NUS law prof in CPIB probe over exchanging grades for sex
pirate:
Yes, they must be more prudent as they are enforcing a very powerful law.
But must have some common sense and examine the underlying relationship. Otherwise, every time somebody in a position of power or influence has an extramarital affair, it is presumed corruption. Even every time a minister go to bed with his wife can be presumed corruption also. Then CPIB will be very busy conducting 12 hour interviews left, right and centre. :siao:AC_Power:
Prosecution only needs to prove 2 things:
1) He is in the position of power or influence to grant favour to the person offering the gratification;
2) He has received the gratification.
Whether he return the favour or not is not something that the prosecution needs to prove. It is in the presumption.
PCA is one hell of a powerful legislation. Don't play play.
That's why my stance towards these 2 cases, NBG and Tey are slightly different.
NBG's case has more element of an EMA as they were together years before they have any dealings with each other. The IT project was not even initiated by NGB. CS' company is not the main tender but a sub-con for the project.
Tey? He bedded or sofa'ed DK when his is still her Prof. He received expansive gifts from DK when she is still his student.
So bottom line is this, if you really cannot tahan must go for EMA, don't find someone who you can give favour to.
Btw, note the part in bold. That one can never be corruption as they are doing what a married couple should be doing. Unless you are referring to the wife talking dirty to him to get him into mood as a form of corruption.
Rational_Parent:
I think the most damaging part for him is those gifts he received without declaring to the Uni as required. He tried to show that he'd paid for the pen but was flatly denied by DK. So if the pen was a belated birthday present or a token of love for him, why would he tried to proof that he'd paid for it? While the sexual favours may be consensual, I feel he'll not be able to remove this tail from the donkey's back even without the blindfold on.
NBG case is more challenging for the prosecution to proof acts of corruption imho, and the defense attorney has been superb in the handling of the case so far. -
I feel that Tey should hire an expert defense lawyer to fight for him, instead of representing himself. No matter what, he is being charged and showing sign(s) of nervousness. In a emotional state like this, not easy to be level headed, think clearly to fight prosecution.
when DK gave him the pen, if he had declared it openly to NUS back then as a belated birthday present, maybe not so bad like now.
i)
btw, if a student give teacher / lecturer belated birthday present(s) in primary / secondary schools / JCs, can the teacher accept ?
What about those present(s) that pupils give to teachers, on Teacher’s day ?
what if one day turn around and accuse the Teacher of showing favoritism, give that favored student more marks, or a higher grade ? also get charged under PCA ?
because heard that on Teacher’s day - some pupils actually gave expensive handbag, computer bag, purse / wallet or ex stuff to Teacher. I thought Teacher can only accept flowers or cards, as a token of appreciation.
ii)
when new lecturers come on board join NUS / NTU or any university to teach in various faculty, is there any HR form where they need to sign be aware that they cannot receive any gift(s) whatsoever from their students ? -
Rational_Parent:
NBG case is more challenging for the prosecution to proof acts of corruption imho, and the defense attorney has been superb in the handling of the case so far.
How is this NBG case going on? guilty or not guilty? -
This is :offtopic: Anybody knows when City Harvest case goes to court? I wait and wait and wait since August last year don't have leh... I'm looking forward to the court days. City Harvest has a lot of money so they engaged all those big shot lawyers and Government is government mah... So, the arguments woud be very interesting....
ngl2010:
Here you go....This is :offtopic: Anybody knows when City Harvest case goes to court? I wait and wait and wait since August last year don't have leh... I'm looking forward to the court days. City Harvest has a lot of money so they engaged all those big shot lawyers and Government is government mah... So, the arguments woud be very interesting....
http://www.asiaone.com/News/Latest%2BNews/Singapore/Story/A1Story20130110-394565.html -
Rational_Parent:
:thankyou:
Here you go....ngl2010:
This is :offtopic: Anybody knows when City Harvest case goes to court? I wait and wait and wait since August last year don't have leh... I'm looking forward to the court days. City Harvest has a lot of money so they engaged all those big shot lawyers and Government is government mah... So, the arguments woud be very interesting....
http://www.asiaone.com/News/Latest%2BNews/Singapore/Story/A1Story20130110-394565.html -
I follow this case with interest...bcos Tey has wonderful antics in court everyday. Faced with 4 CPIB officers whom he claimed had given him a hard time last Apr, he didn't question them when face to face :?
He's been reduced to a nervous wreck (whether fake or real)...why did he act smart by defending himself ? Getting a lawyer would help him save face. -
octoberbaby:
Rational_Parent:
[quote=\"Rational_Parent\"]
NBG case is more challenging for the prosecution to proof acts of corruption imho, and the defense attorney has been superb in the handling of the case so far.
How is this NBG case going on? guilty or not guilty?[/quote]It's adjourned. Tentative date for court proceedings to continue is 28 January 2013.
http://sg.news.yahoo.com/ng-boon-gay-trial-adjourns-113036395.html -
Cecilia Sue earned $600,000 pa
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.