Punggol East By-Election coming ? MP steps down

2.0k Posts 114 Posters 416.3k Views 1 Watching
      AC_Power

Angelight:
      From what I see from this by election, WP won not becos they have a better candidate than the other parties but rather they have a huge followers who vote by party brand instead of by the calibre of the candidate. Of cos, the rivervale plaza issue was also a main factor that cost the ruling party their vote.

IMHO, apart from the unhappiness over various national issues, many voted for WP as this is a BE. The government will not change even if they let in another WP candidate into Parliament. If this has been a GE, voters might not be voting WP so freely as we all know they are not ready to form a government. Even LTK acknowledged this fact.
      [quote]Personally, I didn't feel LLL deserve to win becos after the last election when she lost in punggol east, she didnt stay on to 'walk the ground' but instead went over to aljunied, unlike SDA's Desmond Lim. I respect that guy for his determination and sincerity. Pity those qualities did not translate into more votes for him.[/quote]

She didn't stay on because WP's priority is to make sure they serve Aljunied well. Unlike PAP, they do not have the PA, the RCs to help them on the ground. They need to do everything by themselves. I can imagine the entire WP mobilised to help out. Hence I won't fault LLL. Further, helping out in Aljunied actually helped her in running her own TC and MPS now.

Desmond Lim I too respect his determination. However, I do hope that he will call it quit after this. Despite his effort, it is clear that the people do not like the idea of him serving. Time for him to spend more time for his family.
      [quote]It will be interesting to see which wards WP is going to conquer in the next GE. I won't be surprised they will target Pasir Ris-Punggol and maybe another ward in the north east.[/quote]East Coast and Joo Chiat.

concern2

pirate:
        RP, SDA, SDP or even the NSP. The current WP is not SDP-plus or NSP-plus. WP is PAP-lite.

πŸ˜† PAP-lite... Think that's why Opp find WP too blend.. :rotflmao:

concern2

Happen to chance upon this yesterday. Was telling my girls to make sure they brush her teeth if not like LLL. Then I realised that she is actually born with the condition. :oops:

Lee Li Lian οΌˆζŽδΈ½θΏžοΌ‰
          24 January.My parents, both in their 60s, were at the rally site yesterday to support me.

My father is the biggest influence in my life, just as my mom, who devoted all her life to become a stay-at-home mother ever since she gave birth, is a great w...oman.

Many people who first meet me often ask me about the gap in between my teeth. I actually inherited it from my mum, and it's been with me ever since I've got teeth πŸ™‚
          I'm proud of what my parents have given me and continue to give all these years. Thank you very much for the support and concern. Thank you for understanding what I'm doing.

Regardless of the result, I hope I've done both of you proud.
          Thanks for sharing! Never knew that either! :salute: Confident and loves herself as what she is. I like!

sinoboy

Harlequin:

Well said, must agree with you this one! Just like we thank air stewardess for their good service but never thank the pilots for our safe flight, although we know that there are millions things could go wrong during a 13hrs flight. πŸ˜‰

Nowadays, many plane can fly on auto-pilot.

Once got the pilot license.. quite relax and easy money unless there is emergency then they go into action.. As for stewardess.. they tend to be more hardworking..... :evil:

Ya got to serve the passengers and service the pilots sometimes. That is why got on-duty pilot cockpit scandal. No by election though. πŸ˜‚

concern2

sinoboy:

[quote=\"Harlequin\"]

Well said, must agree with you this one! Just like we thank air stewardess for their good service but never thank the pilots for our safe flight, although we know that there are millions things could go wrong during a 13hrs flight. πŸ˜‰

Nowadays, many plane can fly on auto-pilot.

Once got the pilot license.. quite relax and easy money unless there is emergency then they go into action.. As for stewardess.. they tend to be more hardworking..... :evil:

Ya got to serve the passengers and service the pilots sometimes. That is why got on-duty pilot cockpit scandal. No by election though. πŸ˜‚[/quote]
              πŸ˜† :rotflmao: Wa, you all very good with analogies...

concern2

Going to miss YAM's poker face when he announces results at elections...

http://www.asiaone.com/News/Latest%2BNews/Singapore/Story/A1Story20130127-398142.html

limlim

Harlequin:

Of course he swing his vote to WP after the MP failed to stop the police to ignore his wife's calls.

See, how very the pai dang! :sad:

And guess how the wife and neighbours are voting also..........Wife: \"Wah liao, how come never arrest my xiao husband after so many calls??\" ....Neighbours: \"Why so disruptive, my children need to go school in the morning leh, MP cannot do anything meh?\"

Not the hubby fault, not the wife fault, but zhenghu's fault, because the couple too stress at work, cannot have children, cannot afford COE....

Harlequin:
                  There are people complain that the parking lots drawn are too narrow (by about 8 inches) on their side of the block, which is nearer to their void deck compares to the opposite side's carpark lots. This is due to landscaping but it would automatically become pap's fault. πŸ˜‰
                  These type of pple, failed to realise that NO party can solve their problems.. they'll just vote for any Opp party..

There's nothing you can do and there is no point talking abt these pple in these forum.

limlim

sinoboy:

The way to solve this problem is to have multiple spouses. This will make the current spouse work harder. In the process may have more children from existing and new spouses. Allowing multiple spouses may get the approval from parts of the population for bringing in the additional 1-2 mil of immigrants. It could be socially harmonious with less relationship with clients, students, co-workers and may lead to less tax paying lawsuits and less by elections. πŸ˜‚
                    If you do this, do declare it openly so that it will be honorable..

If do in the dark, may be branded as character flaw.. :evil:

concern2

YJJ shares about how NMP Calvin Cheng was also threatened and how his own car had also been vandalized..

http://yeejj.wordpress.com/2013/01/26/whatpolitics-do-we-want-in-singapore/

limlim

Look at limlim's example. Anyone got the courage to go up to that chap and tell him, your approach is totally regressive?
                        Cannot be bothered with these type of pple.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 166 / 198