Punggol East By-Election coming ? MP steps down

2.0k Posts 114 Posters 413.8k Views 1 Watching
      BeContented

Are they perfect?

No.

But I see it in perspective.

House prices are driven significantly by the global external environment. The presence of cheap money is driving asset bubbles all over the world, especially in countries perceived to be safe. HK is suffering the same problem. We are an open economy, capital flows in and out. The only thing that works are heavy handed policy measures, which in all honesty will have limited impact.

What to do? We need to sanitize inflows, but how, without crippling our industries? I'd like the WP to answer that question. The g'ment were slow to react, but if one crashes the market, there will be another whole set of kpkb.

Education. Hmmmm.......KSP got nothing to do with it? I have said in other posts that PSLE results don't count for much in the long run in a child's success in life. It is my belief and I stand firmly behind it. Hence I really don't care what sort of policy tweaks the garmen does or does not. Our SG kids regularly score top marks in international competitions, they are world beaters in that sense. And that's where the competition is, global. Good enough for me, I don't sweat P-school education. Distance, and religious affiliation, the only 2 things that matter somewhat, not of that DSA, GEP nonsense interests me one bit.

Transport? Yeah, its tough. COE is a big bugbear, but as in an earlier post, why on earth do people go chasing that piece of paper? My expat friend is the prime example of how the rich get richer.....take the bus! Again, slow to react on MRT, I agree. But hor, fares are quite affordable compared to other metro areas leh. Train disruptions are irritating, but there are worse systems in the world. AND, SMRT is not a money pit sucking up g'ment money, as some metros are in the world.

Investments. I am going to offend a lot of people, but I say, we have no business criticising how GIC or Temasek do, as long as you get your money back. Only the loss making investments get highlighted, how about the many winners picked in the past? How many hundreds of billions of dollars of assets and reserves are under management by GIC, Temasek and MAS? How did we get here.

Our country is financially VERY strong leh. If we get rocked by recession, g'ment got money to pour forth. And by the way, how much of it is accrued for by income taxes on the lower 50% of wage earners. Since they pay almost no income tax, the answer is......almost nothing. It comes from taxes on the higher income bracket, corporations, GST.....and a huge amount from investment returns......HUGE!

Would you say our country was mismanaged? Many countries would kill to be where we are.

We are a small country, unemployment is very low, people love to park their money here, the economy hums along, people want to work here, study here, live here.

It's a given that cost of living is high, no question.

We have no economic hinterland, no rural areas to which some might wish to retreat, you go Sembawang, Changi, Jurong, property prices all sky high.

What to do?

Disconnect from the world? Make our public housing cheap cheap? Then want to upgrade how? Private condo prices run away, how to bridge with HDB property sale?

You see the conundrum?

When people yell xenophobic comments, they don't cave, they don't play along to get votes. PM says, \"As a people, we must not be liddat\". I like. Stick to moral high ground, always, regardless of the cost. WP? How? CSM got say anything about 'new citizens'?

I love Singapore, I like the garmen. I have a safe neighbourhood, a decent paying job, I can afford to give to charity, my kids get a good schooling. Our reserves are strong, if we need, we can spend on programmes. How many countries in the world can say that?

I don't have to sweat these things, they just happen, automatically.

Dun tell me to switch to WP to vote in co-driver.....not interested, unless they can show some spine in how they deal with the fringes of the extremist PAP-haters, resist populism, and less importantly, how they demonstrate competencies. Don't just waltz in and promise to deliver this and that and the other by spend spend spend. I chiak boi lok, first generation make the money, 2nd generation spend it, and take credit somemore. I buay tahan.
      Every point checked. :hi5:

wonderm

Are they perfect?

No.

House prices are driven significantly by the global external environment. The presence of cheap money is driving asset bubbles all over the world, especially in countries perceived to be safe. HK is suffering the same problem. We are an open economy, capital flows in and out. The only thing that works are heavy handed policy measures, which in all honesty will have limited impact.

What to do? We need to sanitize inflows, but how, without crippling our industries? I'd like the WP to answer that question. The g'ment were slow to react, but if one crashes the market, there will be another whole set of kpkb.

Education. Hmmmm.......KSP got nothing to do with it? I have said in other posts that PSLE results don't count for much in the long run in a child's success in life. It is my belief and I stand firmly behind it. Hence I really don't care what sort of policy tweaks the garmen does or does not. Our SG kids regularly score top marks in international competitions, they are world beaters in that sense. And that's where the competition is, global. Good enough for me, I don't sweat P-school education. Distance, and religious affiliation, the only 2 things that matter somewhat, not of that DSA, GEP nonsense interests me one bit.

