2013 Sec 1 Discussions
mummy so kiasu:
:hi5:janet_lee88:
I monitor his work quietly. But I must say the quality of teaching now is much better...really hope this goes on till Sec 4.
We are not able to guide them with their school work anymore. They have to learn to be more responsible & revise their work regularly rather than last minute. Since the teachers are doing a great job, just keep an eye on the friends they make. Ensure they do not mix with the bad ones or being bully by them.
Now have to spend more time listening to him and what goes on in school.
But I am able to dedicate more time to my younger one.
I have actually read part of DS's Sci, Literature textbooks and went through some stuff with him over the weekend. Somehow, myabe my DS is still very immature, he still requires mommy to study with him.
I remembered my mom had to stay with me until Sec 2. She would challenge me to see who memorises the history passage 1st etc. :celebrate: -
DS is bringing home his friends to do their school project. I told DS that I prefer to have him bring his friends to our home as I can arrange to be at home to guide them and monitor them while they use the internet. At first DS’ friends wanted to go to their home instead but there are no adult supervision so I said "no". This way I get to see what kind of friends DS has.
fifiyeo:
Hi fifiyeo,I have actually read part of DS's Sci, Literature textbooks and went through some stuff with him over the weekend. Somehow, myabe my DS is still very immature, he still requires mommy to study with him.
I remembered my mom had to stay with me until Sec 2. She would challenge me to see who memorises the history passage 1st etc. :celebrate:
I think it is OK if your DS wants you around. Having and nurturing a strong bond is important in our DC's education journey, even though we may not be able to cope with their school work.
You will be more worried if he DON'T WANT you around. :yikes: -
At Sec 1, it is not entirely possible to let go completely. It is nice if the child still wants the parents around. Bcos weekdays are dedicated to my younger one, son has turned to hubby for coaching. I just can't bring myself to face his books :frustrated:
Next week geography or literature test again...I keep hearing some test every other week...tougher than PSLE. A friend of mine told me sec 1 rather relaxed...not that I can see leh...but ok lah...keeps father and son busy :evil: -
I have to start to relax…or else get tension headaches hearing his frequent tests and coaching younger one. Honestly, I really thought Sec 1 will be ‘honeymoon’ after last year’s PSLE. But it is not to be.
Honestly, I really thought Sec 1 will be 'honeymoon' after last year's PSLE. But it is not to be.
Maybe having regular tests is a new routine that we have to get used to. -
mummy so kiasu:
Yes...no honeymoon at all. I didn't expect supplementary lessons till 430pm after school on Mon, Tue, Thur and Friday...I told him he must wake up after 30 min nap bcos he has to get homework done and revise for endless tests. He has tried to go w/out nap but was a zombie by 7pm.janet_lee88:
Honestly, I really thought Sec 1 will be 'honeymoon' after last year's PSLE. But it is not to be.
Maybe having regular tests is a new routine that we have to get used to. -
slmkhoo:
I agree with slmkhoo.janet_lee88:
Next week geography or literature test again...I keep hearing some test every other week...tougher than PSLE. A friend of mine told me sec 1 rather relaxed...not that I can see leh...but ok lah...keeps father and son busy :evil:
The way to less stress is to regard all these frequent tests as 'normal' and not to worry about them. The child should learn to make sure that he understands and absorbs in class on a daily basis. My kids are in a US curriculum system where they have frequent tests too, and every test counts towards the final grade, but they are so used to them that they don't even tell me any more. Totally unstressed!
My elder boy commented that some of his classmates study hard, not study smart and subscribe to the old thinking \"Practice makes perfect\". As a result, time is wasted and these classmates ended up complaining about the subject.
I think either way is a cycle.
You go to class with a clear mind, pay attention and understand well the concept, you spend less time sorting out qns, you feel confident.
Or you go to class with a worried mind, cant focus or understand well, more time trying to do the qn, less confidence level. The issue will just snowball. -
My son continued with his Chinese and English tuition a month after PSLE results. For the other subjects, he is learning to ask questions when in doubt.
For the languages, he is able to understand teachers better.
As for Lit/Geog/History, he will read before lesson and after teacher has taught…that’s only possible at the moment before suppl lessons begin. Will have to adjust again if he has to stay back for extra lessons after school.
These 4 years will pass faster than primary school.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.