Punggol East By-Election coming ? MP steps down

2.0k Posts 114 Posters 414.5k Views 1 Watching
    • 3 Offline
      3Boys

That's perverted logic. So the MSM is to blame for the threats being made to KJ?

I didn't say nor imply dat.
      Please take a step back fr ur entrenched position advocating dat d WP leadership has not taken d moral high ground to address d security issue promptly - go read up on wat n how d threat issue has unfolded so far in d press, wat wld be ur honest unblinkered opinion then?

There is an extremely easy thing LTK et al can do to immediately dispel all 'insinuations'. Make a statement that The WP disavows all forms of political intimidation, that he calls all true blue participants of the democratic process to desist from intimidating all political parties.

I have yet to see WP even take a mini step towards alienating the fringe opposition supporters by taking a moral high ground, and I am not holding my breath to see it happen now. That is truly my main issue with the WP.
      Someone in dis forum has oredi replied dat LTK said something about every citizen has d right to contest in a democratic process, something to dat effect.

My honest unblinkered opinion is that the democratic process is undermined when supporters (or their surrogates) urge other parties to pull out, so that one may win. Even WP did not do that.

Anyhow, kinda enjoying the role reversal..... šŸ˜‰

pirate

Chance missed for the WP to score some points.....

If they can't even be better than PAP on this count, then what's the point of having them in parliament?
        No, lah. It's not a chance to score some points. It's a chance to commit hari kiri. LTK is too seasoned and wiley to step into that hole.

Way2GO

3Boys, please read dis exchange bwt KJ n SMRT admin.

http://i46.tinypic.com/ny7o03.jpg\">
          site link: https://www.facebook.com/smrtsg
          Wat do u make of it?
          Shd WP leadership step in to defend democracy on d back of a claim d veracity of which is now call into question by d accused party?

My view is dat he is ruining his campaign.

concern2

[quote=\"Harlequin\"]

Maybe MIW induced artificial rain? :rotflmao: Cloud seeding?

No lah! Their \"formula\" is different - got what...? Onions and garlic? šŸ˜† W2G, where's that video again?

u beri d bad huh.
            scali 3B will say me ridicule national leaders,
            though it was of his own doing, in d same class as mee siam mai hum.

just google youtube \"singapore formula 1 chillies and onions\"
            NOT \"formula 1 garlic and onions\" ok - dat will direct u to formula for hair growth! :rotflmao:[/quote] :rotflmao: Sorli har, tks for the tip! So it was chillies and onions to prevent rain, not to cause rain! šŸ˜†

concern2

3Boys, please read dis exchange bwt KJ n SMRT admin.

http://i46.tinypic.com/ny7o03.jpg\">
              site link: https://www.facebook.com/smrtsg
              Wat do u make of it?
              Shd WP leadership step in to defend democracy on d back of a claim d veracity of which is now call into question by d accused party?

This SMRT admin guy is :siao: Why KJ bothered to respond? :siao: :siao:

concern2

Harlequin:

[quote=\"Harlequin\"]

Snake is the little brother of the dragon.

:scratchhead: And?

Wait I kena pok-tau-lor... me read as no significant changes lar, expect more rain :rotflmao:[/quote]OIC šŸ˜‚ ..Talking about this, here comes the rain again.... šŸ˜†

• MMMM Offline
                  MMM

Anyone has any views on RP rally last night?

I watched the live streaming.

Personally I felt that the speakers were not strong and engaging...Didn't sound confident and sort of forget what they wanted to say??? Looked distracted as well..... Saw people walking off when the guy who spoke in hokkien started his speech of blahing WP away...

First time I hear KJ speak.... Yes, I think his father has indeed left a stronger impression on me when he was alive. I thought it was \"unfortunate\" for him to use his father's reputation. He claims he is not but I thought it was obvious he is.... Definitely wasn't impressed and I think the engagement part is missing.

When I saw him on the news at the train station, from the body language and eye contacts, I don't see any engagements with residents. Not sure if that is representative in any case. Maybe he happened to be \"distracted\" or they used the least flattering clips??? People probably view him as just distributing pamphlets?

BTW... pity the PE residents and wondered if they felt harrassed as the parties lined up the station šŸ˜‰ I actually enjoyed WP's pictures (saw on fb) that they took with residents. I loved the natural smile that the residents have on their face.

• 3 Offline
                    3Boys

pirate:

Chance missed for the WP to score some points.....

If they can't even be better than PAP on this count, then what's the point of having them in parliament?

No, lah. It's not a chance to score some points. It's a chance to commit hari kiri. LTK is too seasoned and wiley to step into that hole.

So he just another wiley and seasoned politician then....

Pity, I actually thought they stood for something.

• 3 Offline
                      3Boys

Rational_Parent:

[quote=\"Way2GO\"]
                      Who is undermining d democratic process?
                      d WP? WP supporters? Or other unseen hands?
                      When d MSM starts ramming up dis aspect instead of more substance in his campaign, does it perk ur interest dat there cld be more to it than KJ's n his family's safety at stake here?
                      Wld agree without hesitation dat KJ's family safety is top priority - thus dis is a matter for d police to handle.
                      It is d way d matter is being rammed up, unfold n still unfolding in full public view dat makes ppl skeptical n begin to suspect its real motive.

That's perverted logic. So the MSM is to blame for the threats being made to KJ?

There is an extremely easy thing LTK et al can do to immediately dispel all 'insinuations'. Make a statement that The WP disavows all forms of political intimidation, that he calls all true blue participants of the democratic process to desist from intimidating all political parties.

I have yet to see WP even take a mini step towards alienating the fringe opposition supporters by taking a moral high ground, and I am not holding my breath to see it happen now. That is truly my main issue with the WP.

Why is there a need for the WP or any party for that matter to make statements to disavow political intimidation? Why only WP should take the moral high ground and no other parties by taking steps towards alienating the fringe opposition supporters? Don't you feel you're insinuating something about the WP here?

IMO any party getting involve is this \"intimidation thing\" are indulging in snake pit politics and it'll serve all parties well to keep clear of it and let the police deal with it. But it seems many parties want to make this the theme of this by-election. How pathetic can it get?[/quote]Well, if want to make a case for yourself as the champion of participatory politics, then.......?

I make no insinuation against the WP, they are far too clever to get embroiled in this. And as a political calculation, they clearly realize that their star struck supporters will sweep under. The fewer the better, they are thinking (the supporters that is, as evidenced by numerous posts here castigating CSJ and KJ).

pirate

So he just another wilet and seasoned politician then....

Pity, I actually thought they stood for something.
                        No, lah. All politicans are the same regardless of the colour of their shirts. Only difference is that some may be :siao: .That's why must make them keep each other in check. :evil:

Otherwise where got time to make money to buy that 2nd prop... I mean pay for kiddoes' enrichment classes?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 71 / 198