Transport? Yeah, its tough. COE is a big bugbear, but as in an earlier post, why on earth do people go chasing that piece of paper? My expat friend is the prime example of how the rich get richer.....take the bus! Again, slow to react on MRT, I agree. But hor, fares are quite affordable compared to other metro areas leh. Train disruptions are irritating, but there are worse systems in the world. AND, SMRT is not a money pit sucking up g'ment money, as some metros are in the world.

Investments. I am going to offend a lot of people, but I say, we have no business criticising how GIC or Temasek do, as long as you get your money back. Only the loss making investments get highlighted, how about the many winners picked in the past? How many hundreds of billions of dollars of assets and reserves are under management by GIC, Temasek and MAS? How did we get here.

Our country is financially VERY strong leh. If we get rocked by recession, g'ment got money to pour forth. And by the way, how much of it is accrued for by income taxes on the lower 50% of wage earners. Since they pay almost no income tax, the answer is......almost nothing. It comes from taxes on the higher income bracket, corporations, GST.....and a huge amount from investment returns......HUGE!

Would you say our country was mismanaged? Many countries would kill to be where we are.

We are a small country, unemployment is very low, people love to park their money here, the economy hums along, people want to work here, study here, live here.

We have no economic hinterland, no rural areas to which some might wish to retreat, you go Sembawang, Changi, Jurong, property prices all sky high.

What to do?

Disconnect from the world? Make our public housing cheap cheap? Then want to upgrade how? Private condo prices run away, how to bridge with HDB property sale?

You see the conundrum?

When people yell xenophobic comments, they don't cave, they don't play along to get votes. PM says, \"As a people, we must not be liddat\". I like. Stick to moral high ground, always, regardless of the cost. WP? How? CSM got say anything about 'new citizens'?

I love Singapore, I like the garmen. I have a safe neighbourhood, a decent paying job, I can afford to give to charity, I pay my taxes, my kids get a good schooling. Our reserves are strong, if we need, we can spend on programmes. How many countries in the world can say that?

Dun tell me to switch to WP to vote in co-driver.....not interested, unless they can show some spine in how they deal with the fringes of the extremist PAP-haters, resist populism, and less importantly, how they demonstrate competencies. Don't just waltz in and promise to deliver this and that and the other by spend spend spend. I chiak boi lok, first generation make the money, 2nd generation spend it, and take credit somemore. I buay tahan.
        :goodpost:

hercules

I love Singapore, I like the garmen. I have a safe neighbourhood, a decent paying job, I can afford to give to charity, I pay my taxes, my kids get a good schooling. Our reserves are strong, if we need, we can spend on programmes. How many countries in the world can say that?

For people around our age group, we probably could still enjoy the above. We were born in those 'luckier' years.

In the next 5 to 10 years, I am not sure our children will be able to enjoy the same. I dont see much good ahead for them.

Harlequin

Mdm Koh:
            Well, that's the problem, isn't it? Voting based on what's good for oneself instead of assessing the government's track record from a broader perspective? πŸ™‚

Yap. Agree with this. In fact, at times I wonder voting perhaps could even make people lose their perspective. 🀷

concern2

[quote=\"3Boys\"]
              Errr......my empathy is for the garmen......that serves the people.......in ways that they don't even appreciate............as opposed to a garmen that rides on popular sentiment only.
              Singaporeans are a tough lot to please.

Did you hear what Glenda Han said in the rally last night?

\"...the government is..trying to solve the problems that they themselves have created through numerous bad policies.\"

What do you say to that?

Are they perfect?

No.

Education. Hmmmm.......KSP got nothing to do with it? I have said in other posts that PSLE results don't count for much in the long run in a child's success in life. It is my belief and I stand firmly behind it. Hence I really don't care what sort of policy tweaks the garmen does or does not. Our SG kids regularly score top marks in international competitions, they are world beaters in that sense. And that's where the competition is, global. Good enough for me, I don't sweat P-school education. Distance, and religious affiliation, the only 2 things that matter somewhat, none of that DSA, GEP nonsense interests me one bit.

Our country is financially VERY strong leh. If we get rocked by recession, g'ment got money to pour forth. And by the way, how much of it is accrued for by income taxes on the lower 50% of wage earners. Since they pay almost no income tax, the answer is......almost nothing. It comes from taxes on the higher income bracket, corporations, GST.....and a huge amount from investment returns......HUGE! Guess how much of the g'ment operating budget comes from investment returns? Shanmugaratnam explain before in parliament, very instructive. How many people watch that speech? Then you understand why we preserve the goose that lays the golden egg and not kill it for a quick meal.

