Punggol East By-Election coming ? MP steps down
Please refer to my edited text in this paragraph .3Boys:
Is CPF money involved? I should hope so! Why would I want to miss out?
d CPF was never meant to be gambled in high-risk investments, only safe government bonds n other low-risk instruments!
When did d diversification to high-risk instruments occur?
d gahmen has never publicly admitted to using CPF funds for these investments.
How much return are you getting on government bonds? Got keep up with inflation or not ar? -
W2G, I have covered at great length on this in the other thread. I don't get the sense that WP think this is a big deal at all.
You misread the ground. And you misread the WP strategy. -
I missed it. Cld u please point me to dat thread. Danke.
W2G, I have covered at great length on this in the other thread. I don't get the sense that WP think this is a big deal at all.
MIWs hv been quite economical with d facts so far - coming in drips n drabs.
WP may hv some of d facts, but not all. Its too close to polling day to challenge an issue of dis nature without ample details nor sufficient time to counter PAP's response before Saturday's voting.
It will be close bwt PAP n WP, n neither can afford a misstep at dis point.
But d issue will resurface later if not in dis BE. -
Irrelevant:
There is no CPF money. It is just one big IOU from the Government of Singapore.
If you are keen to understand, pray tell us why you think CPF money is somehow involved?sinoboy:
Don't shoot me down just like that lah. Since you seem to know the difference, do you think our CPF money is involved or not huh? -
pirate:
Show me how you will spend it properly to assist those in need and I will support higher taxes - the burden of which will, incidentally, fall more on the like of me'.
Indeed, I fully agree. I too will shoulder a disproportionate share. I have been saying for years we need to raise taxes to fund programs, I welcome it despite personal impact.
BUT, it has to be with a view to good targeted programs. Not wasteful subsidies for public transport which fritters away public funds for a majority who can afford to help a small minority who cannot. GIVE money to those folk to help with daily activities, much much more effective. -
pirate:
We shall see.3Boys:
You misread the ground. And you misread the WP strategy. -
BUT, it has to be with a view to good targeted programs. Not wasteful subsidies for public transport which fritters away public funds for a majority who can afford to help a small minority who cannot. GIVE money to those folk to help with daily activities, much much more effective.
Agreed. Assistance should be given directly to those who truly cannot pay, not those who kpkb over a 10c increase in fares and then promptly go and buy the latest IPhone and a Starbucks coffee to boot. Unfortunately, there are a lot of those people around. I feel that the PAP is misreading the ground if they think that pandering to those people will get them better electoral results. -
damn why this thread go on so fast and fury?
really having a hard time catching up :stupid:
especially 3boys posts.....dictionary by my side! :frustrated: -
Maintaining a 4% interest return on CPF funds was one of d reasons I understand for d venture into higher-returns, higher-risk instruments.
Please refer to my edited text in this paragraph .
How much return are you getting on government bonds? Got keep up with inflation or not ar?
Even dat return on CPF has not kept up with inflation, thus d calls to keep raising d CPF minimum sum.
d gahmen has never publicly admitted to using CPF funds in these high-risk instruments.
Even if it does for d purpose of growing d Reserves using CPF funds, why aren't d citizens given returns commensurate with d risks taken?
But of course we r digressing fr d topic of dis thread. -
We shall see.[/quote]Hee hee.pirate:
[quote=\"3Boys\"]W2G, I have covered at great length on this in the other thread. I don't get the sense that WP think this is a big deal at all.
You misread the ground. And you misread the WP strategy.
I know we have different views on this little thingamagig. :hugs:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.