Punggol East By-Election coming ? MP steps down

2.0k Posts 114 Posters 413.9k Views 1 Watching
      Way2GO

okie, take a break...

Why d gud Dr KPK's immediate act was to buy chopsticks when he had only $11.50 left in his pocket?
      He couldn't bear to eat with his bare hands! :rotflmao:

toddles

toddles:

On the portion in purple, I think the NLB is an amazing example of an entity with great performance without profit motive.

Why can't the public transport system be similar? Why must excellence be driven by profit motive?

I hire you to work for me for free, can? Or cost recovery model, I pay for your transport, lunch and dinner if OT. :evil:

disingenuous leh... civil service, NGOs all no excellence lah liddat.

• 3 Offline
          3Boys

toddles:

[quote=\"toddles\"]

On the portion in purple, I think the NLB is an amazing example of an entity with great performance without profit motive.

Why can't the public transport system be similar? Why must excellence be driven by profit motive?

I hire you to work for me for free, can? Or cost recovery model, I pay for your transport, lunch and dinner if OT. :evil:

disingenuous leh... civil service, NGOs all no excellence lah liddat.[/quote]Aiyah, I know what you mean, but NGOs, who are they accountable to? If they close shop, does the country stop running? Not all NGOs are the same by the way, and many of them are downright sleepy.

Civil service? Top honchos are WELL paid! Often times better than private sector. Performance deliverables are good for many, but have you scrutinised their cost base? Got bang for the buck or not?

• 3 Offline
            3Boys

Irrelevant:

The other thing about nationalisation of public services.

Its not just a matter of taking the profits and distributing it, therefore assuming that fares suddenly become more affordable. The far more important question is to whether a transport system is better run by the g'ment or by private operators.

Don't you think that the current model is broken? We can see and feel the competition among the telcos. That privatisation has been successful.

Can you feel or see any competition between SMRT and Comfortdelgro for MRT and Bus Services? I think it happens only during the bidding process. 😓

With the main transport providers losing money or not earning sufficient return on their capital and the PTC under pressure to keep the lid on prices, there is very little profit incentive for transport operators to improve services.

I don't really have an answer to the question as to whether it's broken. I guess my fear is that it could even MORE broken.

Perhaps we could do with an injection of funds in a one-time upgrade.

concern2

toddles:

他也说对了这一点,“我们是民选政府,行动党需要人民支持”- 上个大选,不是很明显的显示人民的心声,人民对行动党的失望?从2006 年的 66。6% 降到2011 年的 60。1%选票,但国会里还占有80:6的比例。。。这是人民要的国会吗?
              Ya. That's another thing. It is in the headlines today that \"PAP is on your side\". What do you mean on our side? He not Singaporean ah? :siao:

toddles

toddles:

[quote=\"3Boys\"]

disingenuous leh... civil service, NGOs all no excellence lah liddat.

Aiyah, I know what you mean, but NGOs, who are they accountable to? If they close shop, does the country stop running? Not all NGOs are the same by the way, and many of them are downright sleepy.

Civil service? Top honchos are WELL paid! Often times better than private sector. Performance deliverables are good for many, but have you scrutinised their cost base? Got bang for the buck or not?[/quote]conflating pay with profit, no?

bus drivers and SMRT management can still be paid (not asking them to work for free, not asking them to work on cost recovery basis), but MUST the organisation be run as for-profit?

non-profit organisations still pay their workers salaries, but is it a given that the organisation performs worse than a business due to the absence of the profit motive?

Tried to research on the London transport system. Sounds like a reasonable hybrid model to me.

Question then is whether \"cost of providing such a service is commercially viable if it depended solely on the passenger income \" - to determine whether it should be gross cost or nett cost basis.

http://www.arriva.co.uk/arriva/en/about_arriva/strategy/business-models/

Contracted services

With contracted services, the primary customer is usually some form of public sector body. A regional government or transport authority may offer various forms of contract giving an operator the right to operate services, usually exclusively, on a particular route or in a specific area.

Most of our mainland European bus and rail markets are contracted services. In the UK, the London bus market and the rail market are contracted services.

There are two main types of contracted arrangement: gross cost and net cost.

With gross cost contracts, the tendering authority agrees to pay an operator a specified sum to provide the specified service for a specified period, keeps the passenger revenue and often sets the routes and specifies the vehicles.

The London bus market, some of our rail operations in Sweden and bus contracts in Denmark, Sweden and Madrid, in Spain, are gross cost contracts.

With net cost contracts, the operator takes on both the revenue risk and the cost risk, and keeps passenger revenue. The tendering authority generally provides a contribution in the form of additional contracted income, where the cost of providing such a service would not be commercially viable if it depended solely on the passenger income that it could achieve.

UK rail contracts, Italian bus contracts and some Dutch bus and rail contracts are net cost contracts.

concern2

okie, take a break...

Why d gud Dr KPK's immediate act was to buy chopsticks when he had only $11.50 left in his pocket?
                  He couldn't bear to eat with his bare hands! :rotflmao:

😆 :rotflmao: Ok, ok, I have another one:

Daniel Goh said he is neither approaching from the inside nor outside, but from right side. How about KPK approaching from the backside? :rotflmao: :siam:

toddles

All the punggol-ers, have a meaningful time exercising your vote!

The rest of Singapore awaits the results!

Wonder how many more BE we’ll have… choy choy choy

concern2

toddles:
                      All the punggol-ers, have a meaningful time exercising your vote!

The rest of Singapore awaits the results!

Wonder how many more BE we'll have... *choy choy choy*
                      :rant: We are Sengkang-ers hor!!

Irrelevant

toddles:

Gahmen give $1.1 bn to SMRT/SBS transit - where does that come from?
                        Another wild statement. :yikes:

Unfortunately, I am not patient like 3Boys nor do I need to win votes. I will leave you to your beliefs that the govt gave $1.1bn to SMRT, NLB operates well without any profit incentive and our transport companies are showing record profits.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 131 / 198