is their formula of success? Why had the people who would have previously voted for me have swung their votes to them, with a record of more than 40% which I was never able to achieve? There should be many lessons to be learnt from there and how to beat the strong opponent. If citing how intimating the phone calls are coming in again for him to retract from the BE is his only weapon, then 🤷 sorry, Mr. Lim, you really should have taken those phone calls as frank advice and not intimidation.

On 2nd thoughts, DL isn't an independent. He is under SDA. So it is really the SDA council that is behind him. Hm...really don't understand how they work...

Strparent

I agree it was a PR and leadership disaster. After so many years, there seems to be a step back in political nuance and judgement.

No one would seriously have thought that the WP would not field a candidate, imagine the internal uproar. If it was so obvious to outsiders, didn't SDP/CSJ have a clue? After they had been rebuffed, why pursue the matter of an alliance?
                    yes, totally disastrous and lacking of EQ.

Even if CSJ feel so strongly about his wayward idea proposal, I would think that this being our little country, he could have just drove down to Hougang or Aljunied, personally have a cuppa at the local kopitiam, and casually mention this possibility ? rather than thru the media ????? 🤷 :sad:,

Raysusan, thanks for the link to the pics.

is it me, or does CSM looked thinner and frail now ? šŸ™ :nailbite:
                    http://i49.tinypic.com/2u4j9eu.gif\">

anyway, I luv ah lian's sweet smile .....

http://i49.tinypic.com/3013gip.gif\">

and jk note : if it can score any extra votes hor...... tell the ahpeks and ahsohs ......that.........ah lian...........is.........also..........a...........LEE ! šŸ˜‰ :siam: :siam:

• MMMM Offline
                      MMM

Looks like DL's tactic will be to pull down WP's votes by heaving on the 'intimidating phone calls' , which he did similarly during the last GE. Only this time, not just PE residents will know, the whole Singapore gets to hear of it, to the delight of the other parties (other than WP of course). Last time, even his wife spoke up about this. I donno if this will actually give them sympathy votes or make WP supporters sound like ah long. Whichever way, it didn't help in getting him beyond 5% of the votes the last time.

In 2006, SDA was the only opposition party contesting against the PAP in Pasir Ris-Punggol GRC (PE as SMC was carved out from here in 2011). When WP came in to provide residents with additional choice, his votes went all the way down. How could an opposition party whose record had been more than 30% garner less than 5% votes with an entrance of a 3rd party? Who is this 3rd party, and what is their formula of success? Why had the people who would have previously voted for me have swung their votes to them, with a record of more than 40% which I was never able to achieve? There should be many lessons to be learnt from there and how to beat the strong opponent. If citing how intimating the phone calls are coming in again for him to retract from the BE is his only weapon, then 🤷 sorry, Mr. Lim, you really should have taken those phone calls as frank advice and not intimidation.
                      Wow... interesting history... But it is so shame shame... :spank: He think he can play the same trick twice or residents are gullible.

Personally when I read about the intimidation piece. I didn't link it to WP. I feel that WP don't need to resort to this kind of dirty tricks to get there. They are already honorable. I thought it was public at large who do not want to see a vote dilution like our presidential election... Wonder why some people just cannot think.... What if showing worst than last time round... obi good? :roll:

concern2

Wow... interesting history... But it is so shame shame... :spank: He think he can play the same trick twice or residents are gullible.

Personally when I read about the intimidation piece. I didn't link it to WP. I feel that WP don't need to resort to this kind of dirty tricks to get there. They are already honorable. I thought it was public at large who do not want to see a vote dilution like our presidential election... Wonder why some people just cannot think.... What if showing worst than last time round... obi good? :roll:

Actually hor, yes, you are right. He did not say it was the WP, but WP supporters. Personally, I think WP supporters just want more opposition voice in parliament, and WP had been a better bet šŸ˜† This time round, the sentiments wouldn't have changed much.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 46 / 198