What to do?

You see the conundrum?

Dun tell me to switch to WP to vote in co-driver.....not interested, unless they can show some spine in how they deal with the fringes of the extremist PAP-haters, resist populism, and less importantly, how they demonstrate competencies. Don't just waltz in and promise to deliver this and that and the other by spend spend spend. I chiak boi lok, first generation make the money, 2nd generation spend it, and take credit somemore. I buay tahan.[/quote]Thanks, 3boys, for a dose of PAP before I attend the WP rally!! :rahrah: Update you guys later - if I'm not tired by then!

sinoboy

hercules:

For people around our age group, we probably could still enjoy the above. We were born in those 'luckier' years.

In the next 5 to 10 years, I am not sure our children will be able to enjoy the same. I dont see much good ahead for them.

The new norm may be I used to have a job but I've been replaced by talents. I got retrenched and overaged and can't find another job and need charity but garmen said not enough goes to charity. I pay my taxes and served NS but my kids can't get into top school because top schools prefer smarter GEP kids maybe from another country who used DSA academic to enter IP school but all schools are supposedly good schools. Our reserves are strong but if we implement new programs like getting scholars to displace my kid from local sec school, JC or uni they are paid by taxes. How? πŸ˜‚

• 3 Offline
                  3Boys

sinoboy:
                  hercules:

[quote=\"3Boys\"]

The new norm may be I used to have a job but I've been replaced by talents. I got retrenched and overaged and can't find another job and need charity but garmen said not enough goes to charity. I pay my taxes and served NS but my kids can't get into top school because top schools prefer smarter GEP kids maybe from another country who used DSA academic to enter IP school but all schools are supposedly good schools. Our reserves are strong but if we implement new programs like getting scholars to displace my kid from local sec school, JC or uni they are paid by taxes. How? πŸ˜‚[/quote]So, are you speaking fantasy, or reality?

I thot scaremongering was the province of the MIW.....

Rational_Parent

octoberbaby:

chill chill, they are KiasuGrandMaster, they are just kidding each other.

:yikes: Didn't realized I hit over 3000 posts!

Actually, we all 不倧不相识! πŸ˜„

Rationalparent, what you see here is considered 'mild' liao πŸ˜† - we had some threads that had been embargoed in the past, sealed up for good. We just air our opinions and thoughts. You gotta be here long enough to get the feel of each other's character. Love it or hate it, many have come and gone 🀷 So has many MIW supporters. 3boys is one of the rare ones left here. For those who come back, it is somehow the mutual agreement to disagree. There is always something that we can learn from each other, whether they are your enemy or your friend. δΈ‰δΊΊθ‘ŒεΏ…ζœ‰ζˆ‘εΈˆγ€‚ The good thing is that you don't see them day in day out - you don't like it, you give yourself a break. You feel like being kapoh a bit, you chip in. Of course, there are also some who contribute just to add flames. You can tell them apart from the genuine contributors - if you are here long enough.

As for 3boys...he's just asking for it πŸ˜† :siam:

In case you don't know, I've been around for quite awhile. The only thing is that I don't post in the past but felt selfish not to contribute after some time. And yes, I do see threads being embargoed because they contained outright name calling or that they have totally deviated from thread subjects. Give it to the chief for doing a great job policing the forum. This thread is not embargoed so it's all good.

Take a break? I always do. In fact, I spend more of my free time reading biz/political news (US ones interest me more) and watching chess tournaments (e.g. http://www.chessbase.com/newsdetail.asp?newsid=8795 ) on the web than on this forum. But this forum gives me a different outlet in which I also enjoy. Rest assured I'm rational and not the 'bring it on, type\".

Do I enjoy all the bantering? Sometimes. Do I appreciate all the different views? Certainly. Otherwise, I would have taken a hike. So keep the posts coming, folks. You too, 3Boys ( the main contributor to that 3000 figure!).

Babylissa

hercules:

Yes, if we don't vote with our eyes opened, if we vote based on what's good for oneself, if we vote for the populists, if we vote to oppose, if we vote for the idealist.

I quote Mdm Koh's post
                      Mdm Koh:
                      Well, that's the problem, isn't it? Voting based on what's good for oneself instead of assessing the government's track record from a broader perspective? πŸ™‚

• 3 Offline
                        3Boys

Rational_Parent:

Do I enjoy all the bantering? Sometimes. Do I appreciate all the different views? Certainly. Otherwise, I would have taken a hike. So keep the posts coming, folks. You too, 3Boys ( the main contributor to that 3000 figure!).
                        Thanks R_P. Do check back on this thread, I think I may have been misunderstood.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 108 / 198