Punggol East By-Election coming ? MP steps down
Wa, you really think I a will chase like a fan ah!!!
And post it here... :rahrah:Harlequin:
[quote=\"raysusan\"]
go have a photo with her :evil:
:siao: She's candidate for MP leh! Not Singapore idol leh! That said, I met her so many times how come the crew never take pics of us har? :sad: Met KJ also, sekali post my pix big big on RP fb or yahoo how? :nailbite: Will I get death threats? :nailbite:[/quote]Won't lar, Singapore is a democratic country lar :evil:
Can...not.
Is the sotong name Paul II?
Cannot soil d reputation of d incomparable Paul d Octopus.
dis sotong looks like its a 'she'.
Maybe me will named it Paulie d blur sotong.
Cannot make up her mind wan
LTK said
Actually, bringing up issues in Parliament is one thing, but whether the government is prepared to listen and to modify its policy is another. I know Punggol East residents are complaining about high food prices around the area and relatively higher price for some market produce.
In fact, I had raised this point of concern in Parliament in 2010. I cautioned the government “against looking at all available resources from the economic benefit perspective” and should instead ensure that wet markets and hawker centers continue providing low cost market produce and food options for citizens. I urged the government to stop the new trend of releasing land for tender by private developers and instead let NEA continue operating markets and food centres.
Unfortunately, the government believed in supermarkets and food courts. In a reply to my speech in Parliament, the Minister answered flatly, and I quote: “the Government sets aside land in the new towns for commercial development by the private sector. This gives private operators the flexibility to decide on the type of eating and marketing facilities to meet the changing needs of residents.”
--------------------------
I am reading this with interest.
Am always against the government for giving out premises, be it for market, food places, childcare, etc, to public tenders.
They reap the returns from the highest bids and the cost is ultimately passed to the consumers.
Overall, I feel the government has not been doing enough in shouldering social responsibility on this most basic part. Instead, it seems like choose to maximising returns instead of optimising.
I agree with LTK that it's a national policy that has gone wrong. -
pirate:
Thanks for sharing! Missed some of the messages last night as I was distracted by the kids from time to time at the rally. Just watched the video to cover what I missed. Steady poong pee pee lah! Especially this part that you highlighted. 21 MPs present out of 87!!! :rant: Show me the attendance sheet of every Parliament!!! :stupid: And the Speaker MIA somemore.. :frustrated:This Dennis Tan is hilarious:
\"When the Bus Services Enhancement Fund was introduced under the LTA Amendment Bill last year, the Workers' Party MPs were present at the debate and spoke on the Bill. When the vote had to be taken on the Bill, there were not enough MPs in Parliament! It was six something I remember, I was there in the public gallery. There were only 21 MPs present out of 87! Now, the Deputy Speaker, because the Speaker don't know go where, chairing the session had to postpone the vote to the next day to pass the Bill. Such an important Bill when the government was going to spend $1.1 billion of your money on buses, and where are the PAP MPs? Now, what is the point of voting for one more PAP MP? Will he make a difference?\"
:rotflmao: -
OOOOooo, LLL downstairs now!
concern2, you reminded me of someone who is very much :love:
While 3B reminded me of a father who is like think very carefully about your choices, are you sure he is the \"right man\" for you??? Don't be deceive his sweet talks, popularity etc... Open your eyes and see carefully. Oops...
Harlequin:
And post it here... :rahrah:[/quote]err... actually I've been wanting to ask concern2. Have you taken any pics with her??? If so, maybe your pics are already on WP FB.
go have a photo with her :evil:raysusan:
[quote=\"concern2\"]
Ya boy! Didn't want to say this at first - swung by supporters some more! Ooops! :censored: :siam: OOOOooo, LLL downstairs now! -
Ouch!! My heart is pierced through.....concern2:
While 3B reminded me of a father who is like think very carefully about your choices, are you sure he is the \"right man\" for you??? Don't be deceive his sweet talks, popularity etc... Open your eyes and see carefully. Oops...
Awwwwww! :snuggles:concern2:
Maybe it's the coffee....
pirate:
Anyone got a link to Sylvia Lim's speech?raysusan:
she is fierce tonight
Thar she blows on AIM! :evil:
Did she say a few contracts that can be terminated on one month's notice? :scratchhead: -
pirate:
me was off d mark when me said WP will not bring dis issue up in BE unless they either hv more details to share to their advantage (but its a silly thing to do when a review is underway), or hv sufficent time to counter PAP's rebuttals or both.raysusan:
she is fierce tonight
Thar she blows on AIM! :evil:
Did she say a few contracts that can be terminated on one month's notice? :scratchhead:
However noted dat SL last nite did not offer any new details which r not oredi known, though she used d incident to suggest dat to uncover d intricate web of similar cozy arrangements, they must be in a position to find d evidences.
She is hinting at wat some members of d public r oredi questioning but she is being very careful in her choice of words lest any allegations without hard evidence(s) will likely land her in court to answer defamation charges.
At dis point, all she is doing is to simply keep d issue on d front burner n hopefully sway some voters to WP in dis BE.
But d fuse has been lit.
Let's see how PAP will respond.
Will PAP snuff out d fuse to contain d incident as they hv done or allow it to go all d way to blow up d powder keg in WP's faces or hurt themselves more in d process?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.